Customer Reviews for

Anathema: Cloud Prophet Trilogy, Book 1

Average Rating 4
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Amazing! Highly recommended

First off, I just have to say that I love Megg Jensen. Her writing is fantastic. Anathema was the first I'd read from her, and I was definitely impressed.

We first meet Reychel on the morning of her fifteenth birthday. She is a slave to the lord of her land, Kandek, ...
First off, I just have to say that I love Megg Jensen. Her writing is fantastic. Anathema was the first I'd read from her, and I was definitely impressed.

We first meet Reychel on the morning of her fifteenth birthday. She is a slave to the lord of her land, Kandek, and fifteen is the "magic number"--the day when she will receive his brand, marking her as his slave for the rest of her life. He's kept her indoors her whole life. Her only glimpse of the outside world is when he calls her to him and asks her to stand at an open window and tell him stories.

Anathema is full of twists that will leave you guessing. Reychel learns that no one is what they seem. There were lots of surprises, and the ending left me anxious for the sequel, Oubliette. Anathema was definitely one of the best Young Adult Fantasies I've read in a long time and I highly recommend it!

posted by BreaEssex on October 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fast moving - in a bad way.

Nothing is developed in this book. Every event is followed far too closely with another event. It is full of overly done intrigue. The main character has very close and emotional relationships with almost everyone she meets, but there is no background information as to ...
Nothing is developed in this book. Every event is followed far too closely with another event. It is full of overly done intrigue. The main character has very close and emotional relationships with almost everyone she meets, but there is no background information as to why. She meets someone, and suddenly, within what appears to be hours, she is tearful at their farewell and saying how much she will miss her close friend.

This would have been an excellent book if it had been slowed down and detailed better.

posted by K-Lace on March 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    A-MAZE-ING!

    Wow, what an amazing book! Hopefully, I won't have to wait long to read the following 2 books in this series! Picking up this book I had no idea what to expect. When I read the first page I was immediately intrigued! Even though the book is less than 190 pages, so much happens in the book that I am truly amazed that Megg Jensen was able to pull it off in so few pages.

    While reading, I was so focused on anticipating what would happen next that I couldn't put the book down until I was finished, which was about 1:30am. And when I finally put it down, I was determined to write something even though I was so delirious from lack of sleep. And this is what I wrote, "What an amazing book! I am too tired to write a review at the moment so I will be doing it in the morning. This is a good one! Very compelling, there are some twists and you don't know who to trust. Very good!"

    The emotions I felt from reading this book ranged from excitement to intensity to shock and then to frustration! There is very little detail about the story that I would want to include in this review because I loved that I read it completely blind and I would prefer it to be the same with everyone else. I do want to say that one particular person more than disgusted me! I wanted to jump through the book and strangle them (I won't say him or her to ruin it for you).

    Anyways, I would highly recommend this book!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very much enjoyed.

    I was looking for a really short read when I brought Anathema with me to the beach yesterday. I wasn't thinking much of it but I really enjoyed Anathema. With a fast paced story and constant turns I finished it in one sitting at the beach. (I even got sunburned from laying in the same spot while finishing this.)

    The books I've been reading lately have been a bit long with way too much detail, but Megg wrote this with the perfect amount pages and the right amount of detail. From the first page to the very end I was left guessing on what would happen next.

    I really felt for Reychel and how she was betrayed by her friends. I just wanted to go up to her an hug her, but she's stronger than that. She goes through every day not being able to see the outside world. When she's tossed into reality she dusts herself off and keeps walking. When Reychel finds she's more than the average slave she does everything she can to make things right.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful.

    Never judge a book by it's cover, Um . . it's OK, go ahead with this one. The cover is absolutely beautiful, and the story to follow it beautiful as well.

    Take a journey with Reychel as she tries to put the pieces of her life together and find meaning as to just what her purpose in this life is. This book is one you will not want to put down. Just when you think you know where it's going, NOPE, the book takes a turn. The only down side of this book was it ended. I wasn't ready for it to be done. There are things I wanted to see happen. I hope there more to come in a second book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Amazing must-read

    Just Amazing! Loved this book from beginning to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    Quick-paced, creative, and unique.  Reychel is to be branded on

    Quick-paced, creative, and unique. 

    Reychel is to be branded on her 15th birthday by her king to ensure she is marked as his slave forever. Luckily for Reychel, she escapes before it happens and thus begins the process of discovering who and what she really is. Her discoveries lead her deeper into danger.

