Customer Reviews for

And Then There Were None

Average Rating 4.5
( 696 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(527)

4 Star

(88)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

This book is awesome!

Eight strangers were invited in an isolated island by a mysterious couple. As they reached the isolated island, they found a house but found no one except for a butler and his wife. But where are the couple who invited them? Until during dinner, they heard a mysterious ...
Eight strangers were invited in an isolated island by a mysterious couple. As they reached the isolated island, they found a house but found no one except for a butler and his wife. But where are the couple who invited them? Until during dinner, they heard a mysterious voice accusing all of them, including the butler and his wife, that they are all murderers! Until one by one, they start to die...

I love the characters. The plot and the settings are also awesome! The twists are awesome, too! It is very suspenseful and thrilling. It is also a bit scary. The ending is very surprising!

Agatha Christie is my favorite author.

posted by Japee on February 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Giving up on it.

I have tried many times to read this book and have failed each and every one. I find the writting to be dull and sometimes hard to follow. As for the story, well I can't comment since I haven't read it through. It does seem to drag along though. Anyway, I wouldn't recom...
I have tried many times to read this book and have failed each and every one. I find the writting to be dull and sometimes hard to follow. As for the story, well I can't comment since I haven't read it through. It does seem to drag along though. Anyway, I wouldn't recommend this to anyone and feel I wasted my money.

posted by 14362158 on January 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 698 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35
  • Posted February 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is awesome!

    Eight strangers were invited in an isolated island by a mysterious couple. As they reached the isolated island, they found a house but found no one except for a butler and his wife. But where are the couple who invited them? Until during dinner, they heard a mysterious voice accusing all of them, including the butler and his wife, that they are all murderers! Until one by one, they start to die...

    I love the characters. The plot and the settings are also awesome! The twists are awesome, too! It is very suspenseful and thrilling. It is also a bit scary. The ending is very surprising!

    Agatha Christie is my favorite author.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2008

    Agatha Christie is my bffl!!!!!!!!!!

    And Then There Were None is undoubtedly Agatha Christie's most popular piece of literature ever written. With some insane number of millions of copies sold worldwide, the British author became a major name in the genre of mystery. While the beginning of the story is a bit mundane and lacks the suspense that is abundant in the chapters to come, readers should not be discouraged and continue to read past this brief piece of boringness in order to savor the rest of the emotion drenched and suspenseful novel. Kudos to Ms. Christie. To anyone who so much as enjoyed this book, I reccomend The Mirror Cracked From Side to Side, another tale by Agatha Christie. It has a voice much different than that of And Then There Were None's, but all of the rich, classic, and enigmatic nature of the the latter.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    an amazing thriller that i can read over and over again and not get bored!!!

    I saw the play to this book before I read it and I still got chills reading it. When Agatha Christie explained these characters I could picture them extremely easily. It was like a picture being painted before my eyes. You could tell that in this book she put major thought into her characters. Like there personalities and how they would act around people and just the thoughts in their heads when certain things happened. It was truly amazing. Some of the characters in the book reminded me of the people that I have met throughout my life. Like Philip Lombard is like the laid back "cool" guy that cares more about his reputation than anything else and likes to be portrayed as the "bad boy." Tony Marston the young heart throb that all the girls wants to go out with or just wishes he would give them the time of day and he knew he was like that so milked it for all it was worth. Mr. Blore the happy go lucky spirit. I am positive that anybody could find a relation to at least one of the characters in the story, no matter who you are. The story has some amazing twists that you would never expect. Just when you think you have solved the mystery because all the signs point to someone a curve ball is thrown in like they die or something random. This is definitely a thriller book. It's and ending you would not suspect in a million years. This book barely has any dull spots you are always at the edge of your seat wondering who's going to die next? Who is really the killer? Is there more than one killer? Will I ever find out who this person is? Will anyone ever find them? Why doesn't help ever come? Most of those answers you won't find at the end of the book, you have to read the epilogue. The epilogue answers so many questions it even shares how the killer got away with all of its work and how it found all those "innocent" people. This book really makes you think about life. It makes you wonder if you could really trust the people around you. It really makes you wonder if people are always what they appear to be, if they are hiding something. I guess we will never know but I do know that And Then There Were None is by far one of the greatest mystery book I have ever read in y life.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great!

