Customer Reviews for

The Anatomist's Apprentice (Dr. Thomas Silkstone Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

CSI in 18th century England

I read about this book in the New York Times and was glad I read it. It's the first in a new series and introduces us to Dr Thomas Silkstone, a young American surgeon who is studying in London. Full of twists and turns, it had me totally hooked. Its prose is quite unusu...
I read about this book in the New York Times and was glad I read it. It's the first in a new series and introduces us to Dr Thomas Silkstone, a young American surgeon who is studying in London. Full of twists and turns, it had me totally hooked. Its prose is quite unusual and very 'period', which I loved and there are some really interesting passages about early forensics. There is a romance in it too, although the female character of Lady Lydia needs to be brought out a bit more. It would be good for a book club, I think. I'm already looking forward to the next one.

posted by 11017207 on February 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Interesting

Good read and I enjoyed it much more than I expected. Good character development and more than a few surprises I did not see coming. Recommended.

posted by 7926763 on January 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Overly convoluted but still predictable

    There's no suspense here at all - you can see what's going to happen next well before the doctor does.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Great story

    Loved reading. Lots of twists but there is blood and dissection. That being said it was a great mystery, well developed and really enjoyed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Nice Historical Fiction

    I particularly enjoyed this story's references to the beginnings of modern day forensics. I liked the warm relationship Dr. Silkstone had with his mentor, Dr. Carruthers, too. Not too gory in the description of autopsy, nor too explicit in the romance area. The book has nice pacing and kept me guessing as to the guilty party almost to the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Great book!

    Cant wait to read the next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Dr. Thomas Silkstone is in London and is one of the top anatomis

    Dr. Thomas Silkstone is in London and is one of the top anatomists in town. His services are called upon by Lydia, who is desperate to solve her brother’s murder. Sir Edward Crick’s murder has stirred the rumor mill into action, yet there doesn’t seem to be anyone who cares he is gone. The main suspect is Lydia’s husband and it is up to her and Dr. Thomas Silkstone to figure out the truth.




    The Anatomist’s Apprentice mixes science and romance and places them in the midst of the Georgian Era in London, England. Though the details can be a bit morbid and unpleasant, the romance is surprising and very fitting to the tale. The book starts off very slow, but by the second half the readers are entranced in the multiple puzzles and deaths that pile up. Fans of forensic science and medical mysteries will enjoy this historic thriller. 








    Notes:
    This review was written for My Sister’s Books.
    This review was originally posted on Ariesgrl Book Reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Didn't like

    I love historical mysteries, but this one seemed false somehow like a cartoon.The characters did not engage me and I didn't really care what happened to them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2013

    Sir Edward Crick is loved by few and disliked by most. He has a

    Sir Edward Crick is loved by few and disliked by most. He has a tendency to drink too much, gamble the same, and care mostly for himself. He is a sickly man...or say they say...and takes ill quite a lot.
    Gossip meanders about, like a lady of the night, when he dies abruptly and painfully, it seems, in the grand estate he lives. Most suspect his brother-in-law, the man who was known to hate Edward most of all. But, Sir Crick's sister Lydia has much faith that her husband did not, in fact, do this horrible deed. So she searches for someone who can prove to everyone who the culprit truly is.
    Enter Dr. Thomas SIlkstone, an anatomist from Philadelphia, who is currently studying in England under the tutelage of a renowned and retired surgeon. He is considered an outcast in his surroundings due to the nature of his particular line of work. What does he do, you might ask? Well, he relishes in working with corpses, Relishes might be a strong word. In fact, it is not the state of the body that he relishes (be it alive or dead), it is the fascination with the human body in general.
    Anyway, Lydia makes her way into Silkstone's path, hoping he can do what others have refused. An autopsy on her brother's dead body. She has been told that the decaying process is too far gone for the cause of death to be determined as anything but natural. However, her heartfelt pleas about proving her husband's innocence in the eyes of the gossipers catches Silkstone's heartstrings, and he agrees to perform the autopsy on the badly decayed corpse.
    He soon finds that Edward's death was, in fact, murder. But how...and why?
    Could it have been a crime of passion or could the reasons behind his death be part of a much larger plot?
     
    The moment I laid eyes on this book, I knew I just had to read it. It somewhat reminded me of The Alchemy of Murder by Carol McCleary. Well...the cover at least. The Anatomist's Apprentice is a phenomenal story and will definitely keep you guessing until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Fun historical fiction

    Great and twisting plot keepyou guessing. Characters that make you care.fun historical fiction with a lot of cool period medical snd science background.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Good

    Fast and compelling

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2013

    An interesting story, but slow and perdictable.  Worth a read, b

    An interesting story, but slow and perdictable.  Worth a read, but has no zip--just plods along until all the dark corners are revealed in lightning flashes that hold no thunder.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2013

    CSI in the 18th century GREAT!

    Really enjoyed this book. Can hardly wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Excellent book.

    I would highly recommend this. It keeps your attention and has several twists and turns. I really like the writing style and time period. Do yourself a favor and read this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    What an interesting book!    The beginning reminds you that this

    What an interesting book!    The beginning reminds you that this is the ANATOMY part of the title and might not be for the squeamish but it is easy to skip over and continue reading.  I really recommend that you do!  The plot is not what you might think!  I enjoyed the characters, story line and the good feeling that follows from reading a satisfying book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Highly Recommended!

    If you enjoy anatomy, mysteries, and a good love story this is the book for you. An old world book with a lot of charm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    A quick read - accurate description of this era -

    This is a quick and entertaining read and I encourage the writer to pen a sequel. While the mystery here is not that terrific - everythin else is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    Recommended!!

    Really enjoyed this! Have suggested it to several friends who've also really like it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Enjoyable

    Good story line but the scinetific words were sometimes hard to determining the meaning. The ending was abrut and ould have been better if continued a little further.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Must read for Mystery fans who like historical settings

    I enjoyed meeting Dr. Thomas Silkstone, American anatomist and pioneering forensic detective. Dr. Silkstone practices in england while the colonists fight for their freedom. Tesssa Harris has begun what I think promises to be an interesting series and look forward to read the next book in this series, The Dead Shall Not Rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Boring

    After wading through less than 30 pages, I quit.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    JUST AN "OK" BOOK

    Did not meet my expectations for Tessa Harris author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5