BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

And Another Thing... (Hitchhiker's Guide Series #6)

Average Rating 3.5
( 125 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Blew my expectations away.

Colfer is really adept at channeling Adams' voice and style (which must be exhausting). He is-thankfully-a tad lighter in overall mood than Adams' dark, brooding 5th novel. This book is brilliant-head and shoulders above most everything else out there-but there was only...
Colfer is really adept at channeling Adams' voice and style (which must be exhausting). He is-thankfully-a tad lighter in overall mood than Adams' dark, brooding 5th novel. This book is brilliant-head and shoulders above most everything else out there-but there was only one Douglas Adams. Colfer himself has said as much. Adams was a scientist disguised as a writer Colfer is definitely a very, very gifted and brilliant writer-but not scientist material. I can't think of anyone else who could have captured Adams' essence better. Even the tempo is astonishingly Douglas-ish. His vicious satire is absolutely spot-on, though with something one might say resembles a bit more of a silver lining.
In the end a very worthy book that blends together into the previous storyline astonishingly well.

posted by Eynigma on October 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

And another thing - I wouldn't read it a second time

I REALLY wanted to like this book, as I had enjoyed the previous ones (the first 3 were the best) and liked the original radio series when it was broadcast by NPR in the early 1980's, and the extended radio series of a few years ago. It never took off for me. I never ...
I REALLY wanted to like this book, as I had enjoyed the previous ones (the first 3 were the best) and liked the original radio series when it was broadcast by NPR in the early 1980's, and the extended radio series of a few years ago. It never took off for me. I never laughed out loud while reading it, and found it a bit of a chore to finish.

I've had no previous experience with Eoin Colfer, so I had no bias at the start, and I did not read other reviews before purchasing.

posted by 479523 on January 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Blew my expectations away.

    Colfer is really adept at channeling Adams' voice and style (which must be exhausting). He is-thankfully-a tad lighter in overall mood than Adams' dark, brooding 5th novel. This book is brilliant-head and shoulders above most everything else out there-but there was only one Douglas Adams. Colfer himself has said as much. Adams was a scientist disguised as a writer Colfer is definitely a very, very gifted and brilliant writer-but not scientist material. I can't think of anyone else who could have captured Adams' essence better. Even the tempo is astonishingly Douglas-ish. His vicious satire is absolutely spot-on, though with something one might say resembles a bit more of a silver lining.
    In the end a very worthy book that blends together into the previous storyline astonishingly well.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    And another thing - I wouldn't read it a second time

    I REALLY wanted to like this book, as I had enjoyed the previous ones (the first 3 were the best) and liked the original radio series when it was broadcast by NPR in the early 1980's, and the extended radio series of a few years ago. It never took off for me. I never laughed out loud while reading it, and found it a bit of a chore to finish.

    I've had no previous experience with Eoin Colfer, so I had no bias at the start, and I did not read other reviews before purchasing.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A pale imitation

    This book tries very hard to live up to the original Hitchhiker's books, but it is painfully obvious that Douglas Adams didn't write this one. The characters are the same, but it lacks the wit and sparkle that Adams brought to his galaxy.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Tolerable

    This is the sixth book in the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy "trilogy." Eoin Colfer does a tolerable job of maintaining the tone of the original Douglas Adams HHGTTG (though he uses more profanity than Adams). The storyline is pretty good, giving some sarcastic/perceptive social commentary like the rest of the books. In my opinion, Colfer's promotion of Wowbagger the Infinitely Prolonged and Thor to major characters makes them far less amusing than they were in the original series. Overall, I'd say this was a decent effort, but you aren't missing too much if you skip it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Not really thee best

    I do appreciate the effort at continuing a dead author's series, but it seemed a bit too afraid to do something new. AAT promotes some small jokes to central plot points, which lost the charm, and then it ends at a cliffhanger that attempts to disguise itself as a series finale. Not terrible, but just doesn't hold up in comparison to the first five books and movie. Ddon't read unless you'rejust too curious about this... Thing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    A great sequel to a great series by a great author

    Funny, neat, imaginative. Must buy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    Entertaining!

