Customer Reviews for

Anathema (Causal Enchantment, #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 324 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(211)

4 Star

(84)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

44 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

highly recommended paranormal/urban fantasy/vampire novel

Evangeline has been an orphan for 5 years and living in foster homes when she stumbles - quite literally - across a beautiful woman named Sophie who owns a small cafe in Portland, Maine. Sophie offers Evangeline a job at her cafe, but then next day when Evangeline arri...
Evangeline has been an orphan for 5 years and living in foster homes when she stumbles - quite literally - across a beautiful woman named Sophie who owns a small cafe in Portland, Maine. Sophie offers Evangeline a job at her cafe, but then next day when Evangeline arrives, Sophie announces she has to go to New York and offers to take Evangeline along. Evangeline feels like she's in a dream come true when she arrives in a lavish house and is showered with gifts . until that dream turns into a nightmare.

A highly engrossing story, this first book in the Causal Enchantment series kept me glued to the pages until I finished it. It contains a somewhat different version of vampires than the that often being provided today - sure, they're beautiful and tragic but they're also devious, manipulative and highly dangerous. I really enjoyed this book and am going to be checking on picking up the next book in the series, "Asylum," as soon as I can. I look forward to the chance to continue in this fascinating world and I highly recommend this book to fans of the paranormal/urban fantasy genre.

posted by Katya_Sozaeva on September 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Answer to question

First go onto the barnes and nobles website. Then you go onto your barnes and nobles account, then go to the " my nook" tab. Then go to your nook library. This lets you view all of your books. Then there is a "delete" buttom under each book. Just click that then hit con...
First go onto the barnes and nobles website. Then you go onto your barnes and nobles account, then go to the " my nook" tab. Then go to your nook library. This lets you view all of your books. Then there is a "delete" buttom under each book. Just click that then hit confirm.

posted by 5307391 on April 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 324 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    highly recommended paranormal/urban fantasy/vampire novel

    Evangeline has been an orphan for 5 years and living in foster homes when she stumbles - quite literally - across a beautiful woman named Sophie who owns a small cafe in Portland, Maine. Sophie offers Evangeline a job at her cafe, but then next day when Evangeline arrives, Sophie announces she has to go to New York and offers to take Evangeline along. Evangeline feels like she's in a dream come true when she arrives in a lavish house and is showered with gifts . until that dream turns into a nightmare.

    A highly engrossing story, this first book in the Causal Enchantment series kept me glued to the pages until I finished it. It contains a somewhat different version of vampires than the that often being provided today - sure, they're beautiful and tragic but they're also devious, manipulative and highly dangerous. I really enjoyed this book and am going to be checking on picking up the next book in the series, "Asylum," as soon as I can. I look forward to the chance to continue in this fascinating world and I highly recommend this book to fans of the paranormal/urban fantasy genre.

    44 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    An Enchanting Read

    What if you had nothing and no one? No roots to hold you to your life. What if you had the opportunity of a lifetime? The most luxurious aspects of life become yours for the taking. What price would you pay?

    Evangeline is a girl with no family, no ties to her life. When the glamorous Sofie mysteriously insinuates herself into Evangeline's life, her life changes in ways she could never possibly imagine. Upon arriving in New York, Sofie introduces Evangeline to Viggo and Mortimer. The fact that the three are hiding something from Evangeline quickly becomes apparent. But who can worry about that when wads of cash and loads of clothes are heaved upon you at every turn? Things take a bizarre turn on her first night in New York. A terrifying "dream" has Evangeline meeting strangely beautiful and dangerous people, coming under attack, and waking up with a bump on her head. Night after night, she becomes more involved in the "dream world" and day after day, she is faced with increasingly troubling behavior from Sofie, Viggo and Mortimer. With deceptions coming at every angle, Evangeline is left choosing who she can trust. The wrong choice may certainly cost her life.

    In Anathema, K.A. Tucker has created a fascinating world filled with rich characters, alternate realities and psychological drama. Although Evangeline is the main character, Sofie was, for me, the most interesting character. Sofie was by turns ruthless, deceptive and surprisingly caring. Evangeline started the story as a meek character, but developed the strength to handle her circumstances.

    To be completely honest, the jumping between Evangeline's dream world and daily life was a little confusing and left me hoping that there would be a great explanation. Every time she was thrown from one reality to the other, I was thrown off track. Both storylines were excellent, but they felt distinct, not fully cohesive. The dual storylines are explained about halfway through the book, and eventually come together very nicely.

