Customer Reviews for

And Then I Found You

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Springtime in Bluffton, South Carolina heralds thirty-five-year-

    Springtime in Bluffton, South Carolina heralds thirty-five-year-old Kate Vaughan's annual tradition of trying New Things. This spring, her past—which she's tried so hard to keep in place over the past decade—will come marvelously apart; her New Things will make everything change, and everything begin.

    Composed of flashbacks of only the component parts of Kate's childhood and early adulthood that have led up to the present moment, And Then I Found You details the most determined, devastating decision a mother should ever have to make. These brief evocations slowly clarify her past, and are intermingled with her current conflicts with Rowan—the perfect boyfriend whom she still isn't completely satisfied with—and with her inability to let go of what's already happened.

    Without giving too much away, I will say I was awed by the plot, especially because it actually happened in the author's life, but was very disappointed by the story itself. Don't get me wrong; Henry's prose is elegant and coherent, but I just feel the book as a whole is kind of boring. Everything that happens isn't exciting—at least not as exciting as the author tries to convey it as. She flits across the complexity of human emotion but doesn't exactly capture it, which is why I couldn't connect with this book, either.

    My biggest issue however, is Kate. She's just really, really snobby and difficult to understand, or respect, for that matter. I adore all the characters around her, from her sisters to her best friends to her lovers—they are really well created—but she herself is really dislikable. Her mindset is incredibly selfish and stuck up; her mantra is "you don't know what I've experienced so get away from me and stop trying to sympathize with me." I know Henry was trying to convey the difficult emotional burden upon a mother who is forced to part with her child out of "selflessness," but she sacrificed Kate's character to do so. My detachment from and dislike of the protagonist soured the entire mood and perspective of the story.

    I was proud at Kate's growth, though; throughout the book, she learns she needs to love herself before loving anyone else, and this is something to which all readers will be able to relate. Compassion, even through wistfulness, matters; you just have to be willing to freely give it.

    Pros: Henry is an accomplished storyteller // Secondary characters are lovable // Fascinating premise // Kate's character development is clear

    Cons: Highly dislikable protagonist // Style is decent, but really mediocre... very forgettable // Not that resonating // Predictable, unsatisfying ending // Rather dull and not suspenseful throughout

    Love: "People talked about heartbreak, but in Kate's opinion, hearts don't break, they merely ache and throb until you learn to ignore that same heart all together."

    Verdict: And Then I Found You wasn't as I good as I thought it would be. The plot revolving around a mother reuniting with her long-lost daughter seemed touching, but in the book, it just isn't portrayed very movingly. However, I am impressed with Patricia Callahan Henry's ability to craft a beautiful, feel-good story about self-actualization and self-discovery. The overarching message is quite affecting as well; this is a book about loss, and about finding—both those you love, and yourself.

    6 out of 10 hearts (3 stars): Satisfying for a first read, but I'm not going back.

    Source: Complimentary copy provided by Wunderkind PR in exchange for an honest and unbiased review, for the Itching for Books blog tour.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    A "Must Read" Inspiring Love Story!

    I loved this e-book! Patti Callahan is one of my favorite authors and never disappoints. This was an incredible love story, written and inspired from the author’s own family. A poignant story of love withstanding the tests of time. Being from the southeast, always love the southern states, as they are so familiar and puts you realistically in the setting. You will fall in love with the characters of this close knit family, the boutique, art studio, their homes (all so charming). This would also be an inspiring book for a mother who is torn with decisions of adoption.

    I loved the wilderness part (says a lot about Katie/Kate, taking on struggles of younger teenage girls, making a lasting impression), Jack and Katie’s love story, forgiveness, and of course the heart felt reunion with their daughter Emily Luna. Patti did a superior job integrating the characters, times, and places to portray an unforgettable well written touching love story. I would love see a sequel possibly with Emily Luna, Lida, Jack and Kate. (In addition, be sure and read the e-book “Friend Request” as great introduction to this incredible story)!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The year is 1988, the first day of Spring, and 13-year-old Katie

    The year is 1988, the first day of Spring, and 13-year-old Katie Vaughn finds herself walking in the moonlight with Jack Adams in Bluffton South Carolina, the guy she has a major crush on, and the night Katie gets her first kiss.  Jack says, “So, you’re my girlfriend now, right?”  Katie’s reply was, “Of course.”  Jack then proceeds to tell Katie about how his mother believes that anything you promise on the first day of spring is a promise you can never break.”  After Jack leaves and before goes home, Katie also speaks these words, “Today I said my first curse word.  Today was my first kiss.  Today is the first day of spring, and now my first promise:  I vow to never ever love anyone but Jonathan Gray Adams – My Jack.”




