Customer Reviews for

Ancestry

Average Rating 3.5
( 347 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(117)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(77)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

260 out of 319 people found this review helpful.

Same as android app but bigger. Must have ancestry account

As figured, you must have an ancestry account to use, and must have internet to update it (thouh just viewing your info can be offline). Does not include search options for their databases, but for a quick view of the tree members and to add someone, its awesome. Great ...
As figured, you must have an ancestry account to use, and must have internet to update it (thouh just viewing your info can be offline). Does not include search options for their databases, but for a quick view of the tree members and to add someone, its awesome. Great tool while onsite doing genealogy research at libraries or something. Can add notes and other info easily and then it will update your online tree.

posted by 10205568 on February 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

151 out of 259 people found this review helpful.

Needs improvement

Was able to open it at first but now it goes to the sign in page lets me put in my info but will not sign in. Please fix!

posted by mdepoister on January 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Worked fine at first but not now.

    Worked great for a few weeks but now I can't enter or update any info. Don't know if an update messed it up or what. Hopefully it will be fixed soon as I was having fun with this.

    14 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Eh...it's alright

    It's a little confusing to add siblings or step family members or any type of family member in a blended family. They won't show up as seperate icons. Kinda annoying but not a huge deal breaker. It won't find information for you unless you buy a membership, so if you don't know a family member (i.e "who was my great grandmother?") you're out of luck. Seems kind of pointless in that aspect having an app to make a list of things you already know.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Good

    Its a good app but it doesnt research your family for you, you have to input all the information yourself.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Good for viewing your Ancestry account

    The Ancestry app is a nice way to view what has been entered into your Ancestry Account. When you have WiFi access you update the data. Then you can take it with you. I've had fun sharing with our family all the data my husband has inputted. At times I've found it a bit confusing to navigate around a large family tree, but I suspect that will get easier with use. While the app does allow for updating data I have not done so, so I can't comment on the ease of using that feature.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Recommend

    I couldn't recommend it highly though what I did do with it was amazing but it will only take you so far before you must purchase something in order to get more info. You can get as far back as grandparents before you must purchase something. It got me really excited about my ancestors.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    OMG!

    Won't even let me see my own family tree.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Ok

    Good and bad
    On mine if you press one wrong buttion........................
    ....

    BOOM!
    Their your app goes

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Okay

    I thoght this app had a lotr oof glithes

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Help

    I got into my e-mail some how and cant get out! HELP!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Cool but boring

    It is very cool but all you can do with it is make a family tree you cant really check when someone was born or something. I got this because I wanted to see when my grandpa was born but it just let you make your own family tree

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    Average

    After you sign in to your Ancestry account, you can view your family pedigree or search for information.... only if you are a PAID SUBSCRIBER.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    A good app but i have the iphone/ipad app it is much better and

    A good app but i have the iphone/ipad app it is much better and way more user friendly. I just dont understand why a company cant make an app for multiple formats and not make it the same in each one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Karina

    I cant add my family tree. How do you subscribe. It only has john f kennedy family tree...please help me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Kelly S

    I cant get it to save my grandparents. It says saving,then have to turn it off just to clear it. Wish I could add them, and add my son also. Wont let me get out of save.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Good app but has some glitches

    I enjoy this app but it has alot of glitches! It either takes forever to save new data I have entered or it just does not save at all. I HOPE THESE GLITCHES CAN BE WORKED OUT SOON!!!

    If you want to delete this app from your nook you have to go back into the app store bring this app up again and hit the manage button, you can then delete the app from there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Stuff

    Nice

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Great for viewing your account & checking for new hints.

    Great for viewing your Ancestry account and checking for any new found hints by Ancestry. You do need an account to get info. It is easier from a computer to input info & upload pictures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Cool

    Ive been on this app on my computer but not with internet hope it work WISH ME LUCH!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    This is a great app. I had to provide a lot of info but they wer

    This is a great app. I had to provide a lot of info but they were able to give me document I would have not know or had access to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    This is one of my 'go to'aps when I don't feel like reading and

    This is one of my 'go to'aps when I don't feel like reading and I am waiting for a friend to send a word. Can always find a hint and get involved in a branch of my tree that I haven't explored before. Very handy on my nook!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3