Customer Reviews for

Ana's Story: A Journey of Hope

Average Rating 4
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Good Book For Girls of All Ages!

Throughout the book Ana goes through many struggles from dealing with hiding the fact that she has AIDS, that her grandmothers boyfriend sexually abuses Ana's sister and herself, to falling in love and having a baby at a young age, and moving from home to home with dif...
Throughout the book Ana goes through many struggles from dealing with hiding the fact that she has AIDS, that her grandmothers boyfriend sexually abuses Ana's sister and herself, to falling in love and having a baby at a young age, and moving from home to home with different families to get away from her problems at her grandmother's home. I think teens and adults should read this book because, Ana never loses hope, and tries to make the best out of her life with AIDS, and many people could relate to Ana and be more like her, if they have a similar story to hers.

posted by 8208911 on May 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

Ana¿s life is a collection of bits and pieces of her past. Infected with HIV at birth, she¿s unaware of many details of her early childhood. Living with her strict grandmother, she learns to keep secrets-secrets about her infection and the abuse at home. But after An...
Ana¿s life is a collection of bits and pieces of her past. Infected with HIV at birth, she¿s unaware of many details of her early childhood. Living with her strict grandmother, she learns to keep secrets-secrets about her infection and the abuse at home. But after Ana falls in love and becomes pregnant at seventeen, she begins a journey of hope-a journey of protecting herself and others. She is living with HIV, not dying from it. This story is based on Jenna Bush¿s work with UNICEF. This narrative nonfiction tale is an important story about HIV and also lists resources on how to be better educated about the infection. I loved the premise of this piece and do feel that Jenna Bush had good intentions as she shares the story of a teen¿s life with HIV. I feel that teens will be able to relate with the struggles of Ana. I also feel it¿s important that teens know the facts of HIV. Knowledge is power. What didn¿t work for me was how telling this story was. Instead of showing the reader the story, Ms. Bush tells. I know this is a narrative nonfiction book but still I felt the author missed opportunities to make Ana¿s story stronger. Still the fast pace of the story will appeal to reluctant readers. And the story is an important one that needs to be told.

posted by Anonymous on July 15, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    A Good Book For Girls of All Ages!

    Throughout the book Ana goes through many struggles from dealing with hiding the fact that she has AIDS, that her grandmothers boyfriend sexually abuses Ana's sister and herself, to falling in love and having a baby at a young age, and moving from home to home with different families to get away from her problems at her grandmother's home. I think teens and adults should read this book because, Ana never loses hope, and tries to make the best out of her life with AIDS, and many people could relate to Ana and be more like her, if they have a similar story to hers.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    An inspiriting book about all the struggles that Ana goes though.

    Throughout Ana's life she goes though many struggles. Not having parent to help her out, and living with Aids. All by herself she makes it though all the struggles she has encountered. This book is a heartwarming story that shows you how easy your life really is. Ana has many things that she goes though, that most people don't ever have to encounter. This book is for anyone that wants to read about a young girl that has many things that are going wrong in her life.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2007

    Ana's story- a book of inspiration

    Ana's story is a truely amzing book. i am just 14 years old and i love this story to death. It teaches about hardship and is a great book for women of all ages to read. i really appreciated this book and will read it many more times. I think everyone should read this book because it teaches you what life is like in other parts of the world and teaches you about who ana is. it reminds me of struggles i have had, like, with my eating disorder, and how you can get through anything if you really want to. two thumbs up and a truely amazing book. thankyou Ms. Jenna Bush for writing this as i really enjoyed it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2007

    Uplifting

    I enjoyed this book. This book opened my eyes and showed me that there are people out there in this world that have it much worse than I but they still find hope in their lives. I am spoiled and have no idea what the real world is like. Their are young girls out there that have it rough. I have no right to complain or get upset when I don't get the things I want. I could have been like Ana. I could of had her life. She is an inspiration to me and I will look at life differently. I thought Miss Bush did a wonderful job writing this book. I think that it is an easy and quick read for teens.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2007

    A reviewer

    Ana¿s life is a collection of bits and pieces of her past. Infected with HIV at birth, she¿s unaware of many details of her early childhood. Living with her strict grandmother, she learns to keep secrets-secrets about her infection and the abuse at home. But after Ana falls in love and becomes pregnant at seventeen, she begins a journey of hope-a journey of protecting herself and others. She is living with HIV, not dying from it. This story is based on Jenna Bush¿s work with UNICEF. This narrative nonfiction tale is an important story about HIV and also lists resources on how to be better educated about the infection. I loved the premise of this piece and do feel that Jenna Bush had good intentions as she shares the story of a teen¿s life with HIV. I feel that teens will be able to relate with the struggles of Ana. I also feel it¿s important that teens know the facts of HIV. Knowledge is power. What didn¿t work for me was how telling this story was. Instead of showing the reader the story, Ms. Bush tells. I know this is a narrative nonfiction book but still I felt the author missed opportunities to make Ana¿s story stronger. Still the fast pace of the story will appeal to reluctant readers. And the story is an important one that needs to be told.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    A touching, and inspiring story

