Customer Reviews for

Ancestry

Average Rating 3.5
( 357 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(119)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(77)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

280 out of 342 people found this review helpful.

Same as android app but bigger. Must have ancestry account

As figured, you must have an ancestry account to use, and must have internet to update it (thouh just viewing your info can be offline). Does not include search options for their databases, but for a quick view of the tree members and to add someone, its awesome. Great ...
As figured, you must have an ancestry account to use, and must have internet to update it (thouh just viewing your info can be offline). Does not include search options for their databases, but for a quick view of the tree members and to add someone, its awesome. Great tool while onsite doing genealogy research at libraries or something. Can add notes and other info easily and then it will update your online tree.

posted by 10205568 on February 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

157 out of 270 people found this review helpful.

Needs improvement

Was able to open it at first but now it goes to the sign in page lets me put in my info but will not sign in. Please fix!

posted by mdepoister on January 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great app!

    I've signed up a few years ago with Ancestry.com and now it's available to view on my Nook Color. This is a watered down version of the website. You will have to sign up for an account. They have a free version available but it is limited. But still nice to input all the information of your family if you have it. You still will be able to research, you just wont be able to see the final results unless you have a subscription. Understandably so as they have put a lot of work into all the research. A person could also do the research on their own, but it would be much harder. You WILL have to search and it takes a lot of time, but well worth it. I have gone back to the 1500's in Switzerland for my family and now it's viewable on my Nook Color!

    138 out of 163 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Love it

    Love it

    42 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Dont know whether to buy it or not?!

    So i dont want to buy the app if i have to pay monthly....and i was reading the other reviews and some of them said it gave thier nook a virus! Sould i buy it or not....please answer my concerns!

    36 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Love this new app!

    I am such a fan of ancestry and always wanted a way to carry my family tree info with me without having to pack all that paper! Now I can! I like the presentation and the way you can actually research online anywhere! Thanks.

    30 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Love it!

    If you've already set up your tree and are using this to view... it's amazing. I can bring this to my grandmother's house and easily maneuver through, showing her what I've discovered about our ancestors.

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Used for only a very few hours and so far all works great. Photo

    Used for only a very few hours and so far all works great. Photos load guickly and are excellent quality.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Awesome

    What a great help. I can even bring up the historical documents attached to my online tree. Now I have my info where ever I go.

    10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Awesome

    Even though it takes like 2 days to load, it's TOTLLY awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    9 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    TOTALLY AWESOME TO USE!

    This app is cool. Been trying to get my family tree all in one spot and now I can without carrying around a bunch of folders and papers.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Recent Update

    I love the new update with it's support for photos. Looking foward to an update that will support "HINTS".

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    J.mo

    Really cool. :)

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Wizardfarrow2113

    I've always wanted to know about my family tree and now i know its nice to know where both my familys come from i just love this wedsite which ever person invented this wedsite i think they did a great job .wink,wink

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Great app

    Great app

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Great

    Great

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Anonymous

    Its a great idea but u need to sign up otherwise it would me nice

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Reveiw

    This was amazing, definately worth it.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    It is the most amazing family tree app in the world!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    You will love!

    I love this app because I just found out a new member of my family who was in the civle war! You will love this app any ages

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    I really enjoy having Ancestry application with me on my Nook. I

    I really enjoy having Ancestry application with me on my Nook. I use it on my computer and phone as well. I look up family names, birthdays, anniversaries, etc. I really also enjoy looking up family members for friends. Especially in times they want to remember them, when someone is sick, getting married, etc.  To encourage others, the app gets better and better over time. They have come a long way over the last year. Thank you for creating an app for the Nook!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2013

    Very good app. I love how it is intuitive, and easy to use.

    Very good app. I love how it is intuitive, and easy to use.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6