Customer Reviews for

Anatomy of a Single Girl

Average Rating 3.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Anatomy of a Single Girl is the sequel to Anatomy of a Boyfriend

Anatomy of a Single Girl is the sequel to Anatomy of a Boyfriend. Daria Snadowsky takes a serious subject and adds a twist of humor to it, keeping the responsible outlook on sex forefront. I loved to see every teenager read this novel. I'm sure if teens did, the backsea...
Anatomy of a Single Girl is the sequel to Anatomy of a Boyfriend. Daria Snadowsky takes a serious subject and adds a twist of humor to it, keeping the responsible outlook on sex forefront. I loved to see every teenager read this novel. I'm sure if teens did, the backseat of a car would be seen in a different light. I also wish girls would ask guys to do what Dominique did when faced with the decision to have sex with a guy.

Dominique (Dom) is coming home for summer vacation after her first year in college. She’s still not over her break up with Wes. For Dom, when she fell in love with Wes, it was supposed to be forever. But this summer, Dom is going to learn about love, passion, and friendship. And a gorgeous guy named Guy is going to be the one who helps Dom see she’s not as black and white as she thought she was. That sometimes life is just gray.

Anatomy of a Single Girl is a wonderful, heart felt story about Dom's sexual relationships, but it's also about her relationship with her parents, Amy her girlfriend, and the three guys in her life: Wes, the guy she fell in love with that broke her heart. Guy, who teaches her passion. And Calvin, who teaches her about friendship, and that hugs are really underrated. But most of all, she teaches herself that being a single girl is not being an inadequate person. That being single is okay!

I highly recommend Anatomy of a Single Girl as an awesome read for teen girls as well as teen boys, but it's not just for the teens. Everyone will enjoy and fall in love with Dom's story.



My favorite quotes:

“Can you write back for me ‘Sweet dreams’?”
Amy smirks naughtily. “Sure…but can I leave out the first s and an e?”
“Huh?” I picture it in my mind: Wet dreams.

The moment we got together still ranks as the most magical in my life, though I should’ve taken the Porta Potti as a sign of where things would end up.

Amy then demands “a visual.” Guy has already friended me on Facebook, so I pull up his profile photo on my phone.
“Holy hotness! Break me off a piece of that!”

The only thing that replicates it is the vibrator I bought when he started camp. It’s much better than the wand massager I used before. Bit’s still not as fun as actually being with him—“
“Thank you for those lovely images.”

posted by iheartyabooks on February 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A year after she's dumped by her first boyfriend, Dominique Bayl

A year after she's dumped by her first boyfriend, Dominique Baylor, now a pre-med major at Tulane, is officially single--and not at all sure how to feel about it. Then she meets Guy, an attractive physics student who's as nerdy about science as she is. When they decide ...
A year after she's dumped by her first boyfriend, Dominique Baylor, now a pre-med major at Tulane, is officially single--and not at all sure how to feel about it. Then she meets Guy, an attractive physics student who's as nerdy about science as she is. When they decide to have a summer fling (each agreeing to go their separate ways in the fall), Dom finds out just how complicated "no strings attached" relationships can be.



Anatomy of a Single Girl is the follow-up to Anatomy of a Boyfriend, a novel that deals with first-time relationships (and all the baggage that comes with them). Single Girl, on the other hand, debunks more advanced issues like sexual health and non-traditional girl/guy relationships. Although the novel works as a whole, there are some scenes that read more like a primer on sexual health and gynecology visits than as a work of fiction. Despite this, however, the novel's message itself is enough reason to check it out: it's perfectly okay for a guy to remain a friend. Recommended for Ages 16-18 for sexual content.

posted by Liz_Winn on September 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Anatomy of a Single Girl is the sequel to Anatomy of a Boyfriend

    Anatomy of a Single Girl is the sequel to Anatomy of a Boyfriend. Daria Snadowsky takes a serious subject and adds a twist of humor to it, keeping the responsible outlook on sex forefront. I loved to see every teenager read this novel. I'm sure if teens did, the backseat of a car would be seen in a different light. I also wish girls would ask guys to do what Dominique did when faced with the decision to have sex with a guy.

    Dominique (Dom) is coming home for summer vacation after her first year in college. She’s still not over her break up with Wes. For Dom, when she fell in love with Wes, it was supposed to be forever. But this summer, Dom is going to learn about love, passion, and friendship. And a gorgeous guy named Guy is going to be the one who helps Dom see she’s not as black and white as she thought she was. That sometimes life is just gray.

    Anatomy of a Single Girl is a wonderful, heart felt story about Dom's sexual relationships, but it's also about her relationship with her parents, Amy her girlfriend, and the three guys in her life: Wes, the guy she fell in love with that broke her heart. Guy, who teaches her passion. And Calvin, who teaches her about friendship, and that hugs are really underrated. But most of all, she teaches herself that being a single girl is not being an inadequate person. That being single is okay!

