Customer Reviews for

Anathema (Causal Enchantment, #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 327 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(213)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

46 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

highly recommended paranormal/urban fantasy/vampire novel

Evangeline has been an orphan for 5 years and living in foster homes when she stumbles - quite literally - across a beautiful woman named Sophie who owns a small cafe in Portland, Maine. Sophie offers Evangeline a job at her cafe, but then next day when Evangeline arri...
Evangeline has been an orphan for 5 years and living in foster homes when she stumbles - quite literally - across a beautiful woman named Sophie who owns a small cafe in Portland, Maine. Sophie offers Evangeline a job at her cafe, but then next day when Evangeline arrives, Sophie announces she has to go to New York and offers to take Evangeline along. Evangeline feels like she's in a dream come true when she arrives in a lavish house and is showered with gifts . until that dream turns into a nightmare.

A highly engrossing story, this first book in the Causal Enchantment series kept me glued to the pages until I finished it. It contains a somewhat different version of vampires than the that often being provided today - sure, they're beautiful and tragic but they're also devious, manipulative and highly dangerous. I really enjoyed this book and am going to be checking on picking up the next book in the series, "Asylum," as soon as I can. I look forward to the chance to continue in this fascinating world and I highly recommend this book to fans of the paranormal/urban fantasy genre.

posted by Katya_Sozaeva on September 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Answer to question

First go onto the barnes and nobles website. Then you go onto your barnes and nobles account, then go to the " my nook" tab. Then go to your nook library. This lets you view all of your books. Then there is a "delete" buttom under each book. Just click that then hit con...
First go onto the barnes and nobles website. Then you go onto your barnes and nobles account, then go to the " my nook" tab. Then go to your nook library. This lets you view all of your books. Then there is a "delete" buttom under each book. Just click that then hit confirm.

posted by 5307391 on April 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    highly recommended paranormal/urban fantasy/vampire novel

    Evangeline has been an orphan for 5 years and living in foster homes when she stumbles - quite literally - across a beautiful woman named Sophie who owns a small cafe in Portland, Maine. Sophie offers Evangeline a job at her cafe, but then next day when Evangeline arrives, Sophie announces she has to go to New York and offers to take Evangeline along. Evangeline feels like she's in a dream come true when she arrives in a lavish house and is showered with gifts . until that dream turns into a nightmare.

    A highly engrossing story, this first book in the Causal Enchantment series kept me glued to the pages until I finished it. It contains a somewhat different version of vampires than the that often being provided today - sure, they're beautiful and tragic but they're also devious, manipulative and highly dangerous. I really enjoyed this book and am going to be checking on picking up the next book in the series, "Asylum," as soon as I can. I look forward to the chance to continue in this fascinating world and I highly recommend this book to fans of the paranormal/urban fantasy genre.

    46 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    WOW, WOW, WOW!!

    I loved this book!! Very good writing, kept your attention the whole time. Read the whole book without putting it down. Can't wait for the next one to come out. Really hope it will not take to long. I feel like I have a movie put on pause in my head and I want to finish it!!

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Praise for anathema by ka tucker

    For starters: i love this book. It is the best vampire and witch book ever. It makes twilight look like crap.
    My overall rating of this book: It deserves way more than 5 stars.
    Grammar and spelling: 4/5 i only noticed two or three minor errors in spelling in the book.
    Character development: 5/5 each character was obvisiously planned out very carefully, and very detailed.
    Plot: 5/5 astonishly perfect in everyway.
    Beginning: 5/5 interesting
    Middle: 5/5 riveting
    End: 5/5 so shocking i gasped at least 5 times.
    Anyway be sure to read the next book in her series asylum which has even more shocking twist than this book. I already read it and it is awesome. I will be reading the third book allegiance soon too.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2011

    LOve it!!

    This is a awesome story and read!! I cannot wait until the next one comes out...

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Must Read!

    This book is great! I couldn't put it down! The characters are believable and the story line keeps you begging for more. Can't wait for the second book in the series to come out.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Awesome book!

    I picked this book up and literally read all night! Great book, attention to detail. I would happily pay 10 bucks for #2 but will not have to because it is 2.99. Sweet deal for me! Starting #2 after i get a little sleep!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Just so you know

    Eve does not go into a dream world. She is actually in a somewhat paralell world world where the vampires have their venom to convert humans.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Excellent Read

    Very unique and gripping. Wish it was longer but over 600 pages will do for now. Put K.A. Tucker on your favorite author list.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    OMG .... Big Mistake!!

    I had left this free book in my library for a long while ... BIG!! MISTAKE!!! This book is awesome, it grabs you right from the start and all the way through it keeps you guesing 'Who can Eve trust? Who is telling the truth? and What secrets are being kept from her?' The book is aprox 660 nook pages, going to get the next one right now!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Amazing book! I could not put it down!! I was very skeptical as to wether it would be a good book or not with it being free. Its a great book and always has you questioning where it will go next, i would recomend this to anyone eho enjoys a mix of vimpiers magic and romance.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Awesome

    Imossibru!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    ACCRYAT ACCURATE ACCOUNT OF ANATHEMA

    The summary on the store does not correctly advertize this beautiful story of love and trust.
    Evangeline has never had a friend or a parent to call her own. She is all alone until one day she meets Sophie. Sophie takes Evangeline to NYC to fufil a curse that was placed upon her at birth. Evangeline learns what she must do and along the way finds Caden, a vampire from another world containing no humans for his "family" to drink from. She falls for him. Hard. But Caden is insistent that they can never be together the way Evangeline wants. How far will she go to aid her lover AND satisfy her curse?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    Swag

    Amazing love story with hurt,betrayal,and kindness.I'm twelve but understood evrything.no sex scenes.YOU HAVE TO READ IT!!!!!!!!!:):)The second,third,and fourth are not free but u should get them.The end is a cliffhanger but not a terrible one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    Fast paced good read

    Really enjoyed the first book in this series and I look forward to reading #2. The story never lulled and the storyline wasn't predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    A stupendous read ! It¿s not often I read a story that sucks me

    A stupendous read ! It’s not often I read a story that sucks me in so deep that I forget I’m reading a book. I actually felt like I was living inside this world and the character is a part of myself having to go through all the trials.
    Evangeline is a girl that has had a rough childhood and can’t wait to get away once she turns 18. When she stumbles upon a chance to travel to New York City, she can’t say yes fast enough. 
    When she meets Caden in a ‘nghtmare’ she isn’t sure he’s real, but her feelings for him most definitely are. Ms. Tucker has a spellbinding style of writing that is so easy to read you don’t realize you have reached the end of the book until it is there. Her characters are engrossing and I found myself emotionally attached to each one of them. The only negative part of this whole book was that when I finished, I didn’t have any wifi signal to instantly buy the second book in the series and read it immediately. I would highly recommend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Amazing

    This book was really good and it had me on the edge with what was coming next. I seriously did not want to put the book down. The chracters made the book book good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Sup

    Loved loved this book should seriously get the series SERIOSLY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2014

           

           

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2013

    Loved this book and Author. Evangeline and her cast of Characte

    Loved this book and Author. Evangeline and her cast of Characters are great. Just got books #2 and #3 in the Causal Enchantment series. I am sure I will enjoy them just as much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11