Customer Reviews for

Ancestor

Average Rating 4.5
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

You will not be able to put this book down

I have never read anything bad by Scott Sigler and Ancestor is the cream of the crop! From the second I picked this book up, I had to know what was going to happen. Ancestor kept me turning page after page, long into the night. I wanted to cover my eyes to hide from ...
I have never read anything bad by Scott Sigler and Ancestor is the cream of the crop! From the second I picked this book up, I had to know what was going to happen. Ancestor kept me turning page after page, long into the night. I wanted to cover my eyes to hide from what was coming next but couldn't put the book down until I knew!

The science of Sigler is phenomenal and fascinating. I am not a biologist, a chemist, or any other kind of -ist; however the concepts are thorough and clearly laid out, and in such a way that even I can understand what is going on and how things work. The incredible detail really draws you into the story and makes it all the more real. If I find myself in a dark forest (or a cow pasture) any time soon I'll most certainly be looking over my shoulder!

And the thing I like best? Scott Sigler writes characters I really care about. My stomach turns when something bad happens, or even when I think it might, and I am genuinely relieved when things turn out okay. The bad guys are really, really bad and I keep hoping they'll get what's coming to them (though I won't tell you if they do or not!). The good guys are not only good, they're also human; with flaws and faults all their own. That's part of what makes me care so much about what happens to them.

Any fan of edge-of-your-seat excitement, action, thrills, science, horror and gore needs to add this book to their collection!

posted by Phantom_Reverie on April 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Sigler does it better......

This review is for the new hardcover edition of ANCESTOR slated for bookstores in June of 2010.

The new hardcover edition of ANCESTOR follows the same plot line as the original. A group of scientist are charged with creating an animal whose organs can be used for Xe...
This review is for the new hardcover edition of ANCESTOR slated for bookstores in June of 2010.

The new hardcover edition of ANCESTOR follows the same plot line as the original. A group of scientist are charged with creating an animal whose organs can be used for Xenotransplantation. The ultimate goal is to provide organs for the growing list of individuals awaiting organ transplants. To reduce the incident of organ rejections the scientists are trying to create an animal, the Ancestor to all mammals. In the process of creating this animal, something goes terrible wrong.
In the latest version of ANCESTOR, Mr. Sigler has included prior interactions among the main characters that helps the reader to better understand the underlying dynamics that are occurring. Indeed, I have grown to love some characters that I had no emotional feelings about in the original version of ANCESTOR.

Additionally, the science in the new version of ANCESTOR has been upgraded and strengthened to reflect the current scientific knowledge regarding Xenotransplantation and cloning of whole animals which has grown in the past 3 years. Mr. Sigler incorporates characters who are altruistic in their desires and those who are only in the process for the greedy, money end of the deal. The conflict that ensues from these two competing viewpoints is well played out in the book. In my opinion, the plot line is much tighter and the overall general flow of the book is better. Clearly Mr. Sigler has benefited from his contract with Crown Publishing, their editors and agents. He is well on his way to being one of the top Science Fiction/Horror writers. Well done!

posted by MuchAdo on May 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Kestrel

    Then its not quiting. Not really.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Brambleberry

    Oke.... whatevs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Dawnwillow

    Me two. C ya.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2013

    Genetic engineering run amok!

    Fast paced plot revolves around genetic engineering that brings to mind the question, just because you can doesn't mean you should. I enjoyed the story and the moral questions it poses along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Amazing addition to an already phenomenal series!

    Amazing addition to an already phenomenal series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    This book was much too long. While I appreciate the need for th

    This book was much too long. While I appreciate the need for the reader to understand at least some of the basics of cloning in order to understand the plot, much of the first half read like a genetics science lesson. The story itself, although interesting, was derivative; the description of the ancestors, in particular, reminded me of the raptors in Jurassic Park. The plot threads concerning Paul Fischer and Farm Girl were dropped without explanation or resolution. I also found the division of the text into small sections, going from days to hours to minutes to seconds, interrupted the flow of what was supposed to be increasing tension and excitement.

    Scott Sigler is not a bad author, but Infected is far superior to Ancestors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Classic Sigler, With a twist.

    After reading "Infected" and "Contagious" I was not disappointed with "Ancestor". The detail in Scott's books is fantastic. Not "He had a gun.", but "He had a Beretta 96...". The details make the story so believable, almost like watching it rather than reading it. The story itself was great, suspense, thrills and fright. All the characters had depth and were entirely human with flaws. Speaking of the characters, I thought it interesting that there was no main character, no one the story focused on. This added to the uniqueness of the story. Anyone could be killed, no one person was that special that the story would suffer without them. Now for the monsters, the "ancestors". Even though they were a key part of the plot, they were not the whole story. The ancestors were just another challenge the heroes and villains had to put up with while they tried to kill each other. And what villains, these guys were the personification of evil. I actually hated the human bad guys worse than the monsters. All in all, a gripping book that kept me up late at night to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    A great ceature romp!

    This was a great read! Plenty of action and suspense! Took the creatures a while to show up, but it was worth the wait! I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Highly Recommended if you like ACTION!