    The only thing I wished was different was the part about Fenchurch.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    Really worth reading

    Here is the sixth, and latest, installment in the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy "trilogy," created by Douglas Adams. It was also published with the approval of Adams' widow.

    Arthur Dent has made his way back to Earth, but it isn't "his" Earth. The Vogons, with the extremely bad poetry, are working on destroying all possible versions of Earth, so Arthur must take off, again. Ford Prefect, writer for the Guide, and Zaphod Beeblebrox, former president of the Galaxy, are still around. Tricia McMillan is a former TV reporter who ran away with Zaphod, just before the Earth was destroyed. She changed her name to Trillian, and used some of Arthur's DNA to have Random, a daughter. Random is very smart, and has taken teenage surliness to new levels.

    A small remnant of humanity has made its way to a planet called Nano, run by an Irish property developer named Hunter Hillman. He feels that the humans need a god to worship. The Norse God Thor is one of the applicants. A being named Wowbagger travels around the galaxy handing out insults on various planets. What follows is a titanic battle involving Wowbagger, Thor and a cheese-based deity.

    For die-hard fans of the series, concerned that no one could do it like Adams, relax. Colfer is a veteran author who knows what he is doing, and it shows here. For those new to the series, read one or two of the early books first, and then read this. It's really worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    We may have lost Douglas Adams, but we will never loose The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy and the quirky characters he introduced us to.

    I enjoyed this book because it is the continuing story that Douglas Adams might have written if he'd lived long enough to continue the story. Possibly the book he did write in another universe where the Vogons are about to blow up yet another Earth.

    Eoin Colfer channeled Douglas Adams using a voice and characters that fit perfectly into the world that fans of The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy recognize and love. Just as Doulas Adams would, Colfer has created a collection of new characters to provide disastrous repercussions to anything the least bit positive in Arthur's life. Really, we know, Arthur wants a nice cup of tea, a kind and loving family, and to never have to leave earth or deal with another multi-appendaged, off-colored, non-Earth based being again. After all that has happened, Arthur would prefer to be bored, or possibly back on his beach making sandwiches. This is the next installment of The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy and I hope that there are more adventures on more worlds with more random members of the vast pantheon of myths and legends of both Earth and the other planets in our little galaxy. I'm sure Arthur would disagree.


    What happens when the Vogons figure out that Earth exists in alternate universes after Arther, Trillian, and their traveling companions have found a good pub on one of them? How does the Norse god Thor regain some of his past glory competing with cheese? Can a marriage work between a galactic president and a necklace hamster? Two out of three of these questions are answered in Eoin Colfer's And Another Thing. which is filled with all of the random tidbits of information one might expect from book 6 of 3 of The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy. I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another GOOD Thing...

    I probably rated this book a little higher than I would otherwise have just by dint of the fact that it was not written by Douglas Adams. And yet, had I hot seen the cover, had I not known that Adams was dead, I would never have know it wasn't him.

    In that alone, this book was astounding. There are some style differences if you're looking for them, but it is otherwise as though Eoin Colfer was channeling the spirit of Adams. Colfer manages to his the cadence, the humor and the out there nature of Adams, and I truly believe that no one could have done the great Douglas Adams more credit.

    And since the story fits, the characters fit and the humor and writing is spot on... In my mind it has already become a permanent member of the series. This book is a must read for any fan of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2009

    Awesome Book!

    I was so totally psyched when I heard that a new Hitcher's book was out. I read it and I just say that it is completely amaxing. Colfer goes way and beyond what can be expected of an author taking up Douglas Adams' classic series. Now there are naysayers that say that this book is well "not good" but forget them, they don't no jack.
    It starts great, and is truly faithful to the series. To top it off the book does not imply that it is the end. So I'm hoping.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Good book

    AWESOME!!! Good going colfer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Beeblebrox. Just be glad he¿s out there.  This is the first book

