Customer Reviews for

Ancestry

Average Rating 3.5
( 347 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(117)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(77)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

260 out of 319 people found this review helpful.

Same as android app but bigger. Must have ancestry account

As figured, you must have an ancestry account to use, and must have internet to update it (thouh just viewing your info can be offline). Does not include search options for their databases, but for a quick view of the tree members and to add someone, its awesome. Great ...
As figured, you must have an ancestry account to use, and must have internet to update it (thouh just viewing your info can be offline). Does not include search options for their databases, but for a quick view of the tree members and to add someone, its awesome. Great tool while onsite doing genealogy research at libraries or something. Can add notes and other info easily and then it will update your online tree.

posted by 10205568 on February 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

151 out of 259 people found this review helpful.

Needs improvement

Was able to open it at first but now it goes to the sign in page lets me put in my info but will not sign in. Please fix!

posted by mdepoister on January 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 347 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Stinks!

    I got it u have to pay! And plus u have to make ur own family tree,,,, this app stinks . Dont waist ur time or money on this! I cant even rate this!!

    BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

    9 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Awesome

    What a great help. I can even bring up the historical documents attached to my online tree. Now I have my info where ever I go.

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Omg

    I cant get it to load!!!!!!!!!!

    8 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    TOTALLY AWESOME TO USE!

    This app is cool. Been trying to get my family tree all in one spot and now I can without carrying around a bunch of folders and papers.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Do not get this

    It is a wast of time

    8 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Awesome

    Even though it takes like 2 days to load, it's TOTLLY awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    8 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Frustrating

    App continuously says the wrong password is being used. I can access from my laptop with same password. Tried to reset password multiple times....still won't allow me to use it from the nook. A BIG disappointment!

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Is it good?

    Is it good? I mean everyone says they cant get out of email!!!!! What does that even mean? And do i have to pay monthly?

    7 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Um

    Do u have to pay for thus monthly or whatever?

    7 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Hate it

    It was stupid. Poorly put together

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Read this

    SOUNDS REALLY STUPID 2 GET IF I WERE U I WOULDNT GET IT

    6 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Kinda boring

    BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOORING!!!!!

    6 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Good

    Its a good app but it doesnt research your family for you, you have to input all the information yourself.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Sign up???

    Free to sign up.... no thanks.

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Can't give a star rating

    I have never been able to get into this app. Think I will delete it and try to load again.

    6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Would not recommend

    I was disappointed. The site said free, but when I gave all the information that I had, they wanted to charge for any thing they would find for me, I have heard of free sites for ancestry and
    thought this was one of them. I will check further.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Bad

    You have to make your own family tree.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Broken

    Goes to a white screen then crashes.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Good for viewing your Ancestry account

    The Ancestry app is a nice way to view what has been entered into your Ancestry Account. When you have WiFi access you update the data. Then you can take it with you. I've had fun sharing with our family all the data my husband has inputted. At times I've found it a bit confusing to navigate around a large family tree, but I suspect that will get easier with use. While the app does allow for updating data I have not done so, so I can't comment on the ease of using that feature.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    What?

    So I tried to open this app up and sign in for the second time, but it won't let me! Why??????????

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 347 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18