    My favorite aspect of Anathema was the deception between the characters. While reading this book, you can never take anyone at "face value". Each time I felt I knew who Evangeline could trust, the tables were turned. The level of deceit and trickery is astounding. I changed allegiance continuously and by the time I finished reading the book, I was still not sure I, or Evangeline, made the right choice.

    K.A. Tucker beautifully set the stage for the sequel, Asylum, due out in 2012.

    *I received Anathema from the author, in exchange for an honest review.*

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    WOW, WOW, WOW!!

    I loved this book!! Very good writing, kept your attention the whole time. Read the whole book without putting it down. Can't wait for the next one to come out. Really hope it will not take to long. I feel like I have a movie put on pause in my head and I want to finish it!!

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2011

    LOve it!!

    This is a awesome story and read!! I cannot wait until the next one comes out...

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Must Read!

    This book is great! I couldn't put it down! The characters are believable and the story line keeps you begging for more. Can't wait for the second book in the series to come out.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Praise for anathema by ka tucker

    For starters: i love this book. It is the best vampire and witch book ever. It makes twilight look like crap.
    My overall rating of this book: It deserves way more than 5 stars.
    Grammar and spelling: 4/5 i only noticed two or three minor errors in spelling in the book.
    Character development: 5/5 each character was obvisiously planned out very carefully, and very detailed.
    Plot: 5/5 astonishly perfect in everyway.
    Beginning: 5/5 interesting
    Middle: 5/5 riveting
    End: 5/5 so shocking i gasped at least 5 times.
    Anyway be sure to read the next book in her series asylum which has even more shocking twist than this book. I already read it and it is awesome. I will be reading the third book allegiance soon too.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Awesome book!

    I picked this book up and literally read all night! Great book, attention to detail. I would happily pay 10 bucks for #2 but will not have to because it is 2.99. Sweet deal for me! Starting #2 after i get a little sleep!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Just so you know

    Eve does not go into a dream world. She is actually in a somewhat paralell world world where the vampires have their venom to convert humans.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Pretty good

    The only negative thing i would have to say about this book is that in every scene she had to describe caden's hottness. We understand how hot he is next subect. Overall amazing. About to start book two.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Excellent Read

    Very unique and gripping. Wish it was longer but over 600 pages will do for now. Put K.A. Tucker on your favorite author list.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    OMG .... Big Mistake!!

    I had left this free book in my library for a long while ... BIG!! MISTAKE!!! This book is awesome, it grabs you right from the start and all the way through it keeps you guesing 'Who can Eve trust? Who is telling the truth? and What secrets are being kept from her?' The book is aprox 660 nook pages, going to get the next one right now!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Amazing book! I could not put it down!! I was very skeptical as to wether it would be a good book or not with it being free. Its a great book and always has you questioning where it will go next, i would recomend this to anyone eho enjoys a mix of vimpiers magic and romance.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Answer to question

    First go onto the barnes and nobles website. Then you go onto your barnes and nobles account, then go to the " my nook" tab. Then go to your nook library. This lets you view all of your books. Then there is a "delete" buttom under each book. Just click that then hit confirm.

    2 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Wonderfully Delightful!

    When I first saw the book I honestly didn't know it was a Vampire story and I'm glad I didn't because I probably wouldn't have picked it up. I don't like clique stories and vampires have been done so many times. But, this one was different and I'm glad I picked this up. I'm so glad this is free since I REALLY don't like spending money. Anyways, this was an epically awesome book and I give it five stars :) <3

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    GREAT READ!

    Really enjoyed this book! Couldn't put it down. Starting the second one today.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Awesome

    Imossibru!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    I would recommend this book to anyone

    It's a wonderful read. It is was definitely NOT what I was expecting. Once I started, I didn't stop until I finished it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    OMG SO GOOD

    From the start I loved this book. It was interesting and the characters felt real. When (Spoiler Alert) I found out it had vampires, I went "Oh no. Not another story modeled after twilight". But it wasn't. It was captivating and made me want to read more. I rate this book four stars. I belive that some parts could have been stronger. In all, I loved this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    GOOD BUT

    Super super predictable as in seriously i can guess your words.

    And frankly, ludricrous.

    But entertaining.

    Recomended if thats what you like.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Maybe I'm too big on details....

    I couldn't finish it.... I was drawn in at first and even laughed out loud a couple of times. But I was surprised by lack of imagination at times. Why would they have the same music, foods, and language in a different world? I mean we don't even have the same languages, foods, and music in our own world!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 324 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17