Customer Reviews for

The Anatomist's Apprentice (Dr. Thomas Silkstone Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

CSI in 18th century England

I read about this book in the New York Times and was glad I read it. It's the first in a new series and introduces us to Dr Thomas Silkstone, a young American surgeon who is studying in London. Full of twists and turns, it had me totally hooked. Its prose is quite unusu...
I read about this book in the New York Times and was glad I read it. It's the first in a new series and introduces us to Dr Thomas Silkstone, a young American surgeon who is studying in London. Full of twists and turns, it had me totally hooked. Its prose is quite unusual and very 'period', which I loved and there are some really interesting passages about early forensics. There is a romance in it too, although the female character of Lady Lydia needs to be brought out a bit more. It would be good for a book club, I think. I'm already looking forward to the next one.

posted by 11017207 on February 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Interesting

Good read and I enjoyed it much more than I expected. Good character development and more than a few surprises I did not see coming. Recommended.

posted by 7926763 on January 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    CSI in 18th century England

    I read about this book in the New York Times and was glad I read it. It's the first in a new series and introduces us to Dr Thomas Silkstone, a young American surgeon who is studying in London. Full of twists and turns, it had me totally hooked. Its prose is quite unusual and very 'period', which I loved and there are some really interesting passages about early forensics. There is a romance in it too, although the female character of Lady Lydia needs to be brought out a bit more. It would be good for a book club, I think. I'm already looking forward to the next one.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Interesting

    Good read and I enjoyed it much more than I expected. Good character development and more than a few surprises I did not see coming. Recommended.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Harris is a skilled writer and she has a knack for taking us into the minds of the character via her dialogue.

    Reviewed by Karen P. for Readers Favorite

    "The Anatomist's Apprentice" by Tessa Harris is a wonderful "period book" for those who like mysteries. Sir Edward Crick has died a mysterious death and several suspects emerge. Enter Dr.Thomas Silkstone, a colonialist from Philadelphia, who has come to England to study under a renowned surgeon. Thomas is drawn into doing an autopsy on Edward's corpse and this further entangles him in the family dynamics of the Crick family. The deeper Thomas goes into the mystery, the more he puts himself and others at risk. The deceased's sister is of special interest to Thomas and he is inexplicably drawn to her even though she is married to the new Lord of the house.

    The story is set in eighteenth century England and those who like historical fiction will love the character development which is skillfully woven into the plot itself. Unlike many other mysteries, this story is not finished until it is finished, a delight to the thousands of mystery buffs who usually find that the end is predictable right in the second chapter.

    Harris is a skilled writer and she has a knack for taking us into the minds of the character via her dialogue. The story is one which will stay with the reader long after the mystery of Edward's death is finally solved. And then, the reader might ask, "What next of this likeable sleuth Thomas?" Perhaps Harris will treat the reader to that answer in the near future.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Brilliant read!

    This book was full of twists and is an excellent read.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Overrated!

    This one is an example of the reviews building up a feeling for a book that doesn't live up to its billing. This book has bad dialog, bad action, hardly any enlightening anatomy and I haven't even finished reading it.

    6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    Wonderful book. Great storytelling. I am ready for the next one!

    Wonderful book. Great storytelling. I am ready for the next one!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An Enjoyable Read

    Reviewed By~Marissa
    Review Copy Proivded By~ARC from Publisher

    This is a first book from Tessa Harris and she has done a brilliant job! It is also the first in a mystery series featuring Dr. Thomas Silkstone. For those of you who like period mysteries featuring forward thinking men, this is the book you need to read. I liken it to the Sarah Woolson Mysteries by Shirley Tallman or the Lady Julia Grey series by Deanna Raybourn, both of which feature progressive women sleuths in historical references.

    Taking place in 1780 England, our hero, Dr. Thomas Silkstone, is a doctor practicing dissection and autopsy to help him understand diseases and the causes of death. When Lady Lydia Farrell approaches him to perform an autopsy on her brother, he immediately falls in awe of her. While this book is strictly a mystery there is an aura of romance about it that begins so subtly it is almost non-existent.

    One thing I loved about Silkstone is his tendency to think in terms of dissection. For example, when first riding into Oxford, his thought was that it looked “…like a gleaming necklace of cream-colored knuckle bones threaded on a tendon of river…” Contradictorily, he also speaks of the human body and its organs in terms of landscapes: “From the gray, spongy marsh of the inner cerebrum, from the undulating hills of the cerebellum to the boggy lowlands of the hypothalamus, the trails and routes of the brain were chartered territories inasmuch as explorer surgeons had traversed their silent landscapes many times.”

    Harris’ writing is intelligent and eloquent. She puts together words that do more than bring together a story; they evoke the true speech and culture of 1780. I learned several new words and phrases during my reading and, after using an on-line dictionary for the first few chapters, discovered a glossary in the back of the book to help with the lingo. Cock a snook may not mean quite what you’re thinking while phapian translates to prostitute.

    The mystery is well-plotted and weaves the story with CSI-like investigations, LA Law-like courtroom dramatics, and a Sherlock Holmes-like integrity in digging for the truth, no matter how the truth wills out. I am highly anticipating the second book in this series and can’t wait to see where it leads Silkstone.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    Highly Recommended You must check it out!

    Great read. Keeps moving. So many twist. Can't wait for the next book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Anna

    It was a very enjoyable tale.Every time I thought I had it figured out there was another twist and turn.Highly recommended!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Worthwhile

    This book was somewhat enjoyable, but would make a better movie. Lots of twists an turns, with an interesting plot.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    !

    Here again we have a book that quite possibly could have been good, but thanks to rude, hateful, inconsiderate plot spoilers intent on ruining it for others, the book is now not worth wasting money on. Why spend money on a book when these rude ppl have told the entire story. Bn, are you ever going to put a stop to these ppl????