    This is one of my absolute favorite books! Very good and suspenseful. But maybe it's just me who can't figure it out before the ending, lol.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2008

    And Then There Were None

    This book starts with ten strangers invited to the well-known Indian Island by a U N Owen. In all of the guest¿s rooms, there is a poem called `Ten Little Indians¿. All of the guests then go down to dinner. A record on the gramophone says each of the guests is guilty of a murder. The guests then slowly begin to die, after telling the truth about the recording. Not only do they die, but the deaths follow a pattern. The people on the island then try to figure out who is the murderer. This book is full of mystery and suspense. I recommend it, even for people who don¿t normally read mystery books. It will keep you turning pages until the end.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Awesome, could not put it down.

    If it wasn't for work, I would have stayed up all night reading it... One of my favorites. Sometimes it's nice to sit and read something that's not always blood, guts and CSI stuff... a great read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    My fav mystery book ever!

    My fav mystery book ever!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    This was my first Agatha Christie book. I was always intimidate

    This was my first Agatha Christie book. I was always intimidated thinking her books were hard to follow. Not at all. I really enjoyed it. Characters were easy to follow, yet mysterious in their own ways. I will be buying more by Ms. Christie.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Greatest Mystery Book

    This is one of the greatest books I have ever read. It is the quintessential mystery by renowned author Agatha Christie. In it, ten people are stranded on an island and slowly start getting picked off. They must band together to figure out who is the mastermind behind this plot. Full of twists and surprises, the ending is one of the greatest I have ever seen.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    This book is great!!!

    I got this on my nook. I think that the way Christie plans the whole thing out is spectacular. The plot of the story os that ten people arrive on an island, with no idea of where or who their employer is.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Amazing

    This book is fantastic its one of the most facinating mysterious book i have ever read. This is probably one of the most mysterious books agatha christie has wrote.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    To: feb.5 2013

    Don't spoil it!!!! If u do want to spoil it, the least u can do is write spoil alert as your headline!! That way if someone hasn't read or finished the book, they can decide to spoil it for themselves or not!! And by the way, i think u meant to write killer, not "kilker"!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Best Agatha Christie Novel

    This is not for immature readers. It has an extremely complex plot with twists and turns around every corner. Its thought provoking and really shows how skilled Agatha Christie is. It kept me on edge the entire novel and caused some sleepless nights. Truely a masterpiece and must read for any true mystery fan.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    My Review

    I have read several Christie books and this one is by far my favorite! Unlike most books, this one was suspenseful throughout and kept my attention. I have to say, this book is much like the movie or board game CLUE. It has an amazing ending and I reccomend it highly.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2008

    Agatha Christie's Best

    There aren't many original words left to review this book- it's nearly pointless to try. So, I will be thoroughly unoriginal: Read the book! (Over 3oo hundred people have told you to before me.)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Great

    Im in 7th grad nd my C.A teacher is making us read this book nd its really good i thought i woodnt like it butits great for all ages

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Giving up on it.

    I have tried many times to read this book and have failed each and every one. I find the writting to be dull and sometimes hard to follow. As for the story, well I can't comment since I haven't read it through. It does seem to drag along though. Anyway, I wouldn't recommend this to anyone and feel I wasted my money.

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    I am afraid that I didn't tell you, before. I am one of the