    Beeblebrox. Just be glad he’s out there. 
    This is the first book for adults written by Eoin Colfer, writer of the Artemis Fowl series; This is the first sequel to the Hitchhiker’s Guide that has been written since Douglas Adams’ death in 2001.
    As fans of the series know, Douglas Adams writes with a singular voice, distinct, I think, from any other writer I’ve read. It’s astounding to me that Colfer has been able to channel Adams’ tone and wit to such a degree that I find the differences to be imperceptible. I don’t know if Douglas Adams left any notes behind about future Hitchhiker’s novels, but this one nestles in perfectly with the series.
    I don’t think this replacement author gets enough credit for attempting to fill the shoes of the original creator. This has to be a difficult and cosmically unfair task, but Colfer nails it. This is a great book, and worthy to be part six of three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Awesome

    I am going to buy this book immediately.I love Eoin Colfer and THGTTG. Mow that they are combined ,I am so happy. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Estate of dead author trying to squeeze one more dollar out of corpse.

    A pretty weak story made more irritating by the constant interruptions by the Hitchhikers Guide.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    I got this book for only a dollar

    I cant really compare this book to the others as I have not finished So Long and Thanks for All the Fish or any of the stories after. I was first introduced to HITCHHIKERS when the movie came out and rather enjoyed it. When I finally came across the books I was stoked. I found THE ULTIMATE HITCHHIKERS GUIDE at my local Salvation Army and picked it up for 20¿. What I have read from the orignal series I love. When I came across AND ANOTHER THING... at Dollar Tree I had to get it hell it was only a dollar. I was going to wait to read it until I was finished with the first books, alot of good that did. Once I started to read it I couldn't put it down. I enjoyed the Guide Notes and thought they were a good addition. Eoin Colfer did a great job at capturing Adams' spirit. Hope I can buckle down and finish the first books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    Funny but overly familiar

    Like a lot of people, i reacted to the news that Eoin Colfer had been tapped to write a follow-on to Douglas Adams' "Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy" quintrilogy with equal amounts of "That might be cool" and "What the holy heck?" Having finally worked up the courage to approach And Another Thing with what I hoped was an open mind, my status report changes to "That was definitely cool" and "What the holy heck?"

    Colfer does a fairly amazing job of channeling the spirit and storytelling style of Adams, creating a tale that nicely balances the funny with the self-referential absurdism that raised Adams' work above the level of mere comedy. There's no question that And Another Thing fits well into the the ongoing series, and the open ending leaves hope that Colfer has more to say regarding Adams' characters (and that Adams' estate wants to let him say it). However, a part of that fit stems from the book being of a piece with Adams' last two HHG efforts, "So Long and Thanks for All the Fish" and "Mostly Harmless" -- which means that it holds up less well in comparison to the original "Hitchhiker's Guide" and "Restaurant at the End of the Universe", and positively pales in comparison to "Life, the Universe, and Everything".

    That third book in the series marked the first time that Adams delved into original storyline for the HHG saga, and it remains the best and freshest of the books for that reason. With books four and five, Adams seemed to be working from the perspective of being afraid to continue to push in the wholly new directions of "LtUaE", creating amazing new ideas but then scaling them back from some apparent lack of trust of his own instincts. "And Another Thing" carries that feeling of uncertainty, and though the book is funny and enjoyable at every turn, it feels a little too familiar in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Not bad but not good either

    Good reading during a long power out
    I read the hitchhikers guide series back in middle school and loved it. Over a decade later I dont know if my sense of humor has matured or if colfer just isnt as good as adams. Maybe if this was just a book in the hitchhiker style it would have been a three star or more but i think its a bit of a shameful addition to the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    Same new, same old

    Colfer seems to have caught the style and humor of the original five books. It's entertaining and inventive. The price is 9.17 when I am writing this, but worth every penny. Colfer has really nailed how to write this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2010

    And another thing...one thing too many

    This author of this book obviously has diligently read the original 1st 5 books of the series written by Douglas Adams. It is obvious that he determined the ingredients and forumla for such a book. And that is how it reads, like it was created with a recipe "take previous characters, mix in action, spice liberally with Guide quotes and non-sequitor segues and make sure you finish by screwing Arthur Dent in the end".

    The book focuses too much on what were previously background and secondary characters (Zaphod and Trillian) and seems to forget that the original series is mostly about Arthur Dent and his attempts to cope with the new reality. He is almost completely ignored in this book.

    In the author's defense, Douglas Adams last book in the series wasn't too good either.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7