Customer Reviews for

Anathem

Average Rating 4.5
( 242 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(141)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Anathem - loved it

My first Neal Stephenson book so I have nothing to compare it to, but I considered it to be quite impressive. The first 1/3-1/2 were very slow and methodical, with a great deal of character and thought development. The rest of the book was much faster-paced and dramat...
My first Neal Stephenson book so I have nothing to compare it to, but I considered it to be quite impressive. The first 1/3-1/2 were very slow and methodical, with a great deal of character and thought development. The rest of the book was much faster-paced and dramatic. I appreciated the inital groundwork that Stephenson established and thought it paid dividends thereafter.

The book is part escapist sci-fi, part philisophical exploration, part human introspection. These happen to all be fascinating subjects for me, so I was hooked.

It is definitely not light reading. I found myself constantly referring to the appendix to remember definitions, and to the timeline at the beginning of the book to aid my comprehension. I read and re-read several excerpts that I struggled to digest the first go-around. But that's my kind of book -- I like to be challenged mentally, and Anathem nailed it.

It was over 900 pages, but I didn't mind -- wished it had kept going. Would have liked to have seen the toils of the "second reconstruction," and further character development of Raz, Ala, Tulia, Jesry, Arisbalt, Lio, etc. as they aged. I'll miss them.

I'm now a Neal Stephenson fan and look forward to reading his other books.

posted by JDGreenwood on November 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Too Much...

I read the reviews on this book and figured that I would love it. I like longer books with a lot of detail and subplots. However, this book was just too intense. The main problem that I had was that the first 150 to 200-ish pages you practically have to learn a new l...
I read the reviews on this book and figured that I would love it. I like longer books with a lot of detail and subplots. However, this book was just too intense. The main problem that I had was that the first 150 to 200-ish pages you practically have to learn a new language in order to understand the book - and these are words solely for this storyline. It wouldn't have been too bad if I was learning real English words. Once you're finished with the book, you don't need the learned words anymore. Yes, there was a glossary, but who wants to stop reading and look up a word in the glossary literally every other sentence? I think this would have been an excellent book if it were toned down a little. The plot and subplots were actually very good and the book was well written. If it weren't for the constant new words that I had to learn for the story, I probably would have given this book a 4.

posted by D-Dawning on March 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 247 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    Anathem - loved it

    My first Neal Stephenson book so I have nothing to compare it to, but I considered it to be quite impressive. The first 1/3-1/2 were very slow and methodical, with a great deal of character and thought development. The rest of the book was much faster-paced and dramatic. I appreciated the inital groundwork that Stephenson established and thought it paid dividends thereafter. <BR/><BR/>The book is part escapist sci-fi, part philisophical exploration, part human introspection. These happen to all be fascinating subjects for me, so I was hooked.<BR/><BR/>It is definitely not light reading. I found myself constantly referring to the appendix to remember definitions, and to the timeline at the beginning of the book to aid my comprehension. I read and re-read several excerpts that I struggled to digest the first go-around. But that's my kind of book -- I like to be challenged mentally, and Anathem nailed it.<BR/><BR/>It was over 900 pages, but I didn't mind -- wished it had kept going. Would have liked to have seen the toils of the "second reconstruction," and further character development of Raz, Ala, Tulia, Jesry, Arisbalt, Lio, etc. as they aged. I'll miss them.<BR/><BR/>I'm now a Neal Stephenson fan and look forward to reading his other books.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Too Much...

    I read the reviews on this book and figured that I would love it. I like longer books with a lot of detail and subplots. However, this book was just too intense. The main problem that I had was that the first 150 to 200-ish pages you practically have to learn a new language in order to understand the book - and these are words solely for this storyline. It wouldn't have been too bad if I was learning real English words. Once you're finished with the book, you don't need the learned words anymore. Yes, there was a glossary, but who wants to stop reading and look up a word in the glossary literally every other sentence? I think this would have been an excellent book if it were toned down a little. The plot and subplots were actually very good and the book was well written. If it weren't for the constant new words that I had to learn for the story, I probably would have given this book a 4.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    So weird and good. Starts off a little slow, but then I was comp

    So weird and good. Starts off a little slow, but then I was completely submerged in this world. Loved it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Only one major flaw

