Customer Reviews for

And Tango Makes Three

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

It's a hit with the kids

I bought this book last xmas for my nephew who just turned four. He was drawn to the penguins and immediately started flipping through it and has demanded his mom read it many times since. It's very engagingly written and nicely illustrated. And it's also a TRUE story. ...
I bought this book last xmas for my nephew who just turned four. He was drawn to the penguins and immediately started flipping through it and has demanded his mom read it many times since. It's very engagingly written and nicely illustrated. And it's also a TRUE story. There really are gay penguins at the Central Park Zoo that have raised a chick. Anyway, the 4 year old gets it, which is good considering that he has gay relatives and family friends. It's a great way of reinforcing that in our world being gay is positive and utterly normal. The only people who would not like this book are the kind of people who raise their children to be ignorant and hateful.

posted by Anonymous on January 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

If you've read this far you already know the book is about 2 mal

If you've read this far you already know the book is about 2 male penguins who were given an egg to hatch, so you're already forewarned. But don't let anyone 'guilt' or intimidate you into buying this book. To say it celebrates love in the animal kingdom is a lie. O...
If you've read this far you already know the book is about 2 male penguins who were given an egg to hatch, so you're already forewarned. But don't let anyone 'guilt' or intimidate you into buying this book. To say it celebrates love in the animal kingdom is a lie. One of the authors is a psychiatrist who, as the book jacket details, specializes in family dynamics, so the intent of the book is to suggest we can extrapolate from penguins to people. He should know better. Penguin parents are not at all like people parents -- each penguin needs to fish for itself in the wild, so penguins trade off time on the nest, and as a result, there really are no specialized roles in penguin parenting. So two male penguins can incubate and egg and feed a chick just fine. But humans do have specialized roles. To Dr. Richardson, I would say, the emperor has no clothes, but the emperor in this analogy is not a penguin. To be more clear, the psychiatrist may have great credentials, but he has no common sense. Sure, gay people can be loving and deserve to be treated with dignity, but they cannot replace an intact family with complementary parents. What a sad way to mislead kids, teaching them at a young age to compromise their standards.

posted by 9190144 on June 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2008

    It's a hit with the kids

    I bought this book last xmas for my nephew who just turned four. He was drawn to the penguins and immediately started flipping through it and has demanded his mom read it many times since. It's very engagingly written and nicely illustrated. And it's also a TRUE story. There really are gay penguins at the Central Park Zoo that have raised a chick. Anyway, the 4 year old gets it, which is good considering that he has gay relatives and family friends. It's a great way of reinforcing that in our world being gay is positive and utterly normal. The only people who would not like this book are the kind of people who raise their children to be ignorant and hateful.

    23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2008

    What An Adorable Lovely Book

    The people who have a problem with this book clearly are not LGBT people because if they were theyd know better, as someone that is gay I would like to point out how heterosexist most 'traditional' childrens stories are assuming that everyone is straight, and saying that children arent ready for this type of subject is rubbish, children should be aware of the diversity of love so that those children who are and always have been LGBT wont feel isolated, discriminated against, and alone. Everyone deserves decent role models--EVERYONE!!!!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2006

    amused

    Its a truly lovely story, delivered without political agenda. I think what some oversensitive parents are forgetting is that this book is based on a true story about two REAL male penguins raising a REAL chick. Penguins don't have politics. If you insist upon being 'disgusted', don't be disgusted at a book. Be disgusted that you've forgotten all kinds of love exist in nature.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    If you've read this far you already know the book is about 2 mal

    If you've read this far you already know the book is about 2 male penguins who were given an egg to hatch, so you're already forewarned. But don't let anyone 'guilt' or intimidate you into buying this book. To say it celebrates love in the animal kingdom is a lie. One of the authors is a psychiatrist who, as the book jacket details, specializes in family dynamics, so the intent of the book is to suggest we can extrapolate from penguins to people. He should know better. Penguin parents are not at all like people parents -- each penguin needs to fish for itself in the wild, so penguins trade off time on the nest, and as a result, there really are no specialized roles in penguin parenting. So two male penguins can incubate and egg and feed a chick just fine. But humans do have specialized roles. To Dr. Richardson, I would say, the emperor has no clothes, but the emperor in this analogy is not a penguin. To be more clear, the psychiatrist may have great credentials, but he has no common sense. Sure, gay people can be loving and deserve to be treated with dignity, but they cannot replace an intact family with complementary parents. What a sad way to mislead kids, teaching them at a young age to compromise their standards.

