Customer Reviews for

And Then There Were None [With CDROM]

Average Rating 4.5
( 292 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(196)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

And Then There Were None

And Then There Were None

Ten, nine, eight, seven, six, fix, four, three, two, one, none. And Then There Were None was an ¿edge of your seat¿ book. This page turner was a fantastic mystery book for kids, and adults. On a desert...
And Then There Were None

Ten, nine, eight, seven, six, fix, four, three, two, one, none. And Then There Were None was an ¿edge of your seat¿ book. This page turner was a fantastic mystery book for kids, and adults. On a deserted island, Soldier Island, was where these ten mysterious tragedies took place. With an unknown man/women giving out invites to come to Soldier Island, but they¿re not ready for what they are getting into. With all ten criminals, yes criminals, put together it makes for an incredible mystery book. This incredible book is definitely first class material. On the kitchen table there were ten little glass figures, but when Anthony Marston died there was nine, and it keeps going down. Nobody can be so sure if people are telling the truth. Trusting your own instinct is huge in real life, and the book. The writing style of this book is a little challenging, but it makes you think. Once you starting thinking about everything that¿s going everything, everything falls into place. Anyone could read this book if they are up for a challenge, and a great mystery. The problem is once you pick of this great book, there is no turning back.

posted by 802741 on January 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not As Good As I Expected

This novel was not as good as I had expected it to be. I blame this in part on the numerous movie plots that followed the layout of this novel. I guess am just desensitized to the plot and that it is why it was not very intriguing to me. But, overall its a good read if ...
This novel was not as good as I had expected it to be. I blame this in part on the numerous movie plots that followed the layout of this novel. I guess am just desensitized to the plot and that it is why it was not very intriguing to me. But, overall its a good read if you want something to get through pretty fast like if your on vacation or if you have a long flight, then this book is the one to pick. It still qualifies as good literature but is light and quick enough to read during such times.

posted by Tamara87 on December 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great introduction to the mystery genre.

    I always say, if you're going to start reading mysteries, start with Agatha Christie. And if you're going to start reading Agatha Christie, start with And Then There Were None (also published as Ten Little Indians).<BR/><BR/>I really enjoy this book. I've read it several times over the 15 years I've been aware of it. I enjoy the writing, the plot, and especially the use of the poem in the book. I tend to like this more than any of the books in one of her series. I think when authors write outside of their popular characters and environments, they tend to write better. I love it when I forget the ending and I am in just as much suspense as the first time I read it. In fact, I may be in more suspense because the story is a bit familiar, so I have that hint of nostalgia, but I still don't remember the secret! This is just such a fun book to read. I highly highly recommend it.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    entertaining

    I had a hard time keeping all the characters straight. However, it kept me interested enough to keep reading to find out "who did it"
    I thought it was an original murder mystery.
    I liked it.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    A clever story, better than the movies.

    This story has been done many times, but here we have the original
    ending--a deeper and darker twist. As with many stories that have
    numerous characters, it's hard to keep track at first. But stay with
    it. The only flaw was a slur or two that would not be acceptable
    today--but were in common usage in the time the story was written.
    The author was very prolific and is to be admired for her many,
    varied plot lines and characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    A classic mystery but crappy epub

    One of Agatha Christie's best! Too bad the ePub is not good: it's very slow (I thought something was wrong w my nook but see in the reviews that others are having same problem), there are typos (looks like scanning errors), and I couldn't change the font.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    mlobur anonymus

    Highly recommened! Its a book thas wants you waiting for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Quintessential Classic Mystery Novel

    Ten people gather on Soldier Island for a retreat, sponsored by a mysterious host. All have something in common. One by one, they begin to drop like flies, until there are none remaining. This mystery novel will keep you guessing throughout. It is evident why it is considered a classic mystery novel. 4 1/2 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2010

    A Refreshing Read.

    This is my first Agatha Christie novel, and it was quite good. It was a quick read and I was guessing the whole time. It's complicated but simple at the same time, and it was refreshing and nice to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2007

    Amazing book that you gotta read!!!

    This book was a suspensful book that will keep you guessing till the very end. It will keep you on the edge of your seat! I am not the biggest fan of mysteries but this book might have gotten me started on them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2007

    Amazing!

    This book was outstanding! I,As many people said, think the 1st chapter was confusing but the rest was cool. This book literally got me looking around the room I was reading in too see if U.N owen was there! scary !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2005

    WOW!!

    This was my first Agatha Christie book. I was very impressed and am now started on reading others. This is a great starter or anytime book. I think this is one of her best books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2001

    Review for And Then There Were None

    The book that I have read this semester that I enjoyed was And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie. The setting is on an island off the coast of Devon. Ten people are brought together onto Indian Island. A letter was sent to each by U. N. Owen, which stated that they were invited to be his guest on the island that he purchased. When they arrive at the Island, the guests are not greeted by the mysterious person, but by the butler, Rodgers, that was hired by U. N. The characters are Edward Armstrong, Emily Brent, William Blore, Vera Clathorne, Philip Lombard, John Marston, Thomas and Ethal Rodgers and Lawrence Wargrave. Each one has committed a crime that could not be proven by the law and the man who invited them to Indian Island knew. Each one has to fight the psychotic person that invited them there, as well as their own conscience. I enjoyed this book mostly because I like to read mysteries. It is a good example of a mystery and is exciting through most of the book. There wasn¿t too much I didn¿t like about the book and if there was I don¿t remember. It was well written and everything intersects itself. By the end you know why each thing happened and how the whole plot came to be. I feel that others should read it because it has a good story line and keeps you on the edge of your seat. I think that all people who like a good mystery should read it. I believe that people who enjoy mysteries would enjoy it most and the style of writing would appeal to basically anyone from teenager and older.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2000

    recommended by 6th grader

    i liked this book because it kept you intregged, but it was a little scary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2000

    'it had me fooled'

    for this review, i would just like to say that this book was very good because it had me fooled threw the whole book. we read it without knowing the author or title name until the end. we didn't have the books in front of us until the epilog and the last chapter of him telling that wargrave was the actual killer and he plotted it the whole time. It is a book you can only read once, but it was really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3