    With Anathem, Stephenson has created a well-crafted story with complex characters set in a believable world. This tome is rich with relevant social commentary, engaging philosophy and ontological epistemology. The only major flaw I could find on my first reading has to do with several instances where the authors voice over-rode the voice of certain characters. The characters of Fraa Jad and Fraa Lodoghir were ultimately more wise than their author and this created some odd moments when the wisdom of a millenarian was overwhelmed by the condescension of Stephenson. Be that as it may, it is a very timely and even occasionally brilliant work which should not fail to please anyone who has wrestled with Pythagorean, pre-socratic, platonic, neo-platonic, and aristotelian philosophy as well as that of Kant, Hegel, Whitehead, Wittgenstein and Heidegger. A dose of Theology and Soteriology rounds out the minimum prerequisites.<BR/>The world of Anathem is similar to a stage on which Gene Wolfe (Book of the New Sun), Frank Herbert (Dune Chronicles) and Walter M. Miller, Jr (A Canticle for Leibowitz) discuss contemporary events and philosophical trends. A very engaging (and demanding) read. Congratulations Neal!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2008

    This is a fascinating tale

    In the future on the planet Arbre, great thinkers are clustered behind the ¿Concent¿ walls where they control knowledge from the illogical thinking ¿Saecular¿ masses. Preadolescents who show a strong logical ability for rational thought are taken away from the masses to be educated as logical scientists or pragmatic mathematicians inside the cloisters. They learn early on their responsibilities as knowledge is power and knowledge used unwisely is dangerous thus must be coveted and protected.------------ Nineteen year old Raz showed signs of brilliance when he was eight, he was collected to be trained as a muse. He has become a ¿Tenner¿ over his decade plus of intense learning. Thus his time to go outside amongst the low life Saecular is coming an event he is allowed once every ten years hence a Tenner. However, the cloistered soon realizes a pandemic catastrophe from outer space is coming soon. Much of the older Concent members feel strongly that physical intervention is prohibited as they debate what to do. However, teens like Raz and those he associates with have not lost their need for adventure. Foolishly perhaps without adult supervision and some would say in violation of their elders, they set forth to save Arbre.---------- This is a fascinating tale mindful of Gulliver¿s Travels to Laputa, the flying island of scientists and mathematicians. The debates and discussions on history and the upcoming calamity are enjoyable to follow, but can turn tedious as long stretches purposely lack action those behind the walls are reflective thinkers not necessarily doers except perhaps the teens. Fans who appreciate a cerebral science fiction thriller with as much philosophizing as action will want to read Neal Stephenson¿s brillian, interesting but different ANATHEM.------------- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2014

    Requires work, but well worth it in the end

    This is not light reading and there were times during the first few hundred pages where I felt lost in the language and history of the world Stephenson has created here. But at some point, I felt like I was part of that world and the past became my past, the language my language and I became totally immersed in Arbre. I do wonder, particularly later in the book, if I could have understood or enjoyed it as much without my degree in Physics as the subtleties of the various interpretations of Quantum Mechanics play such a central role.

    I'd place this on my bookshelf beside Foundation and Dune without hesitation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    This is quite possibly my new all-time favorite book. I finishe

    This is quite possibly my new all-time favorite book. I finished it a few weeks ago and have been hesitant to start another book just because I'm still thinking so much about Anathem. It took me a bit to really get into it, the first 150 pages or so were a struggle as I picked up the vocabulary, but it was most definitely worth sticking with and getting into. Math, science, and philosophy are some of my favorite subjects so of course that helped draw me in, but I think even someone not as interested in those subjects could still enjoy the book. I really enjoyed how thorough Stephenson was with everything in the book, and I know it's one I'll read many more times and enjoy each one of them. It's not an &quot;easy read&quot; and probably not a great fit for someone new to hard sci-fi, but it is a great intellectually stimulating book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    Just finished my second read, because it requires 2 to barely sc

    Just finished my second read, because it requires 2 to barely scratch the surface of what is going. The book is a cleverly disguised

    lesson in Quantum theories. The beginning is an entry course, which defines the terms to be used and introduces you to the world. The middle is a bit more advanced, touching on some complicated theories. The final portion is where it all comes to a head, and the advanced theories are in play. It's difficult, but worth every minute. It's brilliant, and frankly could change how you view the truth of the universe. Should be considered a masterpiece.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Nice ending

    I would give the last 200 or so pages of this book four-out-of-five stars. The problem is that there were 500 unnecessary pages before those last 200.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Anathem represents my second encounter with the genius of Neal S

