Customer Reviews for

Ancient Shores

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Escapism

As are all of Jack McDevitt's books, this is well written. He is not one of my favorite authors, but for someone who enjoys SciFi as opposed to Fantasy this would be a good book. It is a little off the wall and I prefer my SciFi to be more believeable.

posted by iowashort on February 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

All Prelude

This book starts with a strong SF premise. The early chapters are riveting as the protagonists discover just how extraordinary is the boat unearthed on a North Dakota farm. Unfortunately, the book lets us down; at least it didn't live up to my expectations. It's fine...
This book starts with a strong SF premise. The early chapters are riveting as the protagonists discover just how extraordinary is the boat unearthed on a North Dakota farm. Unfortunately, the book lets us down; at least it didn't live up to my expectations. It's fine to describe the diverse reactions of Americans to this sensational discovery, but that's almost all that goes on here. We long to encounter the aliens who left this artifact, or at least gets some glimpse of their purpose. We yearn to explore the new world opened by the Roundhouse. Alas, none of that ever happens. This becomes merely a study of human sociology. Maybe that's the only story the author wants to tell. On the other hand, if he has devoted a whole volume to setting up a sequel, it's too late for me. He's lost me as a reader.

posted by Anonymous on July 9, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2002

    All Prelude

    This book starts with a strong SF premise. The early chapters are riveting as the protagonists discover just how extraordinary is the boat unearthed on a North Dakota farm. Unfortunately, the book lets us down; at least it didn't live up to my expectations. It's fine to describe the diverse reactions of Americans to this sensational discovery, but that's almost all that goes on here. We long to encounter the aliens who left this artifact, or at least gets some glimpse of their purpose. We yearn to explore the new world opened by the Roundhouse. Alas, none of that ever happens. This becomes merely a study of human sociology. Maybe that's the only story the author wants to tell. On the other hand, if he has devoted a whole volume to setting up a sequel, it's too late for me. He's lost me as a reader.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Escapism

    As are all of Jack McDevitt's books, this is well written. He is not one of my favorite authors, but for someone who enjoys SciFi as opposed to Fantasy this would be a good book. It is a little off the wall and I prefer my SciFi to be more believeable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2009

    Waste of time

    Looking for hard sci-fi? This isn't it. It takes too long for anything interesting to develop, then once something interesting does develop, rather than exploring it McDevitt spends the rest of the novel introducing us to an endless string of completely unimportant characters for one page each, tells us how they feel about things, then abandons them. Right when the book starts to get interesting, it goes off track and never comes close to recovering.

    I'm a big McDevitt fan (love the Omega cloud series), but this novel was an utter waste of time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    I never saw THAT coming!

    I saw some of the plot twists developing but more often than not I slapped my forehead and said "I never saw THAT coming!" Intriguing, unique premise that I do not remember seeing in 50 years of reading Sci-Fi.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Um

    Hai iz dis da pwey shop?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Prey

    17 mice and birds at uncle remus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Saphirestar

    I would like ten voles five mice three foxes and three birds send them to dlarmes result two please thank you

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Duststar

    7mice and foxes plzz at seiji second result.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Blackstar from Rageclan

    4 mice, 5 voles, and 7 squirrels.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Not McDevitt's best, but worthwile.

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    "Stargate Lite" and The Economy

    First Impressions: I’ve read Jack’s “The Odyssey” and was mildly entertained. With that, I decided to explore his earlier novels including the stand-alone book Ancient Shores. A decent tale, but goes off on too many tangents to follow. Ending seemed rushed. Story & Plot: I enjoyed the build-up of the character Max, a man who was good with antique airplanes, had a military family history but shunned that route, deciding instead to restore old aircraft. The book makes a big deal of a horror accident where he could have saved but did not save a girl in a plane that exploded on a runway as a hapless man attempted to save her. From this we get that Max is not one to take chances or risks that would endanger himself. Later in the book this takes the form of his not defending the “Roundhouse” (an alien artifact that turns out to be a transporter to other worlds) from the USA which wants to destroy it in order to save the economy (a roundabout way of building that plot!). April, the Black scientist, who thought it sad that her retiring collegue got recognized for his work and then faded out, wanted fame and fortune and saw the sailboat found on a farm in North Dakota her ticket to ride. It’s a story of “be careful what you wish for.” And the author’s tendency to give the reader the complete rundown of each main character’s love life was a bit much and did not add to the overall plot. The book tends to go off on several tangents, telling stories of minor characters who are affected by the discovery of alien technology – some find religion, some radio minister makes money off it (not sure what the point of that was) and some want to blow the Roundhouse up (an odd account of a man who has a radio-controlled bomb in his truck and drives by someone who just happens to have the same frequency for his garage door opener – really?). There are some interesting points that are immediately dropped – who is this invisible alien who comes onto Earth? What happened to him? And the subplot of the Native American plot of land and how they’re repeating history by defending their land against the government was a fine opinion of exploitation and political ranting & raving, but highly unlikely. Bottom Line: As other reviewers have found, the book seemed to have a hard time finding its way until the end, where we finally get some closure – but a disappointing ending where we’re still left to wonder what about the other worlds out there – would the discovery of super-human technology actually crash the economy? I recommend reading his Nebula and Hugo award-winning tales instead. Ancient Shores, like Odyssey, are cute one-time novels that make a point of the human condition but leave the reader unsatisfied at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2002

    Very good book

    This book leaves you on the edge of your seat wnating to learn about the numerous secrets that are intwined carefully throughout this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2000

    Now THIS is a fascinating subject!

    This is indeed a fascinating subject, and McDevitt slowly (but not too slowly!) and carefully reveals more and more about the artifact that is found. McDevitt keeps the reader in suspense, right up to the end of the book where, frustratingly, the reader is left hanging. However, this book is ripe for at least one sequel and I hope Mr. McDevitt complies. The only problem I have with this book is that once again, McDevitt's main characters are irresponsible or inexperienced archaeologists who take no precautions and jump into things before thinking, naturally provoking mishaps and tragedies -- this makes the book difficult to read as I was constantly disgusted buy the impulsive, and at times juvenile, behavior of the main characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2