    With several twists, a captivating panel of characters, and a fresh new fantastical world, this book is a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reychel has been a slave in a castle for as long as she can reme

    Reychel has been a slave in a castle for as long as she can remember. She is kept from seeing out windows unless she is with her master in his chambers, weaving stories for him. And never to venture outside. As fate has it, with outside help she escapes. Only then does she have enough freedom to discover her hidden powers.  But along with them, secrets are discovered that shake her to her core.
    This was a very enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Good book

    You people should just read this novel yourselves and write your own review on this novel. I enjoyed reading this novel very much. ShelleyMA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This was a great start to the trilogy (and entire 6.5 book saga)

    This was a great start to the trilogy (and entire 6.5 book saga). The story is fast paced and exciting. I feel in love with the characters, especially Reychel and Johna. I didn't really feel the connection between Reychel and Mark, but it didn't bother me. I felt all the other connections, and they were more than enough. Loved this book. Probably my favorite of the entire saga

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Great read!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Fun read

    Enjoyed this book overall. Well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Pretty good

    Interesting story. Great characters

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    www.thebookwormextraordinare.com

    Very enjoyable! Everything about it can spark the imagination. It put me in mind of the movie The Beastmaster. Well that was sort of the settings that played out in my head. For more go to and join my blog!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Really good,couldnt put it down.

    Really good,couldnt put it down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Well worth your time and money

    For the full review, see brutallyhonestbookreviews,blogspot,com. Megg Jensen has created an engaging world in the novel; you will find yourself thinking about these characters long after you've finished reading. The story is richly detailed and a recommended buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    an exciting start to a new series!

    When I picked up Anathema, I wasn't really sure what to expect. The description doesn't go into too much detail about the storyline - all I knew was that it was a fantasy story that dealt with a teenage girl who grew up as a slave. In retrospect, I am glad that the synopsis wasn't overly detailed. The storyline is absolutely full of twists and turns that keep readers guessing. I found myself constantly flipping pages - I was extremely eager to find out what was in store for Reychel.That being said, I don't want to go into too much detail about the plot, because I don't want to ruin the magic for you.

    Reychel, the main protagonist, is a character that I loved... for the most part. She is one of those characters who chooses to see the best in people; she is kind to basically everyone, whether they deserve it or not. Most of the time, I found this quality endearing, but every once in a while I wanted her to show a bit of backbone. However, like all great characters, she shows development over the course of the book. She begins to stand up for herself and hopefully she will continue to in the following installments.

    My largest qualm with Anathema (which really isn't that big of a issue) lies with the setting and descriptions. I was completely taken with what little descriptions we were given and I wish that Jensen would have taken things a further. You see, it's not that they are necessarily lacking; I just wanted to know more. Does that make sense? We are given an adequate amount of information - enough to make the story understandable and entertaining, but I would have loved to get a better, clearer picture of Reychel's world. I thought the world Jensen setup was fascinating and would have jumped at the opportunity to learn more. The book is relatively short (185 pages); I think there was plenty of room to sort of plump up the story - put a bit of meat on the bones of it, so to speak. The same thing goes for the minor characters. Every single character in the book was captivating, but I feel like I don't know them very well. Hopefully we will get a better handle of them in the upcoming books.

    However, I cannot say that my issue with the descriptions is a major flaw; after all, I did enjoy what was written. Anathema has an amazing cast of characters and an exciting and initiative storyline. I would definitely classify it as a page-turner, I for one couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended if you like a good Fantasy Story

    I love a good fantasy story and that is what Megg Jensen has delivered. Its a story about magic and how those in power control the people who wield it. It's also about love and who to trust with it.



    I enjoyed the fantasy world Megg has created (while the world outside is something Reychel hasn't seen) I would have liked to known a bit more about it before the story started maybe a map or a prologue. I wanted to know how these different factions in the book came to be. I'm hoping to learn more about it in the second book.



    The MC Reychel is a strong heroine and even when she doesn't know why she's so special she stands up for what is right. Mark the main love interest is caring and strong I really enjoyed their connection. Also well written were the secondary cast of people there were a few whom I really grew to care about, some I hated instantly, and some I grew to hate over time. There were some awesome twists and turns, things that I didn't see coming! When they did I was like "What OMG I did not see that one coming" Good job with that Megg because those don't happen to me that often. I am really looking forward to Oubliette the next book in the trilogy ( coming out this summer) because there was definitely a cliffhanger at the end of Anathema. So if you want to slip into a different world a world of magic, love, treachery, and perseverance I suggest you add Anathema to your nook or buy the paperback.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2