Customer Reviews for

Anatomy of the Spirit: The Seven Stages of Power and Healing

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

EVERY WORD COULD BE HIGHLIGHTED

Like many of you, I¿m one of those readers who likes to highlight words or sentences or passages with a yellow marker. So, it makes me chuckle every time I consult my copy of ANATOMY OF THE SPIRIT: The Seven Stages of Power and Healing by Caroline Myss because i...
Like many of you, I¿m one of those readers who likes to highlight words or sentences or passages with a yellow marker. So, it makes me chuckle every time I consult my copy of ANATOMY OF THE SPIRIT: The Seven Stages of Power and Healing by Caroline Myss because it often looks as if I highlighted everything! Once, I went back through the book just to convince myself that I had been doing a weak job somehow, that I wasn¿t really present when I read, that I wasn¿t paying attention. But no, that wasn¿t it. The thing is, Caroline Myss is a marvelous writer, let alone a profound medical intuitive and teacher. With her significant help, and for the first time, really, I was able to make sense of the Seven Sacred Truths, or seven Hindu chakras. As she blends them, point by point, with the Kabbalah¿s Tree of Life and the Christian sacraments, I felt repeatedly as if a brilliant, warm and clear light were going off in my head. I was raised a Catholic, and I never understood the sacraments so well! In addition to this magnificent breakthrough model, Myss¿s narratives of individual cases she¿s worked with are inspiring and riveting. Finally, her introduction on becoming a medical intuitive and serving her intuitive apprenticeship is simply remarkable. This book, in short, is jaw-droppingly astounding. It would be impossible for me to praise it to excess, because anything I say cannot quite measure up to Myss¿s poetry in prose. I¿m suggesting everyone I know and meet read and cherish this book! To Caroline Myss, I bow down. Robert McDowell, The Poetry Mentor, author of the forthcoming POETRY AS SPIRITUAL PRACTICE (Free Press, July 2008),

posted by Anonymous on February 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Dawn of Caroline Myss' Notorious Career

Anatomy of the Spirit marked the dawn of Caroline Myss' notorious career on the New Age healing circuit. Anatomy is a book that relies heavily on anecdotes and testimonials, offering these as "proofs" of Divine healings. Writing in the fashion of Elisabeth Kubler-Ross, ...
Anatomy of the Spirit marked the dawn of Caroline Myss' notorious career on the New Age healing circuit. Anatomy is a book that relies heavily on anecdotes and testimonials, offering these as "proofs" of Divine healings. Writing in the fashion of Elisabeth Kubler-Ross, Myss touts a PhD in the field of "Energy Medicine" and boasts a miraculous healing of a man with HIV. There is no proof of either an accredited PhD or any such healing. Like any good New Age woo, Myss combines all the major world religions and throws in some popular, scientific weasel words (ie Anatomy). Her tone, per usual, is self-praising as she claims that her Divine ability to diagnose illness is far superior to the fields of science, medicine, and psychology. While presenting her pseudoscience in the form of chakra work, prayer, and meditation, she manages to remind the audience that even if all this work is done, there is no guarantee of healing. She has an entire story about a woman who was allegedly told by a mystical being that she would end up with an illness and have to live with it for the remainder of her life. It, like in all of Myss' books, reminds the reader that, though she offers a seeming science to the process of healing, it is likely that if you do not receive any benefit, it is because there is some Divine, incomprehensible reason beyond our current understanding. So, remember, you can do all this work in her book (which is quite a lot, I assure you) and still be stuck where you are. Oh yes, and Myss tells us that the aforementioned woman, who would live the remainder of her days in pain, was on hallucinatory drugs when she had her mystical encounter. And this in no way affects Myss' judgment that the experience was real and Divine. This sort of selective storytelling sometimes leads me to believe that Myss is more deluded than a fraud. And yet, fortunately, her current, alleged interactions with St. Theresa of Avila, reassure me of the charlatan that she has always been.

If you want to read something written by someone who believes that she is far superior to the rest of humanity-who acts as though she has been chosen by God to heal the world-who creates a pseudoscience based on sorta kinda maybe experiences and anecdotes-then Caroline Myss is your author. She will surely show you all the things wrong with your life, and remind you that you are imperfect, selfish, and stupid. The only value in reading this book is in the fact that it has been a major influence in the world of woo. As always, I remind all readers to enter with caution. Myss is known for encouraging irrational thinking (as she believes that the Divine is irrational). It is likely your brain might fall out in reading such garbage.

posted by Kyra1985 on November 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    Dawn of Caroline Myss' Notorious Career

