Customer Reviews for

And Then There Were None

Average Rating 4.5
( 292 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(196)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

And Then There Were None

And Then There Were None

Ten, nine, eight, seven, six, fix, four, three, two, one, none. And Then There Were None was an ¿edge of your seat¿ book. This page turner was a fantastic mystery book for kids, and adults. On a desert...
And Then There Were None

Ten, nine, eight, seven, six, fix, four, three, two, one, none. And Then There Were None was an ¿edge of your seat¿ book. This page turner was a fantastic mystery book for kids, and adults. On a deserted island, Soldier Island, was where these ten mysterious tragedies took place. With an unknown man/women giving out invites to come to Soldier Island, but they¿re not ready for what they are getting into. With all ten criminals, yes criminals, put together it makes for an incredible mystery book. This incredible book is definitely first class material. On the kitchen table there were ten little glass figures, but when Anthony Marston died there was nine, and it keeps going down. Nobody can be so sure if people are telling the truth. Trusting your own instinct is huge in real life, and the book. The writing style of this book is a little challenging, but it makes you think. Once you starting thinking about everything that¿s going everything, everything falls into place. Anyone could read this book if they are up for a challenge, and a great mystery. The problem is once you pick of this great book, there is no turning back.

posted by 802741 on January 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not As Good As I Expected

This novel was not as good as I had expected it to be. I blame this in part on the numerous movie plots that followed the layout of this novel. I guess am just desensitized to the plot and that it is why it was not very intriguing to me. But, overall its a good read if ...
This novel was not as good as I had expected it to be. I blame this in part on the numerous movie plots that followed the layout of this novel. I guess am just desensitized to the plot and that it is why it was not very intriguing to me. But, overall its a good read if you want something to get through pretty fast like if your on vacation or if you have a long flight, then this book is the one to pick. It still qualifies as good literature but is light and quick enough to read during such times.

posted by Tamara87 on December 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 254 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2006

    The best book ever!!!

    I am in the eighth grade and I had to read this for my book report. I really didn't want to read it but I do love mystery books. Once I started to read it I just couldn't stop it had me on the edge of my seat. I read it all in one night, she keeps you at suspense and you never know what will happen. Definitely a great mystery book and I'd reccommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2005

    WOW!!

    This was my first Agatha Christie book. I was very impressed and am now started on reading others. This is a great starter or anytime book. I think this is one of her best books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2005

    read it!

    this book is so good i have literally been promoting it to everyone i meet, this book is so good and i think everyone should read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2005

    Still love it after all these years

    I teach this book to middle school kids in a mystery unit. I have 27 texts in my class that refer to the island as Indian Island and the poem reflects that. Suddenly, my trade paperback from St. Martin's Griffin..says 'Soldier Island'...It would be GREAT if the mass market paperbacks reflected that change as well. I mean this book was already sanitized TO read 'Indians' so why not do it again to read 'Soldiers'? I STILL LOVE this book. Each time I read it I notice another bread crumb A.C. dropped for the readers. Also, it's one of the few of her books where she doesn't 'cheat' and bring in a new character in order to solve the crime. It is, I think, her masterpiece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2005

    the best book i have ever read!

    this is the best book ever! once I picked the book up I never put it down! I recommend this to anyone that likes a story with a great mystery and twists and turns that leave you craving for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2005

    very good book!

    'And then there were none' is a great book for mystery-loving people. when i first began reading it,i thought it wasnt going to be that good-but it turned out to be great! i had to read it for summer reading and i am glad i chose this book! i recommend this to any middle and high school students!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2004

    The Greatest Mystery Novel In The World!!!!!!!!!

    Ten strangers gathered a a mysterious island. One by one they die. What they don't know is the killer is one of them. This book was so great because you never expected who the killer was. You suspison changed from each part of the book. Agathia Christie writes in a unique way. Highly reccomended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2004

    An unforgetable novel!

    This novel was truly incredible! Agatha Christie gave each character the perfect personality and past, and she concocted the plot in such a way that it is provocotive. This is most definitely a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2004

    keeps you on the edge of your seat

    The book will keep you on the edge of your seat while you read and try to figure out who it is. It's creative how the murders are set up by a rhyme, and one by one they get murdered by a silly rhyme.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2003

    And then there were none...

    This book was really really thrilling! This was my first Agatha Christie book, but I now I know her books are amazing! This book keeps you guessing all the way until the very last page. I loved it, and I know others will too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2002

    great book

    My teacher gave me this book in 6th grade and i read a few pages and put it down. I didnt like it then in 7 th grade, i gave it a try and loved it. this book is great. you would never guess. it has a great ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2002

    The best book every

    I first read this book this year and it is already my favorite book.If you start this wonderful murder mystery you'll never put it down intil you finish

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2002

    Mysterious and I couldn't put it down.

    I personally loved the book 'And Then There Were None.' I couldn't put it down. The suspence was killing me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2001

    Great Story

    This is the best novel I have ever read. It gets very intense at times. There are ten characters, so you don't know who the murderer is. Very great murder mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2001

    Outstanding

    This was one of the best mystery books. In the begining it was kind of boring, but when they got to the island it was great. i couldn't believe it at the end. i highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2001

    Great Mystery!!

    This was an example of a great mystery. It kept you guessing till the last chapter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2001

    Wargraves gotta secret....

    OH! MY GOSH! If i could i'd give this book about 5 million stars! I started reading it when my reading teacher read it as a read aloud book, and me and a few other students thought it was an awesome book, so we started reading it, but then school stopped, so we had to return the books to the library but we were reading it in the summer, WHAT AN UNPRADICTABLE BOOK! Agatha Christie is a GENIOUS! Only she could come up with something like that!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2001

    outstanding

    And Then There Were None was a grat book about a man that took 10 people to a secluded island and started killing them off. it was a great book and i would recommend it to anyone that loves mysteries! and just a little hint... there are shocking results!!!! a must read book I give it 5 stars!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2001

    DA BOMBS book!!

    This is a mad good Agatha Christie book. It keeps you guessing untill the end. If you've never heard of Agatha Christie, u'll be a fan as soon as u read this book! You get inside the heads of the characters, and see them fight their conscience. This book has a really good storyline. And I saw the play, and it was also really good. This is definatley a recommended book. Go and read it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2001

    Review for And Then There Were None

    The book that I have read this semester that I enjoyed was And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie. The setting is on an island off the coast of Devon. Ten people are brought together onto Indian Island. A letter was sent to each by U. N. Owen, which stated that they were invited to be his guest on the island that he purchased. When they arrive at the Island, the guests are not greeted by the mysterious person, but by the butler, Rodgers, that was hired by U. N. The characters are Edward Armstrong, Emily Brent, William Blore, Vera Clathorne, Philip Lombard, John Marston, Thomas and Ethal Rodgers and Lawrence Wargrave. Each one has committed a crime that could not be proven by the law and the man who invited them to Indian Island knew. Each one has to fight the psychotic person that invited them there, as well as their own conscience. I enjoyed this book mostly because I like to read mysteries. It is a good example of a mystery and is exciting through most of the book. There wasn¿t too much I didn¿t like about the book and if there was I don¿t remember. It was well written and everything intersects itself. By the end you know why each thing happened and how the whole plot came to be. I feel that others should read it because it has a good story line and keeps you on the edge of your seat. I think that all people who like a good mystery should read it. I believe that people who enjoy mysteries would enjoy it most and the style of writing would appeal to basically anyone from teenager and older.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 254 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 13