Customer Reviews for

The Ancient One (Adventures of Kate Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2006

    Wonderful

    I got this book because I had to read something for English class. At first glance the book didn't seem that interesting, but when I started reading it I couldn't put it down. This book brings you to a new world and it has become one of my favorites. I would definitely recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2009

    Horrible

    This book is really boring and it doesnt make any sence, this book is good to read if you read all the books in the world and this is the last 1 you still shouldn't read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2008

    The Ancient One

    Your heart will race as you read this book. It is about mystic creatures and magic jinxes. The heroine, Kate, gets plunged back in time to face the wrath of Gashara and his minions. The only way home for her is the touchstone. The stone holds vast power. But know that a terrible omen might spell doom for them all!<BR/>You will also learn about how evil can destroy an entire race! Can Kate solve a mystery that can kill all of man kind? This kind of excitement is not new for her because this is a second adventure in a series. The only thing puzzling her is that an old riddle can save an entire race. The riddle is that a fire of love shall create and a fire of hate shall destroy.<BR/>The lesson of the book to me is stay close to your friends, which reminded me about when I made a good impression on my little cousins so they will be good to each other. They were very nice after that.<BR/>I would recommend this book to people 9+. It has some fantasy and some real theory about time and space. The best part is that it is thick, but can fit in your pocket! The book is awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2008

    The Ancient One

    In the book ¿The Ancient One¿ a girl named Kate is spending the week with her grandmother in the small logging town of Blade, Organ. Her grandmother is very quiet and mysterious, as she doesn¿t tell Kate what she is doing. They find out that these loggers are going to go cut down some redwood trees that were spotted in the crater that is near the town. The crater had been previously inaccessible due to its steepness. This made the trees very large which is why the loggers are going after them. Kate and her grandmother are trying to stop them by getting in the crater first. Will they stop them, or not? I liked the book, but the beginning was not all that great. I still suggest that you r3ead it though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2005

    Terrible Book!

    This was quite possibly the worst fantasy book that I have ever read. The plot seemed to me to be jumbled up and certain parts of it seemed corny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2005

    I really enjoyed it!

    I started out bored with the plot and characters, but once the story fell into place I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2004

    The Ancient One

    From mythical creatures to dangerous adventures, T.A. Barron has taken the reader back in time with his absorbing book The Ancient One. The story starts off with a young girl spending the week with her aunt in Oregon. When a strange man tries to steal her aunt¿s mail, and when she has some questions that her aunt cannot answer, she becomes suspicious. To find out more about what is happening, she must travel back in time to the land of the Halamis. The Ancient One is a story about a young girl¿s journey through time to try to save an ancient forest that is set in a crater. Kate is a thirteen-year-old girl who learns about the situation that her aunt is in and tries to help her. Kate¿s aunt, Aunt Melanie, is attempting to save a forest from being cut down by loggers. The Indians that inhabited the land long ago, the Halamis, fascinate her. She owns several of the Halamis artifacts, but one in particular, a walking stick, possesses magical powers. When the loggers go into the crater, Aunt Melanie and Kate take action and head into the crater to protect the forest. In the heart of the forest stands the oldest and tallest tree, the Ancient One. In the center of the old tree there is a hollow cut out of the trunk. Aunt Melanie shows this to Kate and takes her inside the trunk where she tells Kate about her discovery of the tree. When they leave the hollow, Kate forgets the magic walking stick that she brought with her. She finds a surprise when she goes back for it. There is a boy in the hollow and he gets mad at her and attacks her. While struggling with the boy she grabs the stick and hits it against the inside of the tree, which activates the magic in the stick and takes her back in time. When she wakes up, she finds herself in a whole new world. Later, Kate meets an Indian girl named Laioni. Laioni is one of the tribe of the Halami Indians. Later they learn of the journey they must go on to save the Ancient One, and Aunt Melanie. The story¿s strong points are not in the storyline but more in the creation of characters. T.A. Barron explains each character in such detail that you can easily picture exactly what that person or creature looks like. For example, when the Tinannis, a tribe of mythical owl people, are introduced into the story they are explained so thoroughly that I could see just how each person was to be presented. The creations of the terrific characters in The Ancient One make up for the lack of a better storyline. The story was too fast-paced. For instance, there was no time for the characters to stop and recollect on what had just happened so the reader would know where they were. Although the storyline could have been better, The Ancient One is a fantastic read. The reader may be a little disappointed when he or she gets to the end because the conclusion comes too fast. The audience will be drawn in by the characters and the dangers that lurk around every corner as the adventure continues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2004

    A great journey!

