Customer Reviews for

Anatomy of a Murder: The Original Classic Courtroom Thriller

Average Rating 4
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    Interesting enough

    You can tell by the language this book was written in the 50's, but that added a certain charm. The mystery aspect was certainly present right to the end, and it was quite educational in terms of how lawyers operate. The author prattled on too much at times. All in ask it was ok.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2007

    Awesome Man!

    I didn't actually read this book but i saw the movie with Jimmy Stewart, and it was really good. T bet the book is pretty good too. Very nice!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    discerning insider¿s look at the legal process

    In Thunder Bay, Michigan, hotel and bar manager Barney Quill violently rapes Laura Manion. Laura¿s spouse Army Lieutenant Frederick Manion explodes into a rage; he fires five shots at Quill killing him. Witnesses saw the homicide and Manion confesses to the crime. The police arrest Manion for murder --- Former county Prosecutor Paul Biegler heads up the defense team; his opponent is the lawyer who replaced him as the prosecutor, Mitch Lodwick, also assisted from the Michigan Attorney general¿s Office. Knowing his client is guilty of the act and in spite of also loathing Manion, Paul hopes to legally defend the murder in the minds of twelve strangers. His plan is to claim his client suffered an 'irresistible impulse', an insane rage to get back at the violator of his wife. However, as Paul digs deeper into the background, he begins to uncover other information that puts a different light on the deadly triangular relationship between his client, his client¿s wife, and the deceased. --- This reprinting of a terrific 1950s legal thriller that some insist established the sub-genre (Christie aside) holds up nicely five decades after its initial publishing and movie were made. The story line focuses for much of the first half of the insightful plot on the defense team investigation and building its plea, but though interesting is slow as readers see first hand the strategy and discourse they take; the latter half is the trial with both sides verbose as they make points. Though incredibly perceptive with what happens on a highly charged murder case, talking is not as exciting as performing. Still the tale retains its discerning insider¿s look at the legal process.--- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2003

    Not thrilled with the ending...

    ...not because it wasn't good, but I didn't agree with the verdict. Seemed a little "slick" to me. I was born in Michigan, so the references to that area were especially enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2001

    Still Terrific, After All These Years

    I remember seeing this movie when it first came out. I loved the story, the characters, the scenery and the music! I am just now reading the book and am so glad I had not read it before, so I can savor it now. This is a delicious book, a dessert of a book. I love every word, every comma--so far! In my mind's eye I clearly see Arthur O'Connell, Eve Arden, Joseph Welch, James Stewart, Lee Remick, George C. Scott, Ben Gazzara, and the whole bunch reading their lines. The story is suspenseful, with ironic twists and turns. The characters are so well developed, you think of them as real people. You know their habits, interests, and voices. This book is a super entertainment! So is the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2000

    Classic!

    This is a very good book. The main characters, Polly and Parnell are really good. This is strictly a trial novel and not so much a legal thriller. It disects the legal process. A Time to Kill is very similar to this novel and is clearly one of Grisham's inspirational sources. A really good book but also takes alot of effort because it is a little slower paced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1