Customer Reviews for

And Only to Deceive (Lady Emily Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 167 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A perfect book to disappear into

In addition to being a chocoholic I am also - let's face it - a bookaholic. Purchasing Tasha Alexander's "And Only to Deceive" and Tracy Grant's "Secrets of a Lady" was completely and utterly compulsory. I admit it. I don't even have the decency to feel bad about it. Wh...
In addition to being a chocoholic I am also - let's face it - a bookaholic. Purchasing Tasha Alexander's "And Only to Deceive" and Tracy Grant's "Secrets of a Lady" was completely and utterly compulsory. I admit it. I don't even have the decency to feel bad about it. When the books came in I went through a few agonizing moments, trying to decide which one to read first. As a true statistician, I resorted to a coin toss. Tasha won.

Just to give you an idea: the evening I started reading the book came after two grueling weeks of constant fire-fighting at work (even the statistical nerds get job crises), a day of back-to-back meetings and an hour-long drive home (this was my one-per-week office day, but trust me - one is enough). My husband was watching something violent, with shooting, explosions and hostages - I didn't care... It's been a long time since I disappeared into a book like that, and I relished every moment of it.

Tasha Alexander may not be the right author and Lady Emily Ashton - the right character for you. I can only wish that you find one that resonates as well with your personality as "And Only to Deceive" had resonated with mine.

posted by MariaIK on April 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Starts out strong, becomes illogical and unbelievable.

I enjoy stories about the regency and victorian periods in England and this story had a very strong beginning, protraying a young widow who matured after her husband's death, and whose character and independent spirit came out strongly although somewhat unorthodox behav...
I enjoy stories about the regency and victorian periods in England and this story had a very strong beginning, protraying a young widow who matured after her husband's death, and whose character and independent spirit came out strongly although somewhat unorthodox behavior for Victorian society. The unbelievable last 2/3 of the book was that after she had belatedly fallen in love with her deceased husband, discovering him to be a worthwhile person she had barely known, she then DOUBTS him based on unsubstantiated tales from his 'friends' and then BELIEVES any flimsy story that he might still be ALIVE. This is totally illogical with the first third of the book. In addition, her instant 'maturity' after only 6 months of marriage and widowhood, having lived her whole life with her parents is also somewhat unbelievable. Suddenly she knows her own mind extremely well, she moves in society she was barely introduced to, manages servants and a house, knows fashion, and she decides to live in Paris, where she is an instant social success. Just a little too much to swallow.......

posted by Anonymous on February 27, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A perfect book to disappear into

    In addition to being a chocoholic I am also - let's face it - a bookaholic. Purchasing Tasha Alexander's "And Only to Deceive" and Tracy Grant's "Secrets of a Lady" was completely and utterly compulsory. I admit it. I don't even have the decency to feel bad about it. When the books came in I went through a few agonizing moments, trying to decide which one to read first. As a true statistician, I resorted to a coin toss. Tasha won.

    Just to give you an idea: the evening I started reading the book came after two grueling weeks of constant fire-fighting at work (even the statistical nerds get job crises), a day of back-to-back meetings and an hour-long drive home (this was my one-per-week office day, but trust me - one is enough). My husband was watching something violent, with shooting, explosions and hostages - I didn't care... It's been a long time since I disappeared into a book like that, and I relished every moment of it.

    Tasha Alexander may not be the right author and Lady Emily Ashton - the right character for you. I can only wish that you find one that resonates as well with your personality as "And Only to Deceive" had resonated with mine.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Really enjoyable read

    I really enjoy a book that is not your typical Romance. I enjoyed exploring the character and her journey in life.
    Also a wonderful depiction of the social rules during the time peroid.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Wonderful independent woman

    Great book.....looking forward to the rest of the series. Well written, love her independence and romance is lovely....add to that a mystery and all is well. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Loved it

    T.S. has become one of my favorite authors and Lady Emily is now a friend in my head

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Love it!!!!

    Very good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Loved thisbook!

    I greatly enjoyed the evolution of Lady Emily from a conventional noblewoman to an independent person. I think it's quite true that a woman marrying very young and with no real experience of life can't love someone else because she doesn't know who she is yet. Lady Emily's story shows her maturation into a woman of charcter and determination. How sad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Excellent period read.

    I loved this book. It had romance and mystery. I loved how Emily's character developed throughout the story. Story would be somewhat implausible set in modern times, but set in Victorian times it is a winner. The author really shows a gift for understanding Emily's place in her society. My new favorite author, must read the whole series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Recommend the series!

