Customer Reviews for

Ancora

Average Rating 5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Songs were great, more so that it has a song with my name

    It was great music to drive and relax with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow, this is a classy foursome

    First time hearing this group sing I was blown away. It doesn't matter that I don't understand the language some of the songs are sung in,
    it really moves me. Have The Promise and Anora and listen to them in my car or having a quiet moment at home late in evening. Their style of music is moving, erotic and blend is fantastic. Hope this group is around for years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Outstanding.

    The songs of Il Divo are instant classics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Soared to the Top of the Charts and It's No Mystery Why!!!

    This album went to the top of the charts - #1, Numero Uno, in the United States. And, it's no mystery why either! In Italian, "Il Divo" means "divine male entertainer", and these guys deliver just that. Bringing classical operatic voices together to sing pop music and four men who look like Armani models make it perfectly clear why Il Divo keeps soaring. There is nothing else like them. And, I think this album, ANCORA, is the best. Superb! No other word for it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Il Divo Wows again!

    I have been a fan of the first CD and of Il Divo and have become addicted to this CD as well! David, Urs, Seb, and Carlos show why they deserve to be in this group - their breathtaking voices. Each voice adds something special to each song. This is good, romantic music that touches the heart. The variance of languages sounds beautiful and makes one want to learn the lyrics to sing along. "Isabel" and "Hasta Mi Final" are wonderful. I definitely recommend this CD! Il Divo also sounds amazing live!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My heart is all a twitter and I am full of goosebumps

    I first saw Il Divo on the Regis & Kelly show. I now have all their CD's and I wear a T-shirt with all their gorgeous faces on it. They were in Atlanta on June 18th. and I was so excited that my husband was willing to take me. I never enjoyed a concert more. Their CD's are all that I have in my car. Looking forward to another Il Divo CD soon. Too bad the rating does not go to 10. They deserve it. They are all dreamboats also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ARACELI,AN IL DIVO MUSIC LOVER

    IL DIVO BLOWS MY MIND. I LOVE THE WAY THEIR VOICES COMPLIMENT EACH OTHER, AND THEY ARE CUTE TOO.I GIVE THEM A 10+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pure Beauty and Talent

    This CD is more than amazing, for lack of a better word. If you thought IL DIVO the original was great, wait till you hear Ancora. The four men push their limits and really give it their all. And Celine, as always, is as sweet and powerful as ever. I give it 10 stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SHORTER THAN EXPECTED, THOUGH VOCALLY APPEALING

    I feel a little short-changed by this new Il Divo outing, as from the first CD, you got 13 tracks. Here, there are only 10. I expected as much from their Christmas CD being 10 tracks, but I expected the same amount as the first CD or more on Ancora. The vocals of the four men are still outstanding, but I also was disappointed about the lack of variety of languages like on the first disc. Not that I dislike it, I would expect more than a majority of Spanish material in comparison to the first CD, which feature Spanish, Italian, English, etc. It also seems that with the lovely duet with Celine Dion (her solo and the boy's vocals are superb together), there is a "Celine" theme going on here. All By Myself is mainly her arrangement (she also did it in Spanish, as well as English), and the last French track was a Celine hit. Vocal technique and orchestrations are still top notch, but a bit skimpy on amount and variety. Even the overseas version does not have extra tracks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    IL DIVO WOW!!!

    I first heard them on Good Morning America and I went strait to my computer to buy the album. They sounded just fantastic!!! This is all I listen to in my car now. I can't get enough of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    If it's a Freedom of Choice I choose Il Divo!

    These guys were great back in the 70's and 80's, but now they've really reinvented themselves. The fancy suits, stylish hair, new language, and smooth stylings gives this remade band five power domes! This is a great album, but I still miss the original stylings of "Whip it," "Freedom of Choice," and "Beautiful World." But it's nice to hear them branching out to the Spanish, middle-of-the-road, adult-contemporary market.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic!

    Urs, Carlos, Sebastien and David are back and they are as amazing as ever. There is something about a man (or four) singing in French that makes a woman melt. The duet with Celine Dion is lovely and the haunting Spanish "Aranjuez" will stay with the listener long after the music stops. "Isabel" is also beautiful. The harmonies are exquisite and you can feel the passion of the men of Il Divo as well as their camaraderie. I can't wait for the next album. These guys are truly the best of the best in the world of classical meets pop meets opera. Long may they reign!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1