    This is a real page turner and scary read. A good monster story for those cold winter nights.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    Page turner

    Along the lines of James Rollins and Raymond Khoury. I literally could not put this book down (a metaphor, since I read it on my iPhone Nook). Strong near-future sci-fi aspect, very believable, tremendous tension, very good character development. And for once there are a male and female protagonist and both are smart - not just the female! (Many authors in this genre make the male dumb and the female smart.) - Cliff

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Must Read

    I read this book a year ago and i simply could not put it down. if you want a page turner this is the book. It is full of man made horrible creatures. i loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Gotta have it

    I listened to the podcast and was thrilled to find it as an ebook. The book was as great as the podcast, don't believe me, try it yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of Sigler's best

    I know it's cliche, but I could not put this book down. No joke, this book will have you gripped the entire time. Horror, sci-fi, and science fans will love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    Good, not great.

    My main complaint is that it took too long to get to the monsters. There were so many possible paths this novel could have taken to make it a better read. Though I still enjoy Scott's novels, I hope his next one is killer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    SUSPENSE & HORROR - HARD TO PUT DOWN!

    Scott Sigler has become one of my top favorite authors. "ANCESTOR" is his third novel and I really enjoyed it like his previous books. From DNA to military weapons, Scott Sigler does his research and breaks it down to layman terms for the reader. This book is a "What if?" book. Governments or big corporations funding projects most of us would be appalled and outraged to find out about. Very creepy and suspenseful with some humor thrown in at unexpected times. I highly recommend "ANCESTOR".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome book, highly recommended

    I am amazed and wowed again by another one of Sigler's books. This one will definitely be on my favorites list. Not only did it have a perfect blend of science, horror, and action, but it was well written and it definitely grabbed my attention from the very start of the book. I really liked how there was a buildup of suspense throughout the first parts of the novel. Obviously, something didn't seem right from the start but the suspense was very well done and everything just exploded (literally and figuratively).

    The science used in the book was a little more complex than the usual novels I've read that are science fiction. Yet what I like about the writing style is, although complex, Sigler provides enough information so you won't feel confused, or easily intimidated with all the scientific terms. The subject matter (harvesting organs) is also very interesting and may come across as a really good idea although there's lots of violation of moral and ethical codes that go along with it. The scientific idea may or may not seem possible, but it's such a fascinating yet horrific idea.

    I absolutely loved the characters in this book. The villains in it are extremely nasty, brutal, and people you just don't want to be near to or mess with. Especially Magnus. Nasty bugger. Yet so well written that he could very well go as most nastiest villain I have ever read in a book. Naturally though, one of my favorites would be Sara. She's tough, and not about to back down from a fight but I liked her personality too. She had her girly moments too. Then there's Mookie the dog. Whoever thought a character with a minimal role in the book would come out looking like such a grand hero? I was cheering for Mookie all the way! Colding, being the main character of the book is all right. I didn't like him, but I didn't hate him either. Although at first I thought he was just some sort of whimpy scientist. Eventually he did manage to grow on me though. A little.

    I also liked the little "poke" at the Twilight series. Although I haven't read that series (yet), I thought it was a small jab, but nothing too offensive (well, maybe for some people?) yet entertaining and funny nevertheless. This book does contain a lot of graphic gore and violence so it may not be for everyone. However I do urge first time readers to seriously pick this one up. It's a got a perfect blend of comedy, action, horror, and a bit of romance. There's definitely going to be a sequel for this one (though I'm not sure about the release date)

    I really do recommend this book to all readers out there. Whether they're into science fiction, or horror, or both. It's definitely worth the read. The reader will be in for a fast paced book, filled with explosions, mutated monsters, dastardly villains, and a dog hero. What more could you ask for?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2007

    Can a research team outrun the ancestor and the governent?

    Ancestor is a fast paced thriller about a research team working for Genada, which is searching for the DNA for a human-cow ancestor in an attempt to build a chimera, a creature that combines the DNA of animals to produce a new one. In a heavily competitive field, Genada believes they have the team that will provide the solution for quickly growing replacement parts for humans who need transplants. Author Scott Sigler paints the need for transplants and the technology for doing so well. The theme of Ancestor seems to be survival. From the moment a deadly new virus that has skipped from pigs over to humans, the reader must worry not only for heroes PJ Colding and Sara Purinam, but also for the human race. The two newly introduced lovers have a changing set of enemies, the CIA under Syndey Chapman and the US Army General Terry Pearcy. Their competitors at other research houses are close to a solution, too, but the government has decided to shut down all chimera projects using deadly force. The coldhearted owners of Genada, Magnus Paglione and his stubborn elder brother Dante Paglione want to collect on their investment will stop at nothing to keep it running. And the Ancestor, a quickly growing creature that isn¿t quite what the research team expected, even though it is their first ever success a creature that is very hungry. The heroes have believable weaknesses. Dr. Liu Jiandan, known as Jian, is plagued by lack of sleep due to persistent nightmares and a fixation on solving the chimera problem. PJ Colding lost his wife for want of a transplant. Sara Purinam wants a paid off airplane. While the heroes work through their relationship issues, the bad guys throw many curves that test their agility at survival. I believe readers that like well-written, well-plotted novels will like this story. The high-tech concepts are well explained the conceptual foundation in Evolution is drawn well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2007

    A must read

    Scott Sigler has brought podcasting to your local bookstore. But it is for mature audiences only. Lots and Lots of violence. So if your a fan of horror or sci-fi - you will love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5