Customer Reviews for

And Only to Deceive (Lady Emily Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 166 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A perfect book to disappear into

In addition to being a chocoholic I am also - let's face it - a bookaholic. Purchasing Tasha Alexander's "And Only to Deceive" and Tracy Grant's "Secrets of a Lady" was completely and utterly compulsory. I admit it. I don't even have the decency to feel bad about it. Wh...
In addition to being a chocoholic I am also - let's face it - a bookaholic. Purchasing Tasha Alexander's "And Only to Deceive" and Tracy Grant's "Secrets of a Lady" was completely and utterly compulsory. I admit it. I don't even have the decency to feel bad about it. When the books came in I went through a few agonizing moments, trying to decide which one to read first. As a true statistician, I resorted to a coin toss. Tasha won.

Just to give you an idea: the evening I started reading the book came after two grueling weeks of constant fire-fighting at work (even the statistical nerds get job crises), a day of back-to-back meetings and an hour-long drive home (this was my one-per-week office day, but trust me - one is enough). My husband was watching something violent, with shooting, explosions and hostages - I didn't care... It's been a long time since I disappeared into a book like that, and I relished every moment of it.

Tasha Alexander may not be the right author and Lady Emily Ashton - the right character for you. I can only wish that you find one that resonates as well with your personality as "And Only to Deceive" had resonated with mine.

posted by MariaIK on April 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Starts out strong, becomes illogical and unbelievable.

I enjoy stories about the regency and victorian periods in England and this story had a very strong beginning, protraying a young widow who matured after her husband's death, and whose character and independent spirit came out strongly although somewhat unorthodox behav...
I enjoy stories about the regency and victorian periods in England and this story had a very strong beginning, protraying a young widow who matured after her husband's death, and whose character and independent spirit came out strongly although somewhat unorthodox behavior for Victorian society. The unbelievable last 2/3 of the book was that after she had belatedly fallen in love with her deceased husband, discovering him to be a worthwhile person she had barely known, she then DOUBTS him based on unsubstantiated tales from his 'friends' and then BELIEVES any flimsy story that he might still be ALIVE. This is totally illogical with the first third of the book. In addition, her instant 'maturity' after only 6 months of marriage and widowhood, having lived her whole life with her parents is also somewhat unbelievable. Suddenly she knows her own mind extremely well, she moves in society she was barely introduced to, manages servants and a house, knows fashion, and she decides to live in Paris, where she is an instant social success. Just a little too much to swallow.......

posted by Anonymous on February 27, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Plot a little obvious but an enjoyable read anyway!

    The overall plot was good, but a little transparent...it became a little obvious who was supposed to be the villain fairly early on. Lady Emily herself was flat at times but became interesting as she discovered what it was that she wanted. I really liked the fact that she decided to do the detective work herself without relying on the men in her world. I do look forward to reading more of this series though.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2013

    The first "Lady Emily" book got me hooked!!!!!!!!!!

    The first "Lady Emily" book got me hooked!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Enjoyed this book so much I have now read 2, 3 and 4.

    Well written. History and culture and geography well coordinated

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful start to a great series

    I didn't really expect this book to get me hooked but surprise! Tasha Alexander (no relation) has a way of taking you back in time. The heroine, Lady Emily Ashton, is a young woman who has to endure all the challenges that Victorian era society has to offer. Murder is thrown in the mix. Lady Emily is a very spunky, curious and determined to live to the fullest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    Good

    Enjoyed it a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Love this series! Well worth the time. I live the Lady Emily series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    Whirlwind of Victorian Suspense

    The subtitle "A Novel of Suspense" is certainly no lie here. This delightfully Victorian novel whisks the reader into the world of Lady Emily Ashton. Lady Emily is rich, beautiful, and fiercely independent. Her journey takes the reader from London to Paris to Greece, and gives us lively characters and a suspenseful story to intrigue us. It is truly enjoyable to follow Lady Emily as she discovers some wonderful, some starling facts about her dead husband, Philip Ashton, whom she barely knew before he passed away and attempts to discern the puzzle he left behind. The only thing lacking in this book would be in the character of Colin Hargreaves. Although he is a handsome, intelligent man, his character is not as strong as one would hope the suitor of Lady Emily might be. This is altogether an enjoyable book, and the next in the Lady Emily series is definitely on my reading list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    Great Read

    Good read- I have not previously read anyting by this author, and the book was on the buy one get one table, but it was surprisingly enjoyable. Short, sweet, but absolutely entertaining. I like the characters and the plot. Will def pick up the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Engaging

    Well written, engaging and intelligent characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Take a trip to Victorian England...

