Customer Reviews for

And Then There Were None

Average Rating 4.5
( 693 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(526)

4 Star

(88)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

This book is awesome!

Eight strangers were invited in an isolated island by a mysterious couple. As they reached the isolated island, they found a house but found no one except for a butler and his wife. But where are the couple who invited them? Until during dinner, they heard a mysterious ...
Eight strangers were invited in an isolated island by a mysterious couple. As they reached the isolated island, they found a house but found no one except for a butler and his wife. But where are the couple who invited them? Until during dinner, they heard a mysterious voice accusing all of them, including the butler and his wife, that they are all murderers! Until one by one, they start to die...

I love the characters. The plot and the settings are also awesome! The twists are awesome, too! It is very suspenseful and thrilling. It is also a bit scary. The ending is very surprising!

Agatha Christie is my favorite author.

posted by Japee on February 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Giving up on it.

I have tried many times to read this book and have failed each and every one. I find the writting to be dull and sometimes hard to follow. As for the story, well I can't comment since I haven't read it through. It does seem to drag along though. Anyway, I wouldn't recom...
I have tried many times to read this book and have failed each and every one. I find the writting to be dull and sometimes hard to follow. As for the story, well I can't comment since I haven't read it through. It does seem to drag along though. Anyway, I wouldn't recommend this to anyone and feel I wasted my money.

posted by 14362158 on January 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2010

    And Then There Were None

    And Then There Were None
    By: Agatha Christie
    Reviewed by Katie

    The mysterious U.N. Owen, a murderous, crazy, psychotic, unknown person intentionally invites 10, somewhat guilty people, of murder, people that the law didn't recognize as killers, to his/her house. Each one of them unknowing of the fate they were walking head-on in to, accepted the invitation to a big mansion on the lonely Indian Island. Slowly each of them was murdered according to an old Indian nursery poem. But who is the murderer?

    The writing style of this book was very interesting to me. In every chapter there were smaller chapters that focused on one single person's perspective. With this style you were able to understand and perceive things through that certain persons eyes. I think at the beginning of the book its was very confusing because you had absolutely no idea who these people were and you weren't used to seeing things the way the do, you didn't know their personalities. I t was also confusing because there was so many guy characters. It was easy to keep the two girls strait but very hard for the boys because after awhile all of their names seemed similar and they all act alike.

    I liked this book. I recommend you read this if you are into the mysterious murder stories also I would recommend young kids don't read it because of the violence.

    I rate this book three stars out of five.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    A

    Havnt read it yet, but it seems like a very good book.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Creepy

    This book is well written, but it's very creepy. It game me nightmares for a week.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    And Then There Were None

    A few things I didn't like was that book is based on the poem Ten Little Indians, so if you want you could just read the poem, it is exactly the same as the book. Second is that there was too many characters to keep up with. Last is that there was a lot of slow spots where they would try to figure out who was killing everyone. Then they would just drop in and decide their conclusion was wrong so you read seven pages about nothing.
    What I like about it was that she didn't go into great detail about them dying. It was a good story and I liked how she set the book up but it just seemed too rambled on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2004

    It is entertaining

    Her books have something in common, which is that there is always only one important thing that you overlooked and that cause your own theory fail. This thing could be a fact you believed, by seeing or hearing it through the characters. And in this novel, what you would overlook is a seemingly dead man. How many people ask if the sixth one is really dead after they heard about 10 people get killed? I don't think this book is better than her other books. But it is entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    Good twists

    Good, a little slow but loved the ending!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    This is not quitea novel but rather a long short that is in with other short stories. It is a good christie but is not

    A classic christie eg marple or herclue christie wrote several different variations of her mysteries this is more like The Mousetrap and might disappoint new readers who saw pbs series. One of my favorite is neither but set in ancient egypt Death Comes at the End. Have all in h c and s c and re read often mom

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    TO:who is the killer

    The really longbnote and the end tells you ( just lok at theps. signature at the end of the note) ...and for those of you who are going to red this or if you are in the middle do not look a the end...you will only ruin it for yourself. And nobody can be mad at me i didnt say nor give any hint as to who the killer is. I was just helping a " friend." P.S. respond to megan if you found out the killer( person who asked)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    A literary great.

    And Then There Were None is extremely well written and is definatly in my top 20 fav books at about number 13. It was interesting and it did its job of being mysterious, but after a while, you almost get USED to the idea that the humans on the island are disposible to the murderer and that even the person you are rooting for will either die or be the murderer. But aside from that, this was a very entertaining book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    not the best

    wasn't the best best book that se has written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    Recommended

    These days murder mysteries are all pretty much modeled the same: many people strangely brought together and then picked off one by one. And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie may just be the novel that started this trend.
    The book starts off with ten criminals summoned to a deserted island where they are accused of murder and then individually murdered. The thing is, this is a deserted island. The characters are forced to realize that the murderer is among themselves.
    Christie, known for her thrilling murder mysteries, does an excellent job keeping the reader guessing: who is the killer and who is next?
    She keeps the novel fascinating until the very end where the killer is unmasked and the reader finds out how they deceived everyone which I personally found to be unbelievable. However, I still think the novel is well written, compelling, and overall, worth reading. Hopefully, others will be more impressed by the ending then I was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2009

    Enticing Murder Mystery!

    I'm really glad I got assigned this book for school because it is one of the best classics I've gotten the chance to read yet. The writing style is compltely different than what I thought it would be. Everything is stated pretty simple. That reduces confusion (which many other classics are--confusing) and all the extra stuff isn't really needed because throughout the whole book, you're trying to figure out who killed who and what's going to happen next. I love books like these, books that keep the reader on edge. Agatha Christie is a wonderful writer of mystery books and this one is definitely one to read if you're looking for a good book or even a good re-read since many have already read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2006

    Mystery Island

    I think that this book is okay but I would have rather had something a little more interesting. I think that this book had to many people to keep up with and it gets alittle confusing for me. over all it was okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2006

    About The Book

    I really did not enjoy the book very much. The reason could have been that maybe mystery books are just not my kind of book.I just thought that the ending would have been better that what it was. I think for people who enjoy reading mystery novels that they will probably enjoy this book. The author wrote it pretty simple, so for those who are new to reading like me this would be a good book for them to start out with. I think the reader will value just how the book keeps their mind wondering what will happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2003

    This is all queer, very queer indeed

    This is the first Agatha Christie book i've read. It takes place on an island that is shaped like an Indian head. 10 strangers are forced to live together. The greatest thing about this book is that each character has his or her own personality, and as the story goes along it changes with each person. It is great, one person dies another goes insaine! The bad part about this book is the start of it. It starts out slow giving detail. Then after a few deaths it picks up the pace, but it got too fast and killed the ending. It seemed like the author was running low on time and had to hurry up and finish the book. That made the ending dissapointing. In the long run, 'And Then There Were None' is a fun book to read, and is great because when you think the that you've figured out who the killer is that person dies. HA HA HA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2001

    Boring Book

    This was the first Agatha Christie book that I've read, and I must say that it was disappointing. The plot is too fast and the author didn't elaborate on many things. It was pointless because the reader already knows what's going to happen at the end just by the plain foreshadowing in the book. The only thing I liked abou this book was the 'whodunit' feeling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3