    Ana's Story is a very touching story about a girl who lives with HIV/AIDS, and a baby. The author documents her life, and learns about the struggles that she's had to go through in the seventeen years Ana's been alive. I learned about bravery and determination. Ana kind of moves from place to place a lot in this book. From her grandma's house, to her aunt's, to her friend Yolonda's. Then eventually she moves into a home for people who have HIV/AIDS. There she meets this guy, and they fall in love. She ends up having a baby later in the story, and the dad gets sick. His disease causes him to pass away. It makes Ana's struggle just a little more hard, but she lives through. It inspires me, and makes me feel like I can get through anything in life no matter how hard the struggle.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2007

    A Should Read!

    This book was amazing. It was a book that you didn't want to put down. In 3 simple words I can describe the book: Wonderful, Eyeopening, and Great!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    True love

    This is def. The best book ever #!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    WOWWW

    This was the type of book that leaves you in awe and your mouth wide open the whole way through.. It changed my perspective abit.. i encouraged my freind who never reads and she read it in a day

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book is magnificent and it also provides a great story that

    This book is magnificent and it also provides a great story that's reality. I was addicted to this book it was soo good, I finished it in one day! I liked how the chapters were not very long. I highly recommend this book to anyone and everyone!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Anonymous

    LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Please!

    Will you please only type a review if you have acually READ the book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Cant wait to read

    Dint read yet

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    amazing.

    this book was incredable sad at some parts but amazing i recomend it to any one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    AMAZING! I never wanted to put it down!

    this book is amazing it makes me thankful for what i have! A must read book by anyone! I read this book in one night and im in 7th grade!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    The Book Of A Life TIme

    This book , "Ana's Story " , is truely amazing . Sooo much realistic scenes and how much Jenna Bush describes EVERYTHING in the story is very intreaging . Also it is such a joy reading b|c u learn how people suffer in REAL LIFE .... With all the comotion of love , to abuse , to death is so thrilling !!! I had finished this book in less than a 6 days w| almost 300 pages . This book is filled with events that MAKES you read on . It's deffinitly a book that I would NEVER forget . It's The Book Of A Life Time .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    This is a Journey of Hope

    So much hardship in a young life who took on a big responsibility. I too like how Ana's story was written along with the pictures, not only for adults but teenagers and young adults. Excellent work Jenna! Ana is a very smart young lady and looking forward to her book to be published.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Change in Heart

    Ana's Story a Journey of Hope is heart wrenching. In the very beginning, you find out that her baby sister died at 3 months old, and her mother died when Ana was 3 years old from the only fear in her life... Her father couldn't financially support her and her only other sister, so she was forced to live with her grandmother. Living with her abuela (grandmother) become tougher and tougher, and Ana started to seperate herself from not only her grandmother, but from the outside world. Ana has a reason, though. A reason to be upset and dicouraged... A reason that changes her life forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2009

    Great Story, Bad Writing

    I was so excited to read this story. It starts off with a great intro by Jenna Bush about Ana's words being tiles building the framework to the future. Which is a really good start. However, from the beginning I notice how much flow this book lacks. It is startling to have so many chapters, a book does not need 90 something chapters. This book would been a better read had the chapters been put together better. I also did not like the photos - there was a photo almost every chapter. I felt like a child having to read a book with pictures. I would have preferred to seen a small section someplace in the book where all the photos were gathered together. I also found the writing childlike. I did not feel a college graduate had wrote this story. I think she could have wrote this nicely while still keeping Ana's story. I am not upset or discouraging reading her story. I am just saying that this book is poorly written with a lack of flow and interrupting photos. I would like to know what else has happened to Ana since the story came out, such as how are her and her daughter, what happened to Berto and Isabel. The other thing is that this is a very quick read, I was done in a day.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    This book was great. Very easy to read. In fact, I finished it in 2 days. I think Jenna Bush is a good writer. However, I wish there was more to the book. Although I know she was trying to tell Ana's true story, but I feel as though she left some...

    ...things out of the book. Better yet, I think she should have gone further passed the ending than she did. PLEASE do not misunderstand me... I am NOT criticizing this book in any way, but I was just not ready for it to end! :)

    I am really excited about Ana writing her book! Ana is supposedly writing her own book, and that is definitely one that I am looking forward to reading. I DEFINITELY recommend this book. I hope Jenna Bush writes more books! I am a big fan of hers...and her father!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3