BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Anatomy of Motive: The FBI's Legendary Mindhunter Explores the Key to Understanding and Catching Violent Criminals

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    Great Read

    I use this book for my class when I teach Criminal Psychology. It is a fast read and takes the ficiton out of the make believe world as depicted on TV and film. Motivation is a crucial issue. It's more than the "why" of things--it's the human psyche behind the "why." This book helps to bring it into reality. Criminal investigation is tedious, but an accurate outcome, as this book will show you, is worth the chase.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    WoW

    I borrowed this book from the Library and was so disappointed I didn't buy it. It was a great book. I love the way he makes sure we know what type of killer they are. I had a hard time putting this book down. I recommend any of his books. They are just so intriguing.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    As a student who is interested in a career in criminal psycholog

    As a student who is interested in a career in criminal psychology this book was truly fascinating! Taking an inside look through the mind of a profiler (the pseudo science of finding a criminal based on the circumstantial evidence found on the scene and throughout the crimes). This book exceeded my expectations. I was not expecting the stories he told to be so personal and factual. I was encouraged to pursue my career after this read. This book pulled you in with each story. My personal favorite story was 'Guys Who Snap' to me it was the most intriguing and  made  the most sense to me. Taking the fiction out of the book made it an in depth look at how people truly act. My only disappointment was the morality of the whole subject. Should we kill people who kill people to show that killing people is wrong? I was hoping to get some sort of the authors view on the subject instead of just a factual read, but overall i am very impressed with the writing style and lexicon.

    ABlakely Book Review

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2007

    Scary

    I have not actually finished this book but I started it a couple of years ago. I just have not had the time. I have read two others of his books and loved them. When I got to the guy who poisoned the tylenol, I was scared. I have been so careful now with everything that I buy and to make sure it is safe. I won't even buy make-up that is not secure. I don't want previous owned lipstick for the fear someone did something. I love the book but I feel like it has made me a little crazy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2003

    A guide for anybody who chases the 'bad-guy'

    I have read all of Douglas' books. This is the first that I had read from him and the enjoyment and mind stimulation that it brought to me and how it made me view things simply compelled me to buy the rest of his collection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Fascinating and informative

    I really enjoy these types of books that explore the psychological reasoning for criminal behavior. Very fascinating read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Knowledge is power

    To anyone that's trying to make sense of the Boston Marathon bombing, this guy was an FBI profiler. He goes over serial killers, mass bombers, spree killers etc. I found it readable while still pertinent to the lastest killings in Sandyhook and the Boston bombing which he couldn't even have known about when this book was written...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    Writers often go to many lengths, in the name of research, to pr

    Writers often go to many lengths, in the name of research, to produce quality fiction for their readers. THE ANATOMY OF MOTIVE proved a rather enjoyable read, as I delved into the minds of serial killers, spree killers, and mass murderers. This book’s approach proved perfect for my research endeavor. It described the crimes that took place, analyzed many high profile incidents, and then it delved into the mind of the man or woman that would commit such an act. It ended with a series of four cases where the co-authors asked readers to judge who might have committed four alleged crimes.

    All-in-all, it was exactly the book I needed as I attempt to write my serial killer novel, and more than that, it gave me insights into another book I plan on writing in the near future. So if you’re looking for profiling, straightforward analysis, and a brief dip into the mind of a criminal, then this is the book for you. If you’re an author looking for your own research material, as you delve into the mind of a killer, then this is one book you probably want to add to your to-read list.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigato

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Fact.

    A serial killer lacks empathy, guilt, and the ability to show remorse.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great book

    a look into the minds of these killers and motives that drive them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    excellent

    I have really enjoyed this book, although it is VERY disturbing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2004

    Good But Not Great!

    It was not what I expected. I guess I read the wrong reviews. It was well written though and I enjoyed the authors writing style. But I don't think he is the legend that he thinks he is.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2003

    The Anatomy of Motive is Brillint

    This book is completly amazing. Douglas does a great job telling his readers why different killers do what they do. Douglas gives warning signs for different killers. Read this book if you are at all interested in crime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2001

    As Always...Fascinating

    Once again, Mr.Douglas has managed to truly 'go where no man has gone before'. By delving into the minds of some of the most terrifying criminals and crimes in history. Nobody knows the material better and nobody can bring it to us better than John Douglas. Read all his books, all are exactly like he is..simply fascinating. (If you ever get a chance to see him in person, go for it! Im glad I met him)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2000

    Amazing insight into the minds of perpetrators

    Simply a compelling book that truly takes the reader on the same thought processes of some of America's finest law enforcement agents. This book has truly inspired my future career and I have already read Mindhunter and have purchased Journey Into Darkness and Obsession. John Douglas is a dynamically ingenious crime fighting psyche.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3