BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

And Then There Were None

Average Rating 4.5
( 292 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(196)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

And Then There Were None

And Then There Were None

Ten, nine, eight, seven, six, fix, four, three, two, one, none. And Then There Were None was an ¿edge of your seat¿ book. This page turner was a fantastic mystery book for kids, and adults. On a desert...
And Then There Were None

Ten, nine, eight, seven, six, fix, four, three, two, one, none. And Then There Were None was an ¿edge of your seat¿ book. This page turner was a fantastic mystery book for kids, and adults. On a deserted island, Soldier Island, was where these ten mysterious tragedies took place. With an unknown man/women giving out invites to come to Soldier Island, but they¿re not ready for what they are getting into. With all ten criminals, yes criminals, put together it makes for an incredible mystery book. This incredible book is definitely first class material. On the kitchen table there were ten little glass figures, but when Anthony Marston died there was nine, and it keeps going down. Nobody can be so sure if people are telling the truth. Trusting your own instinct is huge in real life, and the book. The writing style of this book is a little challenging, but it makes you think. Once you starting thinking about everything that¿s going everything, everything falls into place. Anyone could read this book if they are up for a challenge, and a great mystery. The problem is once you pick of this great book, there is no turning back.

posted by 802741 on January 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not As Good As I Expected

This novel was not as good as I had expected it to be. I blame this in part on the numerous movie plots that followed the layout of this novel. I guess am just desensitized to the plot and that it is why it was not very intriguing to me. But, overall its a good read if ...
This novel was not as good as I had expected it to be. I blame this in part on the numerous movie plots that followed the layout of this novel. I guess am just desensitized to the plot and that it is why it was not very intriguing to me. But, overall its a good read if you want something to get through pretty fast like if your on vacation or if you have a long flight, then this book is the one to pick. It still qualifies as good literature but is light and quick enough to read during such times.

posted by Tamara87 on December 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 254 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2009

    And Then There Were None

    And Then There Were None <BR/><BR/> Ten, nine, eight, seven, six, fix, four, three, two, one, none. And Then There Were None was an ¿edge of your seat¿ book. This page turner was a fantastic mystery book for kids, and adults. On a deserted island, Soldier Island, was where these ten mysterious tragedies took place. With an unknown man/women giving out invites to come to Soldier Island, but they¿re not ready for what they are getting into. With all ten criminals, yes criminals, put together it makes for an incredible mystery book. This incredible book is definitely first class material. On the kitchen table there were ten little glass figures, but when Anthony Marston died there was nine, and it keeps going down. Nobody can be so sure if people are telling the truth. Trusting your own instinct is huge in real life, and the book. The writing style of this book is a little challenging, but it makes you think. Once you starting thinking about everything that¿s going everything, everything falls into place. Anyone could read this book if they are up for a challenge, and a great mystery. The problem is once you pick of this great book, there is no turning back.

    41 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great introduction to the mystery genre.

    I always say, if you're going to start reading mysteries, start with Agatha Christie. And if you're going to start reading Agatha Christie, start with And Then There Were None (also published as Ten Little Indians).<BR/><BR/>I really enjoy this book. I've read it several times over the 15 years I've been aware of it. I enjoy the writing, the plot, and especially the use of the poem in the book. I tend to like this more than any of the books in one of her series. I think when authors write outside of their popular characters and environments, they tend to write better. I love it when I forget the ending and I am in just as much suspense as the first time I read it. In fact, I may be in more suspense because the story is a bit familiar, so I have that hint of nostalgia, but I still don't remember the secret! This is just such a fun book to read. I highly highly recommend it.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    entertaining

    I had a hard time keeping all the characters straight. However, it kept me interested enough to keep reading to find out "who did it"
    I thought it was an original murder mystery.
    I liked it.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not As Good As I Expected

    This novel was not as good as I had expected it to be. I blame this in part on the numerous movie plots that followed the layout of this novel. I guess am just desensitized to the plot and that it is why it was not very intriguing to me. But, overall its a good read if you want something to get through pretty fast like if your on vacation or if you have a long flight, then this book is the one to pick. It still qualifies as good literature but is light and quick enough to read during such times.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    #1 best mystery book

    i think the title was outstanding and you can never really catch your breath throughout the story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2008

    Who is it??????

    I had to read this book for school purposes, and I think it is the first time my school chose a good book for us to read!! We're always stuck with crap, but now I'm getting away from the book. It can be a bit confusing at first, but when you start, you'll be caught up in the suspense and never want to put it down, even after you finish it!! I was guessing who it was the whole time, and I was wrong because the mystery was so well written, and very clever!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    amazing

    I loved it. I had to read it for AP english my freshman year. and I typically hate the books picked by schools and this one was one of the best books i've ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Anonymous

    And Then There Were None is a mystery sure to keep you on the edge of your seat. The beginning is a little slow but after that, you won't want to put it down.
    The story takes place on Indian Island where ten strangers, all guilty of committing a murder in one way or another, meet. They begin dying, each of their deaths in correspondence to the poem, "Ten Little Indians". They must band together to find the killer before the next death but how can that be done if no one can be trusted?
    Best-selling author Agatha Christie has definitely woven a mystery almost impossible to solve. Read And Then There Were None to find out what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Great Book

    This is a great book!!
    It is a suspenseful murder mystery that is an amazingly good story!!
    It is about 10 people on island invited there by U N Owen.
    Mr. Owen is nowhere to be found and one by one the ten people are mysteriously dieing.

    It is a good book for people all ages.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    I have to read this book

    For my advanced reading class, we are reading this book. I hope it is good.

    Sweets

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Such a good book.

    Agatha Cristie is the best mystery writer I have ever read. Why hasn't she ever committed her own murder? Maybee she has... oOoOoOoOoOoOoOH :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    A clever story, better than the movies.

    This story has been done many times, but here we have the original
    ending--a deeper and darker twist. As with many stories that have
    numerous characters, it's hard to keep track at first. But stay with
    it. The only flaw was a slur or two that would not be acceptable
    today--but were in common usage in the time the story was written.
    The author was very prolific and is to be admired for her many,
    varied plot lines and characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    BRILLIANCE!!!

    Me and my friends kept trying to guess who the murderer was but we were all WRONG!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Weird

    really creepy. It's not who you think. When your done go back and read it again. It will seem so obvious then

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Far-fetched mystery

    I read all of Agatha Christie's books years ago but don't remember the style being this choppy. It's a good mystery that reveals her devious mind, but I thought the ending was a little too fantastic!I definitely did not figure it out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    Classic suspense

    This was a classic but I found it entertaining and curious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A classic mystery

    This is a classic mystery that I have enjoyed reading several times. Agatha Christie is one of my favorite and often read mystery writers. She always plays fair with the reader and the clues are there if you are observant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Amazing

    Very Good Read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    A classic mystery but crappy epub

    One of Agatha Christie's best! Too bad the ePub is not good: it's very slow (I thought something was wrong w my nook but see in the reviews that others are having same problem), there are typos (looks like scanning errors), and I couldn't change the font.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    You get what you pay for

    I was able to read the first chapter and now this edition locks up and I have to turn off my Nook to get out of the screen. Book is great - it is classic Agatha Christie - but pay for the regular edition. There is something wrong with this ePub.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 254 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13