    Anatomy of the Spirit marked the dawn of Caroline Myss' notorious career on the New Age healing circuit. Anatomy is a book that relies heavily on anecdotes and testimonials, offering these as "proofs" of Divine healings. Writing in the fashion of Elisabeth Kubler-Ross, Myss touts a PhD in the field of "Energy Medicine" and boasts a miraculous healing of a man with HIV. There is no proof of either an accredited PhD or any such healing. Like any good New Age woo, Myss combines all the major world religions and throws in some popular, scientific weasel words (ie Anatomy). Her tone, per usual, is self-praising as she claims that her Divine ability to diagnose illness is far superior to the fields of science, medicine, and psychology. While presenting her pseudoscience in the form of chakra work, prayer, and meditation, she manages to remind the audience that even if all this work is done, there is no guarantee of healing. She has an entire story about a woman who was allegedly told by a mystical being that she would end up with an illness and have to live with it for the remainder of her life. It, like in all of Myss' books, reminds the reader that, though she offers a seeming science to the process of healing, it is likely that if you do not receive any benefit, it is because there is some Divine, incomprehensible reason beyond our current understanding. So, remember, you can do all this work in her book (which is quite a lot, I assure you) and still be stuck where you are. Oh yes, and Myss tells us that the aforementioned woman, who would live the remainder of her days in pain, was on hallucinatory drugs when she had her mystical encounter. And this in no way affects Myss' judgment that the experience was real and Divine. This sort of selective storytelling sometimes leads me to believe that Myss is more deluded than a fraud. And yet, fortunately, her current, alleged interactions with St. Theresa of Avila, reassure me of the charlatan that she has always been.

    If you want to read something written by someone who believes that she is far superior to the rest of humanity-who acts as though she has been chosen by God to heal the world-who creates a pseudoscience based on sorta kinda maybe experiences and anecdotes-then Caroline Myss is your author. She will surely show you all the things wrong with your life, and remind you that you are imperfect, selfish, and stupid. The only value in reading this book is in the fact that it has been a major influence in the world of woo. As always, I remind all readers to enter with caution. Myss is known for encouraging irrational thinking (as she believes that the Divine is irrational). It is likely your brain might fall out in reading such garbage.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2008

    EVERY WORD COULD BE HIGHLIGHTED

    Like many of you, I¿m one of those readers who likes to highlight words or sentences or passages with a yellow marker. So, it makes me chuckle every time I consult my copy of ANATOMY OF THE SPIRIT: The Seven Stages of Power and Healing by Caroline Myss because it often looks as if I highlighted everything! Once, I went back through the book just to convince myself that I had been doing a weak job somehow, that I wasn¿t really present when I read, that I wasn¿t paying attention. But no, that wasn¿t it. The thing is, Caroline Myss is a marvelous writer, let alone a profound medical intuitive and teacher. With her significant help, and for the first time, really, I was able to make sense of the Seven Sacred Truths, or seven Hindu chakras. As she blends them, point by point, with the Kabbalah¿s Tree of Life and the Christian sacraments, I felt repeatedly as if a brilliant, warm and clear light were going off in my head. I was raised a Catholic, and I never understood the sacraments so well! In addition to this magnificent breakthrough model, Myss¿s narratives of individual cases she¿s worked with are inspiring and riveting. Finally, her introduction on becoming a medical intuitive and serving her intuitive apprenticeship is simply remarkable. This book, in short, is jaw-droppingly astounding. It would be impossible for me to praise it to excess, because anything I say cannot quite measure up to Myss¿s poetry in prose. I¿m suggesting everyone I know and meet read and cherish this book! To Caroline Myss, I bow down. Robert McDowell, The Poetry Mentor, author of the forthcoming POETRY AS SPIRITUAL PRACTICE (Free Press, July 2008),

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2005

    Psychological strengths and formulaic weaknesses

    This book is well-written and gives a fascinating glimpse into one woman's experience with the energy system and what it can mean for us psychologically and physically. However, be careful to take it all with a grain of salt - throughout the book Myss tends to create definitions, formulas, and types, as she does in all her work, that may go beyond her actual experience. People like fitting into a formula, but the formulas found in this book are over-simplistic to the point of being misleading. Pain in the back does not always correlate to a particular chakra being imbalanced, for example. The three systems she addresses are NOT direct parallels of each other, and to 'make them fit' she lessens the innate depth, complexity, and true value of each. Far better to experience one of these systems in detail for yourself than to depend on someone else's interpretation. However, this book does have the strength that runs through all of Myss' work, and that is psychological insight - as a work of psychology, she has valuable ideas that anyone can apply to their lives right now.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2002

    This is the cornerstone

    I've read many books on spirituality and healing and this is the best. I've given copies to all my family members; I recommend it to my children when they are having difficulty. The book is like a Bible to me; it is a stone upon which I can build my faith. It makes sense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2002

    Caroline Myss is a kind geniuis

    It is good to know that there are human beings like Caroline Myss, who aperantly cares for people, and helps them heal in this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2002