    I first read The Ancient One when I was in elementary school. I fell in love with the fun and the fantasy and have since read it every year without fail. (I am 20 years old now). This is a wonderful story that should be read and enjoyed by all, as it takes the reader to a new and exiting world filled with characters that you easily love (Kandeldandel). I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to be enchanted!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2004

    Great Book

    This book was going incredibly... until the very end. I was pleased at first but I am the type person who likes all of the loose ends in the book tied up. Instead the author leaves it up to you (the reader's) imagination. I personally wanted my questions answered... It just depends on what you like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2003

    Just another book...

    Seriously, this book is 'average'. The writing style seems a bit plain, and it goes out of the way to be unpredictable, while still being quite predictable in some ways. Also, the ending is kinda bland. The entire book is spent in the quest to return to her current time, and when she finally does...? Not much happens. It's a sort of anticlimax. It's not all that bad, and it isn't torture to read through. It's also got a few things unique to it. But I don't really recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2002

    Fantacy Lovers Haven!

    This is the best book I ever read!(one of the hundreds of them that is)No matter who you are BUY THIS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2002

    On my top ten

    Since the moment I opened the book, I was captivated. It's one of my favorites because the characters are believable within the context, It's a fast-paced, detailed story with lots of suspenseful events. It's also appropriate for any reader, especially junior high to adult.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2002

    Amazing

    I read this book when I was in 6th grade... it was part of a class war called battle of the books, each class chooses 3 people and they compete with every other class being quizzed on the books and in the end winning $50 and a T-shirt! My team one! I read this book twice in one month! I read it again my sophmore year in HS, and am about to read it again (a Sophomore in college).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2002

    GOOD!!!

    SO SO GREAT!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2002

    Great book

    This book has great action and good chatacters. After every chapter i more troble putting it down. I recomend this to anyone that likes to read Fantasy or adventure books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2001

    Awesome!

    This book was exelent for me and my friends! It's evern on AR! Can't wate to read the others!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2001

    The Ancient One Review

    The book, The Ancient One, by T.A. Barron, is full of adventure, imagination, and nature. I think this book has all the key elements for a true fantasy. A thirteen-year-old girl named Kate visits her Aunt Melanie while her parents are on vacation. Kate and her Aunt Melanie go to the Lost Crater to save the ancient trees. While fighting to save the the trees and the overall memory of the Lost Crater, Kate finds her own adventure by using an ancient walking stick. She finds out the Halami people, from five hundred years ago. In order for Kate to return to the future, she must use the goodness of herself and nature to overcome the evil of man. I enjoy the way T.A. Barron makes a simple protest into a life's journey. T.A. Barron also gives each part of the book the suspense to read further. I also liked the way the sounds and visual effects come to life as you read. I recommend this book to people who crave adventure and the aspects of good versus evil.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2000

    The Ancient One

    I read this book two years ago and fell in love with it. This is my favorite book because of the suspense and magic. I recommend this to people who love to read. I read this book twice and plan to read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2000

    The Ancient One

    This was a truly wonderful book. It was well thought out and I have enjoyed it immensely. The three that wrote the above reviews obviously have no imagination. I have already read it twice and am looking forward to reading it a third time. This book deserves the five stars it's earned!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2000

    lovin it

    I love this book and think it is an outstanding fantasy, full of life and magic. T.A.Barron takes this book mostly from Kate's Perspective, a 13-yr-old girl, and it is simply astounding to read about this heroine and realize a grown man wrote this. Barron takes readers into a world of endless adventure, creativity, and magic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2