    I am afraid that I didn't tell you, before. I am one of the HUGEST fans of Agatha Christie. I have read almost 6 books of hers. Three of them, I have read more than twice. She is a true writing goddess. It is still IMPOSSIBLE to believe that she was able to write so MANY novels, and none of them are replicates of each other. May her soul rest in peace... Writing this review is REALLY confusing, since the book contains of SO MANY characters.
    Mr. Justice Wargrave, Mr. MacArthur, Mr. Marston, Mr. Blore, Mr. Lombard, Mr. Rogers, Mrs. Rogers, Ms. Brint, Ms. Vera, and Dr. Armstrong are all invited to the mansion of Indian Island in Devon. Each one of them has been invited based on a different reason. They don't know each other at all, but one thing they all have in common is: They were all invited by one man, named U. N. Owen.
    When they arrive on the island, things start to get creepy. Mr. Owen and Ms. Owen have not arrived yet. When the 10 guests decide to rest, they find out that there is the nursery rhyme "10 little Indian Boys" hanged over all the fireplaces in each of their bedrooms. And in the evening, a voice on the gramophone accuses each one of them of killing somebody. And the voice knows the EXACT date of each murder.
    The 10 guests are not scared yet. Tomorrow they can leave the island on the boat. But when tomorrow is here, they realize that the boat is not coming at all. Things start to get deadly. Someone is killing them, one by one in the style of the nursery rhyme "10 little Indian boys". They are all starting to get mad. They should find a way to leave the island, because the only other choice is getting killed...
    Who is the killer? Have these 10 people really killed somebody, in some stage in their lives, knowingly or not? Find out when you read this horribly-scary story of justice-seekers, secrets, and survival, And Then There Were None.
    This story was REALLY scary. I had a really hard time trying to find the killer. No matter how much I guessed, it always turned out wrong, WAY wrong. I got SO frustrated. And when I finally found out, I was like "WHAT? WHO? SERIOUSLY?" It was totally, utterly UNEXPECTED. I am sure that the shock registered on the faces of people who read this is exactly what Agatha Christie was hoping for.
    I love how the plot played out. I love thrillers and mysteries. The joy of finding out who is behind something, is truly one of a kind. Don't you think? If you want a scary read, that you will NOT be able to put down until the LAST page, then And Then There Were None is the one for you, and you, especially you...

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2010

    And Then There Were None

    And Then There Were None
    By: Agatha Christie
    Reviewed by Katie

    The mysterious U.N. Owen, a murderous, crazy, psychotic, unknown person intentionally invites 10, somewhat guilty people, of murder, people that the law didn't recognize as killers, to his/her house. Each one of them unknowing of the fate they were walking head-on in to, accepted the invitation to a big mansion on the lonely Indian Island. Slowly each of them was murdered according to an old Indian nursery poem. But who is the murderer?

    The writing style of this book was very interesting to me. In every chapter there were smaller chapters that focused on one single person's perspective. With this style you were able to understand and perceive things through that certain persons eyes. I think at the beginning of the book its was very confusing because you had absolutely no idea who these people were and you weren't used to seeing things the way the do, you didn't know their personalities. I t was also confusing because there was so many guy characters. It was easy to keep the two girls strait but very hard for the boys because after awhile all of their names seemed similar and they all act alike.

    I liked this book. I recommend you read this if you are into the mysterious murder stories also I would recommend young kids don't read it because of the violence.

    I rate this book three stars out of five.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    A Mysterious Book That's Full of Surprises

    Do you ever feel scared? Watched? Enclosed in a black sheet of darkness? Does it ever frighten you? Well then, And Then There Was None would definitely frighten you even more. If you like books that make you have shivers down your spine, this is a book that suits you personality spectacularly. This book was written by the intelligent Agatha Christie, the writer who has millions reading. She has also written other splendid books such as ¿Death on the Nile¿ and ¿Evil Under the Sun.¿<BR/> Mr. Blore, Emily Brent, Vera Claythorne, Dr. Armstrong, Anthony Marston, Justice Wargrave, Philip Lombard, General Macarther, and Mrs. an Mr. Rogers arrive at Indian Island, with the feel of fright upon them. Vera Claythorne, the smart and delicate one, comes across a mysterious poem lying in her room, hiding a mystery everyone's attempting to solve. Even Lombard is trying. Lombard is a dynamic character, changing his moves to what's on his mind that second. When Jutsice Wargrave has the witnesses reveal answers, one by one each suspect disappears, giving fright to anyone who's struggling to keep alive... Who will live? Who will die? Who will be the murderer? Who will save them all? Read to find out...<BR/> <BR/> Who knows what books are creeping behind you...It's a book that will suit 10 and up... the perfect thing to use on a rainy night cuddled beneath the covers. Anyone should read it. If you also enjoy Stephen King's books, this will also be a new book that all your friends and yourself will adore.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 698 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35