Customer Reviews for

Ancient Light

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended for the serious reader

Banville is a very "literary" author. His books abound with a lush prose that may not be to everyone's taste, but I think anyone who treasures genuine literature will find this work ( as well as his corpus of books in general) to their taste. I think he has few peers am...
Banville is a very "literary" author. His books abound with a lush prose that may not be to everyone's taste, but I think anyone who treasures genuine literature will find this work ( as well as his corpus of books in general) to their taste. I think he has few peers among serious novelists today.
I always look forward to the appearance of any new book by him.

posted by casa42 on November 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Frustrating Author

The first novel I read by John Banville, The Sea, was one of the best I'd experienced in some time. Ancient Light is one of the most disappointing. The narrator, a British actor, recounts an affair he had with a school pal's mother. The narrator was 15 at the time. The ...
The first novel I read by John Banville, The Sea, was one of the best I'd experienced in some time. Ancient Light is one of the most disappointing. The narrator, a British actor, recounts an affair he had with a school pal's mother. The narrator was 15 at the time. The first third of the novel recounts that episode over and over, piling detail on detail and encounter on encounter. The theme is supposed to be memory and its notorious unreliability, but Banville doesn't manage to nudge this theme beyond the common truisms. Eventually we hear about an acting job the aging narrator takes in the present, but the story hits the breaks again as his female co-star is described at excruciating length. Banville is famed for the lyricism of his prose, but lyricism without a story wears thin quickly.

posted by BHenricksen on December 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    Highly Recommended for the serious reader

    Banville is a very "literary" author. His books abound with a lush prose that may not be to everyone's taste, but I think anyone who treasures genuine literature will find this work ( as well as his corpus of books in general) to their taste. I think he has few peers among serious novelists today.
    I always look forward to the appearance of any new book by him.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A beautiful novel on memory, identity, reflection, power, youth,

    A beautiful novel on memory, identity, reflection, power, youth, death, and love (or sex) as a response to grief. Banville's powerfully lines are delivered gently, as if to bloom inside the reader once they've passed his eyes. An amazing book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2013

    Hard reading, with lots of flashbacks and reflections but the ea

    Hard reading, with lots of flashbacks and reflections but the easiest to read as the last book in the trilogy (Eclipse, followed by Shroud)... By itself, it would not make much sense so the other two must be read as well and those are very hard to read...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Frustrating Author

    The first novel I read by John Banville, The Sea, was one of the best I'd experienced in some time. Ancient Light is one of the most disappointing. The narrator, a British actor, recounts an affair he had with a school pal's mother. The narrator was 15 at the time. The first third of the novel recounts that episode over and over, piling detail on detail and encounter on encounter. The theme is supposed to be memory and its notorious unreliability, but Banville doesn't manage to nudge this theme beyond the common truisms. Eventually we hear about an acting job the aging narrator takes in the present, but the story hits the breaks again as his female co-star is described at excruciating length. Banville is famed for the lyricism of his prose, but lyricism without a story wears thin quickly.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    Most entertaining!

    Love this book. Humor, reality and so well written. Bravo to John Banville!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    This book is primarily a descriptive, lyrical narrative with ver

    This book is primarily a descriptive, lyrical narrative with very little dialogue. The narrator is in his 60's as he reminisces concerning his affair at age 15 with his best friend’s mother. He is also trying to cope with the death of his daughter. The other characters that populate this book are shadowy – who are they really and what are they thinking. The unsaid words become more important than actual dialogue. Events seem to repeat themselves as the narrator tries to piece together his life into some kind of meaning. “Ancient light” is the light of galaxies which travels billions of miles to reach us. Everywhere, the narrator tells us, we are looking into the past

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Inspiring


    Truly shows the power, strength and yes wisdom women have deep inside and we just need to reach down and grab it,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    No FuckingWay

    Why not

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    To legendkit

    Fight me

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Thumpbacktail To legendkit

    No problemo! Anything to help a clan mate!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Love these books

    If you have not read this trilogy please do. This book is not only sexy but realistic as well. There is a very good story line to it. Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    HERA CABIN

    H

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Book review

    This is a very good book I would give this boom 5 stars

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Hunters den

    Where the hunters live

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    TO DANNIKA

    Really? Stop! U guys arent even nominees!!!!

    0 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Elana

    Fine. Raided percys cabin i search for hot pink frosting.

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Dashkoff in the house

    I need a date. And please vote for mr as prom king. Please.
    - Dashkoff

    0 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    n

    j

    0 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Adele

    Materilizes sees percy shirtless and leaves to the next cabin whoops

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    PERCY

    No my cabin!!! And ok seventh result

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2