Customer Reviews for

And One Last Thing ...

Average Rating 4.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely Hilarious!

    What can I say about this book other than I thought it was fan(insert word of choice)ing-tastic? I loved every minute of it and although I was rushing for the conclusion, I was sad to see it end.

    The general premise was excellent - - haven't we all fantasized about a special kind of payback for those who have done us wrong? Lacey's decision to share her husband Mike's shortcomings via the Internet was inspired and laugh out loud funny.

    And this was why I was so fond of Lacey, I think. She was a strong, determined woman (but with some obvious weaknesses) who, at the end of the day, could be you or me. She was hurt, she was angry, she acted rashly (but again, it was humorous) and while she dreamt of physically hurting her husband, or at the very least, burning his possessions, she didn't actually follow through with it. I felt sympathy for her and I hurt for this character, even knowing that she was better off without her cad of a husband.

    I also thoroughly took pleasure in the characters of Emmett, Lacey's antique shop owner brother who is fond of cutting her hair while she sleeps, as well as providing her with slasher flicks to cheer her up, and Maya, an entrepreneur who wants to go into business with Lacey, writing biting and sarcastic divorce newsletters and greeting cards for every occasion, aptly titled "Season's Gratings". In fact, I got such a kick out of Maya, she would be a fun and apt character to center a book around. Just in case author Molly Harper is reading this . . .

    While I eventually liked the character of Monroe, it did take me a bit to warm up to him and I was happy to see that he wasn't the stereotypical "sexy man next door" written just to provide Lacey with an outlet and a reason to get back on her feet. Monroe's family was a hoot and their scenes were too brief in their hilarity.

    This was my first book by Molly Harper, although I had heard of her Nice Girls Don't series. I loved her writing style evidenced in And One Last Thing. Light, breezy and yet emotion packed, reading Lacey's narrative was akin to having a heart to heart with a girlfriend. I sped through this book and it left me wanting more. Revisiting Lacey, should Ms. Harper ever want to write a sequel of sorts, would be a delight.

    I am thrilled I was able to read and review this book. I will absolutely, positively be looking for Ms. Harper's books in the future to put in my reading rotation if And One Last Thing is an example of her writing style and wonderfully detailed characters. I would not hesitate to recommend this book to any and all. Be prepared to stay up late to follow Lacey and ready yourself for some serious belly laughs.

    (From my blog)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    You have to read this

    *This book is one of the best that i have read in awhile and i read a lot so if your looking for a great read and want to go through all the emotions than you need to read this one*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    Lacey Terwilliger just discovered her husband's affair. He accidentally sent his mistress, aka his personal assistant, flowers and had them delivered to his home address. Lacey, quite stunned and in disbelief, hightails it to her husband's office only to witness their affair first hand.

    So what does Lacey do? She writes about her cheating husband's extramarital trysts. I forgot to mention, she writes them in his company's newsletters and emails these newsletters to his clients, family and their close friends. Needless to say, this does not go over well and Lacey quickly realizes she acted purely out of emotion. She retreats to her family's cabin to reflect on their marriage and herself. It's there that she meets Monroe, the quiet, loner "I don't like divorce drama" man who encourages Lacey to pick herself up, dust herself off and begin again.

    And One Last Thing. is about a woman who acts impulsively out of emotion (and humiliation) and thinks about the consequences later. Despite her irrational decision to write and send the newsletters, Lacey is a woman that the readers will immediately love. Early on it's obvious her husband Mike doesn't deserve her. He treats her more like his girl Friday instead of his wife. By the end of the novel, I liked that Lacey fought hard to gain her identity back and was given a second chance for happiness.

    Ms. Harper is a new-to-me author. I enjoyed And One Last Thing. so much, that I'm looking forward to reading more of her books. Highly recommended.

