BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Ancient (Saga of the First King Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Spelling mistakes

    Just FYI, the first book is titled The Highwayman

    So far the first book and halfway through The Ancient have been true Salvatore style, definitly hooked.
    However, I am more than slightly annoyed at the spelling mistakes. It is most likely due to some formatting issue when made into eBook format but nonetheless unexecptable.
    If it were one or maybe two words with a transposed letter i might be fine with it. But the fact that multiple words across both books, so far, have been butchere to the extent i cant begin to guess what they are/were supposed to be. The words were giberish and contained special charcters. I have no clue as how to pronounce something with a dollar sign in the middle of a supposed word.

    I really Ffgured there were people paid to scrutinize your works before being published, paper or digital, maybe Im wrong. But for S's and giggles you might want take a look at the works before they go out to the public Mr Salvatore. I havent had any issue with other R.A.S's books before these two,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Re: Spelling mistakes. Your post is so full of spelling mist

    Re: Spelling mistakes. Your post is so full of spelling mistakes that it is unacceptable. If you are going to rant about something, then have the decency to not be an even worse offender. The fact that you have not noticed the errors in the other books is likely due to the fact that your own skills are not that high. Publishers seemingly quit hiring proof-readers years ago, yet they don't bother to use spellcheck any more than those who post on the internet. Why bother when the lack of education is so glaring?

    The Saga of the First King is another fun series by R.A, Salvatore. All the action and intrigue you'd expect, with the detailed fights, and the usual twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    1st Book??

    So im confused on which book is first. I have this one,"The Ancient", but in what order do the four books go in? Im giving it three stars cause this book doed look interesting :).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Good Fantasy Read

    The follows the basic good versus evil story plot with a very well told story. The main characters are well developed and very engaging. If you are a fantasy fan or just like a good story, pick up the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    Really Enjoyable Read

    I was first introduced to this author by a chance meeting with a complete stranger in a Barnes & Noble store. They said that out of the books they have read that Salvatore is very good at creating and developing well thought out, plausible characters,and for anyone who has ever read, well thought out characters are not always easy to find. A few months later I came across "The Ancient" on sale and decided to get it.

    Overall, I would say that the story is very well done. The characters were well thought through and in all cases except maybe one or two their actions fit with their defined personas, which added a wonderfully plausible feel to them.

    Most of the time the writing was easy to follow and understand, but it was definitely not baby-ish or dumbed down, it was a mature writing. Nearly all of the spots where the writing wasn't so great were in the fighting scenes were it seemed to be a lot of confusing detail. I attribute these spots to the fact that it can be extremely hard to write action but otherwise, I would say that the writing was highly engaging and entertaining.

    There were several plots going on as well. There was one of the Highwayman searching for his father and a cure to his illness, one of a holy man struggling with the evilness of his brethren, and one of a noble lady fighting to save her land. While none of these truly concluded in the end, then again this is only the first book in a series, their plots were laid out quite well and smoothly mixed together so it didn't seem like Salvatore was trying to force some sort of epic "Pillars of the Earth" style plot on you.

    Despite some minor disagreements with the author, I very much enjoyed reading this book and look forward to more in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    another great saga for salvatore

    if you like super heroes,typicals salvatore's style.you will love this one, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Great Salvatore Book

    I was a bit skeptical starting another Salvatore book in a new setting... I've been re-reading all the Drizzt books and wasn't sure if new characters would be my cup of tea at this point but Salvatore is just great at weaving an excellent story in such a short amount of space...

    Looking forward to the sequels!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    Fantasy

    For those who like RA Salvatore or fantasy books in general, I highly recommend this book. I have liked all of Salvatore's books can't wait for the next one...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    A little boring

    The story line didn't keep my interest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Ancient is a nice continuation of the story started in The Highwayman.

    Anyone who has ever read anything written by R. A. Salvatore will instantly fall in love with the characters he creates, the themes, plots, and overall presentation of his stories. The man truly is a master storyteller. The Ancient is but one more example of his mastery of storytelling. It pulls you in from the first page and nicely continues the story that he began in The Highwayman. I couldn't wait for the sequel to come out after I had read the Highwayman. You immediately identify with the character Bransen Garibond and follow him through his trials and tribulations as he becomes the infamous Highwayman. One of the things I love most about The Ancient is that we get to see that Bransen isn't quite as altruistic as we would like to think and that he has to do a self-critical analysis. All good characters as well as good people in real life need to re-evaluate who they are and who they've become from time to time. I also really loved how we got to see how much influence Cadayle has on Bransen's decisions, his outlooks, and his life in general. She is a very good, strong female character. She reminds me a little of Cattie-Brie in the Drizzt series. All in all, I believe that Mr. Salavatore has a very amazing gift and am always looking forward to the next book he puts out. I would recommend this book as well as any other book this man has written, although I must be honest and say I haven't read every book he has ever written, though I have read quite a few.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Solidly decent

    It won't keep you begging for more. It, does allow you to get into the stories at times but it can't hold you there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Ancient?

    Ancient¿<BR/>I am still in disbelief over this book. I have always loved every book I have picked up by this author. However, I was sadly disappointed in The Ancient. It was very slow to get going, and for the brief moments it moved, cohesion of events was lacking. I am not sure if the other books in the series would make it better or lead to further disappointment. The main character ¿the Highwayman¿ was too technical in his fight sequences and lacked a personality. The other characters tried to bring more to the table, but seemed to get lost in other side plots. I really enjoyed the red caps & was vaguely interested in the multiple religions playing along in the book. Sadly I can¿t see reading further into this series. I will gladly stick with Drizzt and his complex multiple faceted adventures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2008

    Buy the book!

    R. A. Salvatore is a master. The book was great but I hope that the future books spend more time with the highwayman and that without taking away from any of the secondary characters. I'm wanting a larger book next time! All in all it was a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    superb return to Corona

    The Ancient R.A. Salvatore Tor, Mar 2008, $25.95 ISBN: 9780765317896 In Corona the magical gem enchanted with Abellican healing powers enables formerly crippled Bransen Garibond to walk with confidence he also conceals his Jhesta Tu mystical sword made by his late mother Sen Wi that bolsters his self-assurance further. Currently, he, his beautiful wife Cadayle and his mother-in-law Callen DuWornay are on a quest to find his father, the monk Bran Dynard, whom he never met. Callen knows she can never pay the debt she owes Sen who died by removing poison from her so that she could give birth neither female knew that the woman was carrying a child too who was born crippled by the poison she absorbed. However, the road proves dangerous as Dame Gwydre abducts Bran demanding he become THE HIGHWAYMAN of yore to save her people from the purge of the Druid Samhaists and their leader Ancient Badden, who are ethnically cleansing the land of disbelievers. Badden has awakened a powerful malevolence who Bransen must defeat before going after the Druid, but he cannot do it alone. --- THE ANCIENT is an entreating return to the world of Corona as Bransen is forced to return to his youth to fight a growing evil. The story line is fast-paced although Bransen¿s doubts about his skills seem somewhat out of place with his self-confidence as described earlier in the tale and his past. Fans will appreciate his efforts and those of his new teammates to battle the evil Ancient Badden and his chosen evil one with the usual incredible final battle. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3