Customer Reviews for

Ancestry

Average Rating 3.5
( 353 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(119)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(77)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

272 out of 332 people found this review helpful.

Same as android app but bigger. Must have ancestry account

As figured, you must have an ancestry account to use, and must have internet to update it (thouh just viewing your info can be offline). Does not include search options for their databases, but for a quick view of the tree members and to add someone, its awesome. Great ...
As figured, you must have an ancestry account to use, and must have internet to update it (thouh just viewing your info can be offline). Does not include search options for their databases, but for a quick view of the tree members and to add someone, its awesome. Great tool while onsite doing genealogy research at libraries or something. Can add notes and other info easily and then it will update your online tree.

posted by 10205568 on February 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

154 out of 265 people found this review helpful.

Needs improvement

Was able to open it at first but now it goes to the sign in page lets me put in my info but will not sign in. Please fix!

posted by mdepoister on January 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Same as android app but bigger. Must have ancestry account

    As figured, you must have an ancestry account to use, and must have internet to update it (thouh just viewing your info can be offline). Does not include search options for their databases, but for a quick view of the tree members and to add someone, its awesome. Great tool while onsite doing genealogy research at libraries or something. Can add notes and other info easily and then it will update your online tree.

    272 out of 332 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    Great Family Tree App

    If you want to view your family tree, or if you have wifi and want to create one, this is a great app. You do need a free Ancestry account to use this app. If you have an Ancestry tree already, you can view it with or without a wifi connection. Unfortunately, you do need wifi to build or edit your tree. That is the only thing keeping me from giving it 5 stars. If you could edit offline, then manually synch when you connect to wifi, that would be better. As a viewer, for sharing your info with your kids and family members, this is wonderful.

    To be clear, because reading reviews I see some people may be confused, you do need a free Ancestry account to create/view your tree. You do need wifi to make changes to your tree. You only need a paid account if you want to do research using Ancestry's databases (you can connect to the site through the app). There are many ways to research your family history for free (your grandma and Google are great resources). You do need to do your own research and build your own tree, unless you have a family member who has already done it.

    96 out of 105 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Love this app

    I really like this app. I've always been interested in my family tree and where and when important things happened in it. My only complaints, and why I can't give it 5 stars is that sometimes it takes awhile to save changes and I'm having difficulty figuring out how to add my siblings and additional children to family members (there are a few blended families in my tree). Other than that, its great.

    78 out of 105 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Cool

    Great app. Dont try to put a pic on though. Bogs the whole thing down

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Great so far

    Seems to be working fine on Nook Tablet and syncs fine updating photos from web site asvI add things there. Just wish i could use photos to update on the Nook from SD card

    12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    This app doesn't give you everything you wiil get at the Ancestr

    This app doesn't give you everything you wiil get at the Ancestry website on your computer.  I don' t think it is de
    signed to do the same.  However, even with its limitations, it is a great app as it lets me carry my tree with me
     when I go to a library, a cemetary, or a courthouse to do  research.  Yes, you need to be a member of Ancestry
     to use this app. I have been a member of Ancestry since 2004.  I have had considerable success tracing my
     family history.  Traced my one family back 23 generations to Wales in 1420.  Learned I am a Mayflower descendent.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    I have this appt for my Droid Razr Max  and have found it works

    I have this appt for my Droid Razr Max  and have found it works fine on it. It seems to work just fine on my Nook.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Great Potential for Genealogy

    I enjoyed using this app to fill in my genealogy, and found its ancestor search service helpful when searching for specific ancestors.

    However, I quickly encountered a bug wherein the app will not save new ancestors that I add to my tree. This ia frustrating. However, aside from this problem it works like a dream.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Love The Ease!

    Works great! Nice to have an easy way to show family the family info I have found.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Good App!

    I already had my tree with Ancestry, and this is a nice complement to the regular site. Would like to see new "Hint" indications on the tree, but this app was well done. Thank you!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Anonymous

    Good app

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    This is cool

    The only thing bad about it is you have to make your tree

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2013

    Had an account for over a year, but now i can work on it everywh

    Had an account for over a year, but now i can work on it everywhere! AWESOME.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    Interface is a bit tricky...some icons are vague as to what they

    Interface is a bit tricky...some icons are vague as to what they do. Decent app tho! Fun!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    Having this app on the color nook is amazing. I can travel with

    Having this app on the color nook is amazing. I can travel without my laptop and update and edit family information. Great for showing families the information that has been gather. Great having the mobile option. Good job!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Found Out How To Make It Work! Email Page Issue Fix

    In an earlier review I complained about my app not saving my information. I have since discovered that if I log out & then log back on again, it fixes this issue. Unfortunatly when I accidentally touch the button that takes me to the email page, the only way to get out again seems to be turning off my Nook Tablet, and then going all the way back through the process of turning it on, reopening the Ancestry app, and re-entering the data all over again. Shame on you guys for not having a way out of the email page! Anyway I am a lot happier with the app!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    Recommend

    I really enjoy the Ancestry app. The only problem I am having is trying to figure out how to correct information that I've put in wrong. Otherwise, it's great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Very Good app, if you are doing family tree this is a must!

    I am very pleased with the overall aspects of the Ancestry app

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Good, needs update and fixes to add pics

    It runs great, but I'm not able to add pictures of my family. Please fix!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2012

    I wish it was really free and had better notifications

    I wish it was really free and had better notifications

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4