Customer Reviews for

Ancient Echoes

Average Rating 3.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Time Travel Read!

This is definitely NOT your normal time travel novel! It's a great read, fast paced, and you won't want to put it down! There are a few errors, but they in no way take away from the great story line. Well worth the money!!! I highly recommend it.

posted by 11276730 on May 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good plot, but not well written. Im not a picky person when it

Good plot, but not well written. Im not a picky person when it comes to books, but this was bad. I could pick out mistakes on every page. Names were written where it shouldve been someone else talking. Sam was speaking but it said Katie. At one point it had Kathie...
Good plot, but not well written. Im not a picky person when it comes to books, but this was bad. I could pick out mistakes on every page. Names were written where it shouldve been someone else talking. Sam was speaking but it said Katie. At one point it had Kathie speaking, and there wasnt even a Kathie in the book. I understand there will be typos, but this ruined the book there were so many. I really thought it was a typo when she said the year 1610 was the 16th century, but then it was repeated several more times!! Im no history expert, but I do know 1610 is the 17TH CENTURY. For me, it was my worst read to date...

posted by BkWorm07 on May 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good plot, but not well written. Im not a picky person when it

    Good plot, but not well written. Im not a picky person when it comes to books, but this was bad. I could pick out mistakes on every page. Names were written where it shouldve been someone else talking. Sam was speaking but it said Katie. At one point it had Kathie speaking, and there wasnt even a Kathie in the book. I understand there will be typos, but this ruined the book there were so many. I really thought it was a typo when she said the year 1610 was the 16th century, but then it was repeated several more times!! Im no history expert, but I do know 1610 is the 17TH CENTURY. For me, it was my worst read to date...

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Good plot but...

    The plot of this book is incredible however it needs some massive editing! I am ONLY giving it 3 stars because the plot is imagenative and original, there are no true smutty scenes but there is a good bit of repatition in it "he smiled knowingly"... he smiles knowingly a LOT! There are many simple spelling errors such as "bye" instead of "by". Also there are many times where there is an emense amount of description where none is needed and othere areas that should be described and they are not.

    The book is very much "all over the place" and probably didn't have a proper outline before being writen. There are some things that are contradictory, such as a scene where 3 pople are talking and one is said to have looked up from a book he was reading and then in the next paragragh he is just looking up from the book, maybe the author meant to say that he had started reading again but didn't, maybe she came back after a while and started writing again, either way it is very frustrating to me. These "little" things drive me nuts and make it hard to enjoy the amazing storyline!

    If you can over look these writing issues you will very much enjoy the plot and interesting twists that come up for Samantha as she descovers true love (again), time travel and a much bigger and gifted family then she ever knew could be possible!

    And just a little note to the author, in case she reads these things, I am not in any way trying to insult your work! I enjoy the creativity and the story, just wish there was a good editing before it was put up for sale!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    This book needs a great deal of work.

    The monetary unit in Scotland is the pound not the euro. This book needs a great deal of work. The plot has possibilities, but the author should have employed the services of a fact-checker and editor. If an author is going to write about a country that they’ve never visited before, then at least use the internet to get some basic facts about that country correct. Not to mention that the three-hour cab rides… six hours roundtrip… well it’s a bit much. It’s challenging to get lost in the potential escapism of this book when there are just so many glaring facts wrong in the story-telling.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    REALLY WORTH 5 STARS, if it wasn't for the editting. Is that th

    REALLY WORTH 5 STARS, if it wasn't for the editting. Is that the author's fault? Not sure, but loved the story! I thought the main character's were so interesting, but even all the secondary character's brought alot to the story. So worth $.99 cents - about 255 Nook pages - good read and highly recommend.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Great Time Travel Read!

    This is definitely NOT your normal time travel novel! It's a great read, fast paced, and you won't want to put it down! There are a few errors, but they in no way take away from the great story line. Well worth the money!!! I highly recommend it.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    I loved this book!

    This certainly surprised me, very different from your usual time travel love story. A few typos, but they didn't affect the storyline at all. I would definitely recommend this book to those who enjoy time travel, with a little humor and lots of Celtic lore thrown in!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Extremely well written. Non-Stop action, hard to put down! Well worth reading.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Story line is good but writing style needs work

    It is a little HOKEY how its written, if i can say that


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    Slow starting

    And dragged out

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    .

    I couldn't even finish. I started then put it down for a bit, hoping it would get better. No such luck. It didn't grab my attention like I hoped it would.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    This book was a true delight to read! Time travel mixed with lot

    This book was a true delight to read! Time travel mixed with lots of
    Celtic legend, sexy immortal warriors, and a twist of humor! I couldn't
    put it down!! Can't wait for a sequel.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    Fast moving. Keeps you interested all the way.

    This book has great characters and lots of action. The story line is very original and keeps you reading to find out what's coming next. I'm looking forward to a sequel, which I hope will be coming soon.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Great read!

    Keeps you captivated from start to finish. Samantha's adventure is spell binding and the book is a delight to read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Great Story, got to read this one!

    Time travel done paranormal style, with lots of Celtic legend

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    A DEFINATE MUST READ!!!!

    TERRIFIC, WELL WRITTEN, CAN'T PUT IT DOWN. ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I HAVE READ IN A VERY LONG TIME. CAN'T WAIT FOR HER NEXT BOOK.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Great Read if you enjoy fantasy !

    A great story which takes the reader back in time, to sorcery and sexy, hot angels!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    This book has major problems.

    Although the plot is some what interesting, it's major grammerical faults, misspellings, and repeativeness are frustrating enough that I've given up trying to finish. I'm surprized I maded it half way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Great read, full of time travel, Scottish warriors & magic!

    This book had it all. Current day traveling back to the 1600's to end a curse on ruined castle grounds Samantha has enherited. This book tapped into all my favorites: Highland warriors, time travel, magic, castles, and romance. Great storyline. My only complaint would be that the warrior's love for Samantha tended to get a little sappy for me. It was a bit overdone but all in all, a really good read. I still give it 5 stars!! Great for teens too, no steamy love scenes. I liked this book enough to purchase the 2nd one. See you at that review!!

    It said 255 pgs on my Nook but the page numbers didn't advance with every single turn so well worth the purchase!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Shimmercreek

    Beatiful gold she cat with blue eyes warrior 25 moons warmhearted loving and loyal

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Flutter to Ravenstar

    Rips the leader's throat. "Get your as<_>s out of our place!"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2