    I bought this book because one of the BN staff recommended #5 of the series. I always like to read a series from the beginning and am hooked on this series. Have already read books 1 and 2 and am reading #3 now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    Surprisingly Wonderful!

    I honestly was not expecting much from this book so I was shocked when it became a can't put down, rush out for the rest of the series book. The characters were great and I loved Lady Emily - she was so relatable and someone I couldn't stop rooting for! Great book to pick up for a rainy day or to keep you company by the pool!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An Outstanding Find

    I didn't really know what to expect when I picked up this book. After reading the first few chapters, I was drawn into a world that I didn't want to leave. Love, romance, mystery, friendship. Tasha Alexander has done an outstanding job on this book. And just think, I've only finished book one!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    And Only To Deceive By Tasha Alexander

    It was a great book and I liked the mystery the main character had to solve. With that she also was finding out the mystery of her husband Philip who died. Both mysteries in a way were tied together made the plot of the story more interesting. It gave the character more depth to her personality. I also liked that the main character was a woman since most mysteries that I read the character are more men then woman. Especially the era this book is set in. From reading And Only To Deceive I would read the series of the books, to find out what happens to Emily. I especially think it good for giving to someone since my sister told me about the book in the first place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    so glad I found this series!

    I love the historical style books and especially if there is a 'mystery' involved. The characters are believable and appropriate and there is plenty of engrossing detail. You think you know where this story is going but there are many curves along the way that keep it interesting and make you second guess your assumptions. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book!

    This was my first historical era mystery and I must say I enjoyed it very much. It had a great storyline and was a little on the romantic side. Good buy for me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent!

    I have only recently been getting into mystery novels, and this one is a wonderful additon to my new love for them. If you love period settings, mystery, and a bit of romance, you will love this book. The author appears to have a good understanding of the victorian era and I detected no flaws. I have to say that I was spot on when Emily was uncovering the "guilty party" but that doesn't mean that it was any less exciting. I could have very well been wrong and that's the fun! I can't wait to dive into Ms. Alexander's next novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Suspenseful with a Great Plot

    There are three books in this series and all of them are great. I would recommend reading them in order, although it isn't necessary. Set in Europe in the 1800s, this is a good book for historical fiction lovers. Emily Ashton, a young woman who rejects society rules of the time, is suddenly thrown into the role of detective to uncover the truth about her late husband's death. Mysterious, suspenseful, and romantic, it's a quick read that is very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Couldn't put it down

    I normally only get to read during my lunch break, however I couldn't put this book down so I took it home for the weekend and gave up tv. Absolutly wonderful! It was easy to read. You were kept guessing until close to the end. The ending was not the classic one you would expect either. I have already ordered the sequal and hope it lives up to the first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2008

    Great!

    And Only to Deceive is the great first installment of the Lady Emily Ashton series. Emily married Philip just to get away from her overbearing mother. Now two years after his death Emily starts to come to know Philip through his journal. What she finds surprises her, Philip was deeply in love with her and was also a Greek antiquities collector who may have also had connections to a ring of art forgers. The mystery deepens as Emily searches for the truth. I could not put this book down and I am waiting eagerly for more in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2007

    Amazing

    I bought this book the week before I went on vacation. I was taking another book along that I was already into and wasn't expecting to really touch this book. I was wrong! I started reading the book and I couldn't stop. It had everything I love about a book: the historical aspect, the strong lead heroine, and a mystery to solve. I read through the book for hours everyday, I didn't want to put it down even while I ate. Then I found myself almost to the end and I started reading slowly because I didn't want the story to end. I loved how it ended. I'm glad Lady Emily stuck to her views, and was also able to enjoy her own vacation. I cannot wait for the next book by Alexander about Lady Emily!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2007

    Wonderful Book!!!

    What I loved about this book is how quick the pages turned. I started it not really sure what to expect and before I knew it I was lost in the world of upper crust Victorian society. But Emily Ashton is not your typical Victorian lady-- she's headstrong and lots of fun. I already ordered the next book in the series!!!! I'm hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2007

    A Total Delight!

    Engaging style, witty dialogue, fascinating characters, deft plotting--everything works together to make this first novel a delightful read. Intelligent and informative without being pretentious. I read it in one day and immediately ordered the next in the series, A Poisoned Season.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4