    I highly recommend Anatomy of a Single Girl as an awesome read for teen girls as well as teen boys, but it's not just for the teens. Everyone will enjoy and fall in love with Dom's story.



    My favorite quotes:

    “Can you write back for me ‘Sweet dreams’?”
    Amy smirks naughtily. “Sure…but can I leave out the first s and an e?”
    “Huh?” I picture it in my mind: Wet dreams.

    The moment we got together still ranks as the most magical in my life, though I should’ve taken the Porta Potti as a sign of where things would end up.

    Amy then demands “a visual.” Guy has already friended me on Facebook, so I pull up his profile photo on my phone.
    “Holy hotness! Break me off a piece of that!”

    The only thing that replicates it is the vibrator I bought when he started camp. It’s much better than the wand massager I used before. Bit’s still not as fun as actually being with him—“
    “Thank you for those lovely images.”

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Love it kate

    It is just for girls and you should look and read it

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    You don't need to have read the first book to get this one thoug

    You don't need to have read the first book to get this one though I recommend it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    I really enjoyed Anatomy of a Boyfriend, so as soon as I finishe

    I really enjoyed Anatomy of a Boyfriend, so as soon as I finished it, I began reading the companion novel Anatomy of a Single Girl. I was just really excited to read more about Dominique (or, Dom for short). While the ending of Anatomy of a Boyfriend was good, I still wanted to know what Dom will do after all the events. I was very happy to find that Snadowsky's Anatomy of a Single Girl was an excellent read. I absolutely LOVED it, and I think maybe it was even better than Boyfriend.
    Anatomy of a Single Girl was set in Dom's hometown during her summer after her freshman year of college. After having broken up with her first love Wes, all Dom wanted to do was lie low and move on--or in other words, get back into her routine of being single and lonely. Then, alas, a super cute guy named Guy comes along, and Dom experienced love once again. But this relationship with Guy was very different from her previous one with Wes. With Guy, Dom decided to live in the present and forget the future, and for a while, all was well and exciting. However, the future was inevitable and unavoidable, and Dom came face to face with it, along with who she was and what love truly means.
    I was so happy to see how much Dominique had grown from Anatomy of a Boyfriend. After being so naive, curious, and confused about everything, in Anatomy of a Single, Dom was much more mature, strong, and content. Her growth as a character was especially evident in the way she narrated Anatomy of a Single Girl. Her character's voice was different--more fluid and focused, which communicated how she has grown up since Boyfriend. I rooted for Dom all throughout the novel; I laughed and I cried with her as she tried to figure out love and all its ways of being found, felt, broken, and mended.
    I also really liked how I got to read more of Dominique and Amy's friendship in Anatomy of a Single Girl. Unlike in Anatomy of a Boyfriend, Amy, Dom's best friend, really took part in the plot and in helping Dom cope with her heartbreak. I loved getting to know her character more. Seeing Dom and Amy be so loyal and understanding toward each other despite whatever differences they may have or (boy) problems they may face was really touching. After reading Snadowsky's Anatomy novels and getting to relate to both Dom and Amy, I feel as if they were like my friends too--friends who I can go to to talk about anything of the most awkward-est subjects. I wish they were real and I'm glad I met them. I missed them after the book ended.
    From the first book Anatomy of a Boyfriend, Anatomy of a Single Girl continues Dom's story of firsts, but this time around, it's about how she had moved on from her first heart break. I'm really glad to have read these books by Daria Snadowsky. The candid-ness and authenticity of both her Anatomy books put a lot of things about love, life, and people into perspective for me. Often in YA novels, first loves are portrayed as a happily-ever-after, forever kind of love and more often than not, in real life, that's not true at all. Most first loves end. I like how that was shown in the Anatomy books.
    Anatomy of a Boyfriend and Anatomy of a Single Girl are standalone books; you can enjoy Single Girl without reading Boyfriend. BUT, I highly recommend you read both books to better appreciate either. I especially recommend Snadowsky's books to my fellow teens, but anyone can and should read them--both novels offer great insight told in a buoyant and readable (yet honest) manner.
    **Originally posted on Michelle & Leslie's Book Picks book blog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    After waiting 7 years!

    This book was just as amazing as the first one ( Anatomy of a Boyfriend) . It only took me one whole day to read the second book! I loved it! It's a great read, great storyline and great writing! If you want to read a cute, funny , love able story well this is a book for you. But you should read the first one so your not lost on what is going on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Hghnbjjjgghhhhgggyvhvhvhvtcrxrtcgvhvyvyvyvyvyvyvyyvyvyvyvyvyvhvyvyyyvhvyvhyvyvyyvyvyvycxexexextbjbuyghggyfdhdfhcgvhctfgbfyvghcthdrdsggjdeffsvwfsfgddgffffdddddddddddewwwwwwssdsssssssssssssdsssdsdddeeeedddddddhfgcgdhsgdvfrdrtvtvttvtvtctctctctctcttcctyb

    I really wanted to see how many letters would fit. :o)

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1