    10 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Clear and honest

    Great book for anyone who wants to teach their child about love - all sorts of love - being acceptable.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A wonderful, touching story

    It's so nice to have a beautiful story about all kinds of families. Every parent should educate their children about families, and how each family is beautiful and special. I highly recommend this book for all of the LGBT families out there!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2007

    Unfortunate that love can't just be seen for love

    What an outstanding way to introduce love and tolerence to children. My son loves penguins, and this was a must have book. Children need to learn at an early age tolerence for those who are different from themselves. The book is not promoting homosexuality, but rather taking a TRUE story, and turning into a teaching point. A must have for all familes who plan on raising a well rounded child.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    Reasons we have hateful children...

    The reason why this is not accepted is because of the ignorant parents out there. Open your mind..just because people are not "normal"(whatever that is, God only knows what you teach your children) doesn't mean its wrong!
    Maybe teach them its ok because you never know if your child will grow up that way and if they do GOD BLESS THEM!!!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2007

    Wonderful

    There is nothing about this book that is offensive, as far as I'm concerned. Two male penguins love each other and raise a baby. It's not porn. It's an adorable book with a great message: families come in all shapes and sizes, but they're still families. I highly reccommend this book. I bought it for my daughter before she was born, and I hope she takes its message to heart as she grows.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2007

    Sweet story

    This is a sweet story about love and family. How anyone can misconstrue this as 'sick' is beyond me! The theme is love!!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2007

    You've Got to Be Kidding

    What is our world coming to? Children in preschool are not ready to tackle this subject yet. How would you all feel if we brought in a story straight from the Bible? Now let's talk tolerance. I am a teacher, a mother and a liberal, but not this liberal.

    5 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2007

    So sweet So loving So RIGHT

    How anyone in there right minds can say that this is sick or this is wrong is crazy. Those who say God didnt intend for this to happen is wrong how can a tale about two penguins who love each other be wrong when God preaches love and acceptance.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2006

    Excellent

    I love this book. It is a true story which adds to the positive dicussion with children after. I think that this book is a must read for anyone who believes that all people and things deserve humanity and tolerance!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    A sweet and endearing read

    Based on a true story, this is a sweet book that shows the importance of being a family, even if it isn't traditional.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    Beautiful book

    wonderfully written; pictures are beautiful; great way to present the diversity of families; great for all children and will be enjoyed by adults as well; recommend this book for everyone's library.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2007

    Amazing!

    I read this book to do a review for the Kid's Lit class I'm in. This book is awesome! It is a touching story and to anyone that thinks kids are too young for this needs to open their eyes. Homosexuality is everywhere. Kids understand it more than people think. The people that do not agree that kids should read this book need to watch kids in the classroom, I've seen tons of videos of classroom experience and they bring up homosexuality to five year olds and they completely understand it. Kids are smarter and more accepting then we think. I would tell everyone to read this book. It will be one I share with my kids one day.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2005

    Fabulous Book!

    This book is such a nice addition to any children's library. In it's quiet, subtle, manner it teaches children about tolerance and the duality of love. Not only is it great for children, but even adults can enjoy the true story of two male penguins becoming a family.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2005

    Wonderful!

    This is a beautiful children's book explaining the true story of Roy and Silo, two male penguins from the Central Park Zoo that want nothing more than to start a family like the other penguin couples. This book is a must have for any adoptive parents.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Great Book for all ages :)

    We read this book in a children's literature class and I loved it, and so did everyone else in the class, keep in mind I live in a VERY conservative town. This book opens children up to the different kinds of families out there without being offensive and in your face about it. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who has children, and wants to teach them about equality and acceptance.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    beautiful

    Great book. Teaches kids about acceptance and tollerance at an early age. beautigul story about love and beating the odds.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3