    Anathem represents my second encounter with the genius of Neal
    Stephenson (third, if you count my aborted read of Quicksilver), and I
    can honestly say that while the reading experience does not get any
    easier, there is the same sense of satisfaction waiting at the end. More
    dense, less accessible, and somehow not as interesting as Cryptonomicon,
    it's a book that almost violently defies categorization. I find it a
    really difficult book to review. The university-educated, critical
    reading, spectacle-wearing intellectual who lies deep within me wants to
    award it five stars for its sheer audacity, limitless depths of esoteric
    concepts, and laudable efforts to make math interesting. It really is a
    book to be admired as much for what it sets out to accomplish as for the
    skill behind it. However, the tired, overworked, long-haired geek in
    search of entertainment who resides a bit closer to my surface is
    struggling to award it any more than two stars for the brief, fitful
    glimpses of story hidden between the concepts. There's a really exciting
    novella buried here, but it would take an entire concent another
    millennium to unearth it. More than anything else, I guess my problem
    is its all just so boring. Plot developments are so few and far between,
    it feels like the story never moves ahead. There's a lot of talking, a
    lot of thinking, a lot of writing, and a lot of calculating going on
    that, quite honestly, I would have been content to have seen left off
    the page. Yes, it's interesting and, yes, I can honestly say I learned a
    few things, but they were hard lessons. By the times the aliens actually
    appear, I'd honestly forgotten that there were aliens in the book, and
    by the time we get to the revelations about Fraa Erasmas . . . well, I'd
    stopped caring. It took me nearly a year of on again/off again reading
    to get through it, and it was more a sense of obligation that kept
    dragging me back than any real desire to get back into the story. The
    book never really grabbed my attention, and simply didn't offer my any
    incentive to keep reading. I feel bad, because there's a nagging voice
    in the back of my head that keeps telling me I should appreciate it
    more, but appreciation is not the same as enjoyment, and therein lies
    the rub.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    Very Good and Enjoyable, but not Perfect.

    Excellent world creation and plot setup. Story took a while to develop with all the character building. Story seemed to end quickly and could have been more thoughtfully developed like the rest of the book, otherwise I would have given 5 stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    Stephenson is a fantastic author and this book is his best, in m

    Stephenson is a fantastic author and this book is his best, in my opinion. The ideas are what makes it so fantastic, you find yourself trying to make maps of the places and doing math to keep it all straight, not because it is unclear but because the ideas keep you going. It's like a good puzzle. I knew nothing about the story of this book going into it. I didn't even read the back of it and I would reccomend you do the same. Dive in and you will love Anathem.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    Not exactly recommending it to anyone

    Neal Stephenson, in this book apparently seems to be doing a whole lot of character building and surrounding description with details that are highly superfluous. This book makes the reader believe that every single descriptor is of utmost importance only to offer the bad taste of having rummaged through the first half finding out finally that many details were not even used in the second half of the book. Having finished the entire book, I saw many loose threads of whole ideas developed up to a point, abruptly ending without any further mention. I felt that I toiled through it all only to be left with a flat taste in my mouth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    The Name of the Rose into Thin Air Beneath the Planet of the Apes: A Space Odyssey, Hidden Dragon of the Third Kind.

    Heaping helpings of self-indulgence and interesting digression can make Neal Stephenson books great, but unfortunately this one isn't great. I enjoyed the read, and if you love Neal Stephenson, you'll read this and enjoy it, but it certainly isn't a place to start exploring his stuff.

    My specific complaints -- as referenced above, the book is too all over the place. Rather than just nodding at various genres, Neal stops to wallow in each. On top of that, I found the characters very thin. If you haven't read Neal Stephenson before, you'd be much better starting with Cryptonomicon, or with Quicksilver, the first book in the Baroque Cycle. You can land here once you've run out of those, and explored some of the earlier stuff (Snow Crash, for example.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Time and mind drifter

    'Monyafeek' who would have thought it'd be a love story?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    What does it mean that you worry so much? I really wrestled wit

    What does it mean that you worry so much?

    I really wrestled with my feelings on this one. It’s clear Stephenson is a talented and imaginative writer, and I’m no stranger to long and complicated books (this one even has story problems!), but the last quarter of this book, especially the end, really left me cold.

    It saddens me to say this, as I thought the whole social system, philosophy and tech was really interesting, especially the neat bolt, cord, and sphere, capable of many winning combinations. The story has a nice build to it which led my to believe some kind of revelation was coming towards the end - and when it kind of fizzled out, well, it tainted my view of the whole story. I think it can be worth reading, some of the details are great, but I won’t return to this world again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2014

    Science fiction meets science theory

    A great blend of story and science, taking place on a world not entirely like earth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    This book sucks

    It is awful. Conceited. Self coscious. Do not buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    Not a babylon five

    That took six seasons (one had 22 hours to get to 3rd) you cant cram an alternate world into the first half of a book you start easy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Disappointed

    For someone like me who only have 5-10min free time to do reading, this book is difficult to read and get attached to the characters. Kinda disappointed as so many people rated this so highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 247 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13