    ... you won't be sorry. I purchased the first book of the series because I enjoy the genre. What is great about the story is that it has a very real heroine who struggles with the same roadblocks that 21st Century women do. I like Emily's strong will and Ms. Alexander works it beautifully - in first person POV which can be troublesome at times but it really reads well in this book. There's not a boring character - even Emily's husband who is dead, is interesting. What can we say about the plot? Great elements! I really wanted Emily's husband to be alive! I wanted her to find him! And I was also deceived by her suitors - good and bad. A great read and I'm definitely going to purchase the others in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    all for money...

    I admit that when I first purchased the three books in this series, I had no idea what to expect. Little did I know, I was in for a thrill ride with a love story enfolded within. It was quite touching yet sad how Lady Emily began to develop feelings for her late husband after discovering who I truly was, especially after having married him without knowledge of his true character left her void of any attachments when he passed away. It was quite shocking how the story begins to unfold itself, I absolutely loved Lady Emily's mindset and her determination to not bend to society's rules. The people that she befriends along they way are special in their own ways, and each have their own unique personality that supports Lady Emily's character. At first, this story was just supposed to be a pass time, but I got so wrapped up in the story that I could not put it down. I finished it in less than 48 hours, which is rare for me unless it truly is a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Enjoyable read

    I love a good mystery and really enjoyed the uniqueness of starting out with the heroine as a widow. Tosha Alexader is very engaging in her writing style. You would never know she was not a native Englishwoman. Her use of historical events are well placed and informative as well as entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Story but Ebook Missing Text

    Alexander seems to know her history and art. As a writer, I was delighted to find the "History Behind the Story" section that includes a little about how Alexander tackled the story, some of the facts involved, and a list of further reading suggestions. This was a light suspense, which suited my tastes (not much on the mystery genre) and the witty humor was fun to read. It was not a cheesy romance and the intellect on Greek artifacts added to its credit. I enjoyed this enough that I think I will read the other books in the series. My only complaints are on writing style and ebook format. First, Alexander writes a lot (and I mean a lot) of dialogue with very little description. I often didn't feel like I knew what the characters looked like and would have loved a better painted picture of the beautiful cities. As for ebook format - buyers be forewarned that my copy was missing text in at least four locations throughout. I have sent an email to customer service about this in hopes of finding a solution. You may want to pick up the physical book in this case, although it is the first out of five ebooks I've purchased and read to have this issue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    Charming!

    This is a delightful light mystery with engaging characters. Lady Emily is an Elizabeth Bennett of sorts - lively and clever. The settings in Victorian London and Paris are vividly described. There are enough twists and turns to keep the plot from being predictable. It reminded me of Agatha Christie stories in that all of the possible suspects are presented with possible motives and you may quess who did it but you are never quite sure until the end. I have ordered the sequels and look forward to a pleasant afternoon reading them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Delightful

    I found this book not a page turner or particularly deep and yet, I enjoyed it and will keep it as part of my permanent library. Tasha Alexander has a delightful writing style and her main character, Emily, is refreshing for the time period in which this story is developed. I was disappointed to discover the villain quite early in the novel and found the relationship with Emily and her mother frustrating and amusing. I loved that the ending was not typical. Good characters, decent plot, and a very good read for a rainy day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2007

    What a fun read!!!

    I love this book. Whoever enjoy this era, this is a great book. Clevery written. Love the style of her writing. Cannot wait to read her next book. Difficult to stop reading at times. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3