    The Amazing Power of the Human body

    I've had a long time where I have been in pain from something resulting from my cerebal palsy (whether it be recovering from one of my many surgeries or having gerneral joint pain almost everyday). It has been hard to get thru the everyday. After finding this book, and she going on the Oprah show a few years ago, I realized that this woman/healer could be onto something. Now, not only do I take good care of my body by exercising and eating better, but I relax and meditate to center myself and see what my body is trying to tell me. Caroline is a heaven-sent, and if it weren't for her, my life would be much more miserable than it is now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    thumbs up

    thumbs up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Wonderful and Insightfull

    I bought this book as a gift to a sick friend. I first read this book many years ago when it was given to me by my sister. It has been a great resource for me to call attention to the core of some of my own challenges and questions. I have given it away to many other people and end up buying another copy for myself. It is one of those books that you refer back to over and over again. I love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    NookBook please :)

    I would like to request a nookbook for this title.

    Thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Thought-provoking material - new twists on old patterns.

    I am giving this book a solid 4 stars - in many ways, it has helped me grow and heal, and most importantly recognize exactly where I am and how I got here. I realized that my alignment with my spiritual path and life's purpose began many years ago as she talks about leaving your tribe to seek your soul family. I gained a sense of confidence by recognizing that I had accidentally been taking large steps, I just hadn't given myself any credit for them because I didn't know they were universal steps. Anatomy of the Spirit gave me a sense of camaraderie that there are many souls out there who have come to the same realizations I have, who had dealt with difficult situations, and how it all ties together.

    Caroline Myss ties in several different religious aspects, which honestly bored me to tears. I don't need a justification or an explanation from a variety of different belief systems in order to validate the truthfulness of her statements - I could feel it within me, and that is good enough for me. I could have done without the extraneous (in my humble opinion) cross-referencing to religion. That being said, many of you will love the way she has carefully studied and presented these seemingly different religions within the framework of our spiritual anatomy. I highly recommend this book as a confidence builder, as a means to identify where you are today, and what areas you could continue working on.

    Janet Stephenson, author
    "Young Bodies, Old Souls"
    (coming soon to Barnes & Noble)
    www (dot) young-bodies-old-souls (dot) com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2005

    Confusing

    I listened to these tapes with high expectations but I din't get much outof them. Drawing connections between confession, communion etc to the chakra system seemed fairly obscure. If the chakras are so important to teach why don't they just tell you about them? Most religions seem so steeped in their own confusion and dogma that I wonder if the people in those religions actually have any knowledge of any of the more esoteric teachings at all. Myss deserves credit for her intent to bridge the gap between the more esoteric teachings and Christianity, Hinduism etc. but it seems like a really roundabout way to do it. IMHO I like Barbara Brennans approach as well as Mark Rich's Energetic Anatomy. It seems to get to the point more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2004

    How spirituality is understood

    Incredible book. She really explains why people feel the way do, think the way they do and how to help yourself overcome physical ailments and emotional turmoil. She has opened my mind to spirituality that i was so afraid of before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2004

    Fascinating and Wonderful!

    I recently survived a serious illness and I feel that owe a lot of this to Caroline Myss and this book that she wrote. As she says in this book, our body is a reflection of our state of mind in many ways. Because of this book, I have been focusing on bringing myself to a healthy state of mind which leads to a healthy body. In doing so, I am learning so much about my own personal, emotional, and spiritual development partially through this book but also from other incredible books like 'The Ever-Transcending Spirit' by Toru Sato (this one is also a wonderfully inspirational, enlightening, absolutely great book by the way!). I love how Myss puts together some of parallels in the spiritual traditions of Hinduism, Judaism, and Christianity and tries to show us that these teachings are all trying to guide us in a similar, if not the same, direction. Wonderful, Wonderful book! Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2003

    A Very Good and Interesting Account

    A unique and interesting elaboration on ancient wisdom of energy anatomy. Good cross discipline discussions and nice applications to life in general.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2003

    Very insightful

    This book provides us with a wonderful outline of spiritual development. It explains the problems we may face in our spiritual development and how they are manifested as physical problems. I love how the author puts together the stages in christianity, judaism, and hinduism and illuminates us to the parellels she finds. I also love how she discusses the flow of spiritual energy and how it affects our physical health. If you'd like to read a fascinating book explaining this using a more rational (rather than intuitive) approach, read 'The Ever-Transcending Spirit' by Toru Sato. It explains things like 'spiritual energy' and 'spiritual' development by relating it to many contemporary theories in Psychology. Both books are absolutely amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2001

    A Wonderful Book for One's Spiritual Journey

    A powerful read! I was actively engaged on several levels. Caused me to do a great deal of self reflection...challenged me...fed my soul...made me dig deep. Absolutely loved it! Am grateful to have this book as a reference source in my 'Life Library'. Peace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2000

    Join the Dance

    Allow yourself to be invited to dance to the divine music of the universe. This book elevated my connectedness to the divine. A better result I could not fathom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2000

    Great Book

    Some great insights into people.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2