    The year is now 2010 and little did Katie, who now goes by Kate, know the effect those works she spoke so many year ago would have on her life, and the journey she would go through between then and now.  She is 35 years old now and is living in South Carolina again.  She has opened her own boutique and is dating Rowan, a great guy she has been with now for four years, yet the thing that excites her the most is the letter she receives once a year on the first day of spring.  This yearly letter is from Jack Adams, the man that whether she wants to admit it or not, she still loves…the man no one else ever lives up to……the man she made that promise to so many years ago.  Kate and Rowan are meeting Rowan’s parents, and Kate accidentally finds a diamond ring in his Rowan’s night stand.  She kind of freaks out, and ultimately realizes that she must talk to Jack and find closure before she can move on.  She hasn't seen Jack for 13 years, and it was 13 years ago on that first day of spring that Katie’s life changed forever.  




    And Then I Found You is Katie and Jack’s story.  It is one of first love and kisses, promises of forever, loss, heartache, and finding love again.  The story is fictional but based on true-life events that occurred in the author’s little sister’s life, and I would definitely suggest visiting Patti Callahan Henry’s website and reading about the story behind the story.  I loved the characters, and the story itself is heartwarming and heart wrenching, and is wonderfully and beautifully written.  The romance is great, and this book is one you won’t want to miss, especially if you are a contemporary romance fan.  And Then I Found You is something that will touch your heart in a unique way and I definitely recommend it.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2014

    This is definitely a novel that took me quite a while to get int

    This is definitely a novel that took me quite a while to get into.  It took quite a while to warm up to the story & to the characters.  The storyline seemed a bit all over the place with respect to pace.  We’d rush forwards, and then slow down.  

    I fully admit that when it comes to editing, I understand a misplaced or misused word here and there.  It’s bound to happen as we’re all human.  But it can definitely go to excess.  There were a few too many instances of this, or lack of fact checking that detracted from the story for me.  I had a difficult time staying immersed in the story because of this, and had to put it down and come back to it more than once.  This was expounded by the fact that I actually quite enjoyed this author’s writing style.  It had an easy to read flow, and then I’d run into something that just didn’t jive at all.

    The characters in this novel were fairly well developed.  I felt like I really got to know them well.  It was interesting to see their takes on the variety of different things.  I did find the main character to be rather annoyingly indecisive at times.  Her rationale seemed a bit flawed to me, but the author did explain why it was so.

    As a whole this was a decent story but definitely could have used some further editing for content & flow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    I had the pleasure of seeing Patti with her sister Barbie for a

    I had the pleasure of seeing Patti with her sister Barbie for a lunch and lit at Gibbs Gardens in GA. After hearing their story, it made this book even more endearing. What an amazing family. Patti Callahan Henry has become one of my favorite writers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    AMAZING BOOK

    Fantastic book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    In Patti Callahan Henry┬┐s And Then I Found You, Katie Vaughn is

    In Patti Callahan Henry’s And Then I Found You, Katie Vaughn is the type of girl who seemingly has it all. She has a job that she adores and which allows her to make her own schedule. She has the once-in-a-lifetime experiences that set the foundation for the type of woman she would become. Her past experiences have made a profound difference in the lives of others. She has a close-knit family, her health, friends. Normally, this type of heroine would be thoroughly annoying, as everything in her life is just a bit too cute and endearingly quirky. However, it is a testament to Ms. Henry that she is anything but annoying. She may make irritating decisions, and her lack of decision-making skills may feel contrived. Yet, there is a fragility to Katie, even before a reader understands the pain and anguish over her biggest decision, that makes it easy to ignore the annoyances.

    As for the big sacrifice, it really is as powerful and painful as one might imagine. The idea of placing a baby into adoption when she is wanted and loved may seem foreign, but Katie’s reasons for doing so make perfect sense even as they rip out one’s heart at her self-sacrifice. Ms. Henry’s personal history as it pertains to Katie’s decision makes its impact felt in the crystal-clear understanding a reader has of her anguish, confusion, and guilt as well as the conflicted emotions of her family.

    And Then I Found You is as much a novel about love as it is about sacrifice, but it is in its analysis of self-love wherein the story truly shines. For it is not until Katie truly learns to love herself and let go of her past torments where things finally click into place for her. She is helped in part by the unconditional love of her family and the searching love brought by Luna, but it is Katie’s own discoveries and growth that drives her ability to recover and seek answers. This growth is as much as joy to watch unfold as the burgeoning love story because of the aforesaid fragility that Katie initially exhibits. It is an absolute joy to watch Katie discover her own happily ever after, even if it is not what she or the reader first envisioned.

    And Then I Found You is as much of an emotional roller coaster as one would expect, yet it is at no point in time manipulative or overly dramatic. Katie’s story, seen in flashbacks, is simply told, but the emotional toil is profound. Her simplistic verbiage presents a clearer image of the anguish of Katie’s sacrifice than could ever have been created through more poetic wording. The same holds true for the entire novel and the range of emotions roiling through Kate. Ms. Henry lets the story speak for itself, without flooding a reader with unnecessary dialogue or imagery, and the story is so much better for it.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1