    4.5 Stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Nice surprise

    A tiny taste of Stephanie Plum;
    and thankfully, not the tried and true Happy Ending.
    I'm not into her other genres of Fangs and things, but
    would read her again otherwise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Very touching story

    I really enjoyed this story. I laughed, cried, and awwed myself silly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another five shining bright stars for Molly Harper, who can ente

    Another five shining bright stars for Molly Harper, who can entertain,
    humor, tell a wickedly delicious story, and actually have real depth
    with her plots. If you haven't gotten on the Harper bandwagon yet, my
    only question is: WHY NOT? And One Last Thing . . . had me in stitches,
    nearly crying, and nodding my head at how spot on this story is. After
    being in love with Harper's paranormal books, this was a different
    change of pace. However, Harper keeps up the witty remarks, fun
    characters, and over-all sense of feeling as if everything is happening
    to you. Only if I was that funny. I think what really made me love this
    book in particular was the fact I'd gone through a divorce myself, and
    if I had it to do all over again, I would have sent out a hilarious and
    not-the-least-bit contrite newsletter to all our friends/family. As far
    as the narration, Amanda Ronconi is quickly becoming one of my favorite
    narrators. It's Ronconi's voice and characterization that gives all of
    Harper's books that little extra bump. She has such a finesse with
    brining books alive that I don't know if reading Harper's books will
    ever be the same without Ronconi's voice. Keep on writing, Molly, for I
    am forever your loyal book-reading servant. Same goes for Amanda,
    because I'll buy just about any book she narrates!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Hard to put down!

    Love the humor in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Wonderful book

    This was a great book! Made me want to cry in some places and laugh at the main character's wit though out this story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    loved it

    sweet and happy book wit a hint of real life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    FUN READ!

    Seriously funny! I loved every witty minute of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One funny chapter does not a good book make

    I agree with the other reviewers on the hilarity of Lacey's email newsletter revenge - however, I found that to be the first and last funny part of the book. I'm not saying the rest of the book wasn't good, it just wasn't that funny. Many parts became predictable, and some were dry and lacking. I just didn't find this book to be in Harper's usual style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Excellent, light read!

    Laugh out loud funny! Very entertaining! Great summer read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    Very funny

    Love this.great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Laugh out loud funny!

    Lacey Terwilliger starts out the novel learning that her husband is having an affair with his secretary...and that the entire town, her mother included, already knew. Rather than throw herself a pity party, however, Lacey, ever the dutiful wife, puts out one last newsletter for her accountant husband. Via email. In which she reveals all of his dirty, nasty, secrets to more than 200 of his friends, family, clients, and business associates. Needing a quick exit, Lacey decides to hide out at the remote lakeside cabin her grandmother had left her while her lawyer irons out the divorce wrinkles and deals with the defamation lawsuit that both her soon-to-be-ex and his lovely assistant have slapped her with. Despite Lacey's determination to have a strict no-penis policy, she is instantly attracted to her Wolverine lookalike neighbor (honestly, who wouldn't be?) and naturally, once she starts ignoring him, he is interested as well. Lacey isn't ready for a real relationship, however, and has a lot of growing up and self-discovery to do before she is. It's a fun ride, though, as she gets to that point. Seriously, I'm glad no one else was in the car while I listened to her attempts to write a sex scene for her novel. I was laughing so hard it was darn near embarassing. Molly Harper's novels should probably come with a warning label!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    Now That's Funny!!!

    Molly Harper has a way of taking the "been there - done that" reality of life and making it hysterical! This book is one you will laugh over for a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    must read

    Molly Harper is a great writer I always laugh out loud when I am reading her if you havent yet you have to read her Jane Jameson series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    Quite possibly the funniest damn book I've ever read

    Seriously, I had to stop several times just to get the tears from my eyes for laughing so hard. I love Lacey--I think if she were real, we'd be good friends. Monroe is awesome--I love that he doesn't just back down from her, and he pushes her. Emmette is awesome in his own rights too. I know there aren't plans for a sequel but I'd personally love to see these characters again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Easy read, laugh out loud humor, weak ending

    This was my first Molly Harper book. Even though I was very entertained with the humor of the writing, I was somewhat disappointed with the dialogue structure several times (some parts read like a B movie script)and the weak, rather predictable book ending. It seemed as though Ms. Harper ran out of steam toward the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Book

    This book was so funny and cute I couldnt put it down. I got through this book really fast and couldnt stop laughing. Another good one, three cheers to Molly Harper!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    Husbands who lie and cheat. How should a woman retaliate? For Lacey, this is achieved by sending out a blast email tell all about her husband and his crimes against her heart.

    She decides to stay at her family's cabin for some peace and quiet to deal with her current situation. She ends up meeting Monroe who may not be a knight in shining armor but when it comes down to it, he is exactly what Lacey needs.

    This is a fun, fluffy book that can be read in one sitting. I'm a sucker for romantic comedies and this book was no exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4