    3 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    Excellent mystery

    Lady Lydia Farrell watched her brother, Edward, die an agonizing death, but as horrible as that was, the worst is yet to come when rumors abound that it was her husband that killed Edward in order to gain his inheritance.

    Lady Lydia is beside herself to find the truth. Did her brother die of natural causes or was he murdered? And if he was murdered was it her husband who did it or someone else? She turns to a well-respected anatomist to get to the bottom of these rumors once and for all.

    The year is 1780 and Philadelphia native turned London local Dr. Thomas Silkstone is a much respected physician, a premier anatomist and a man of science. He agrees to help Lady Lydia and using his years of experience and vast knowledge of anatomy as well as all the available resources at his fingertips he negotiates a twisty turny maze of deceit, plots, lies and decomposing bodies to uncover the truth and, in the process, a forensic scientist is born.

    I have to admit I am fascinated by forensic science. I love shows such as CSI and I even have an AAS in Criminal Justice, the required Forensics class being the one that was most interesting to me. To read a story set in 1780 and how this important field of science was born was very interesting to me. Add in mystery, intrigue, interesting characters and a plot with more twists than the small intestine that keeps you guessing until the end and you get an excellent story. I look forward to reading more of Dr. Silkstone’s cases.

    *The publisher provided a copy of this book to me for review. Please see disclaimer page on my blog.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Debut Dr. Thomas Silstone Mystery!

    The Anatomist’s Apprentice is the first installment in what promises to be an exciting new mystery series from debut English author Tessa Harris. In the Anatomist’s Apprentice Ms. Harris introduces us to her main character, Dr. Thomas Silkstone. Dr. Silkstone is a young American doctor of Anatomy originally from Philadelphia who travels to 18th Century London to garner additional training from the world famous surgeon who holds court in England’s most prestigious teaching college. Through a twisted turn of events, Dr. Silkstone finds himself embroiled in determining the cause of what appears a questionable death of a member of the aristocracy. In a race against time, Thomas’s analytical mind and hunger for the truth drives him on an exciting journey to unearth the clues that will lead him in identifying the true cause of death. Dr. Silverstone’s unyielding search, which contains both a personal as well as a professional reasoning to determine whether natural causes or foul play is at hand, finds himself drawn to look for answers outside of what the body is telling him. Thomas’s unrelenting inquiries find him the target of someone who means to put an end to his investigative pursuits at any cost. Dr. Silverstone’s actions considered beyond the traditional scope of his duties as an anatomist provide us with an early glimpse of the field that will soon evolve into modern day Forensic Science Investigation. A fast-paced story with many twists and turns that will keep you enthralled until the final pages. The accolades for this book speak the truth; you will not be able to put this book down. As we find ourselves captivated by Ms. Harris’ first installment, one can only wait impatiently for the next chapters in the investigative adventures of Dr. Thomas Silkstone!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Disappointed

    I probably overcorrected this rating in reaction to my annoyance at the glowing reviews that misled me into ordering this book. It is not a bad book, just not by any extent of the imagination a 5 star narrative.

    The storyline is interesting until the plot twists become so ludicrous you can't help but realize you've fallen into the clutches of a jumped-up gothic. The writing aspires to more than the author's abilities can support. Her use of imagery is particularly clumsy. Perhaps she is striving to emulate the language of her time period; if so, she does not succeed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    forensic science 1780

    When I began reading this book there was something off about the writing - then I realized that is reads like a romance novel, which I rarely read. But the story was good and I loved the science and forensics from 1780 England. Another reviewer said it was a cross between Arthur Conan Doyle and Harlequien Romance and was right. If Ms. Harris could drop the romance dialogue I would love to read more - but I have trouble with the fancy words, vapid dialogue and waiting for Lydia to have an attack of the 'vapors'. But a fun story non-the-less.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Good

    A little shallow but not too bad. Do wish there were a bit more development in the overall story, instead of the love story part, as the forward makes a big deal about how it is based on early forensics, etc. Not sure if I would read more than once.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Okay, I would have only given the book one star, but I was inter

    Okay, I would have only given the book one star, but I was interested enough to find out how it ended.  I disagree that the writer did a good job with character development; I found the characters to be flat.  The writer was quite morbid with the extreme detail in relating the various autopsies and dissections.   If it were a bit better written, it would have been a most excellent read because the author did put plenty of twists in the plot.  But all-in-all, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Not very well written

    Didn't care very much for this book and never finished it. I found a lot of mistakes about things... Like cinnamon doesn't grow in England and a few other minor statements that took away from the book... like the writer didn't care enough to find out the truth. The book just didn't flow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    May pass the time if you really have nothing to do.

    Imagine Conan Doyle writing a Harlequin Romance. Our protagonist/detective suffers frequent attacks of the vapors as he contemplates the woman he has encounters.

    The frequent anachronisms do provide some humor. A servant is instructed to, "Call the Doctor!" In the 1770's one only called someone who was within earshot. The protagonist declares, "I am a scientist." a term that lay at least 50 years in the future.

    Forget it! Read Conan Doyle again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    I am a cozy mystery fan...

    ...and I truly enjoyed this book.

    It had great characters, a good story and a decent mystery. Every time you thought you knew who the murderer was there was a new twist. Some mystery readers may find that annoying but I found it really kept the story going. Lots of different motives going on among the characters. A lot of veiled deception.

    I'm not sure that I would recommend it to a book club because some of the details seem almost gory while slightly boring. But I would recommend it to the cozy mystery readers that enjoy historical fiction (the setting is the late 1700s)

    It was a great mystery!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5