Customer Reviews for

And Then There Were None

Average Rating 4.5
( 692 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(525)

4 Star

(88)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

This book is awesome!

Eight strangers were invited in an isolated island by a mysterious couple. As they reached the isolated island, they found a house but found no one except for a butler and his wife. But where are the couple who invited them? Until during dinner, they heard a mysterious ...
Eight strangers were invited in an isolated island by a mysterious couple. As they reached the isolated island, they found a house but found no one except for a butler and his wife. But where are the couple who invited them? Until during dinner, they heard a mysterious voice accusing all of them, including the butler and his wife, that they are all murderers! Until one by one, they start to die...

I love the characters. The plot and the settings are also awesome! The twists are awesome, too! It is very suspenseful and thrilling. It is also a bit scary. The ending is very surprising!

Agatha Christie is my favorite author.

posted by Japee on February 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Giving up on it.

I have tried many times to read this book and have failed each and every one. I find the writting to be dull and sometimes hard to follow. As for the story, well I can't comment since I haven't read it through. It does seem to drag along though. Anyway, I wouldn't recom...
I have tried many times to read this book and have failed each and every one. I find the writting to be dull and sometimes hard to follow. As for the story, well I can't comment since I haven't read it through. It does seem to drag along though. Anyway, I wouldn't recommend this to anyone and feel I wasted my money.

posted by 14362158 on January 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 525 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 27
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Wow

    Great book! This was one of my favorites! Hope u will read it too!:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    No name(:

    Amazing book! Most read ... i read it last year and enjoyed every minute of it(:

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Anonymous

    Amazing book from cover to cover

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    A Long Time Ago

    I read this book about four years ago, and I have yet to read a better mystery book than this one. If I can recall, this book had a ginormous twist at the end. I love the idea of this story and the thrilling scenes as well as the scenes that blew my mind. A great story; a must-read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thrilling!!!

    I loved this book!! I read it all in one day! Agatha Christie has an incredible imagination! The end is fantastic, totally unespected

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2009

    Slow beginning

    The story starts off slow only to speed up at an almost exponential pace. This has to be one of her best works and also one of the finest works in the mystery genre. The ending was just beyond my imagination.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    This is the best book I've ever read!

    This book is filled with mystery and psychological drama. Ten strangers are invited to a secluded island for the weekend. Their hosts are nowhere to be found, and in their bedrooms they find the poem "Ten Little Soldiers". Then, at dinner, they notice ten soldier statuettes. It is soon realized that each guest is somehow responspible for a death. Then the guests are slowly killed off one by one, according to the poem. There are nonstop twists and turns that will keep you guessing not only "Who is the killer," but also "Who will die next, and how?" We also go inside the brains of each guest, witnessing their psychological changes of heart. I strongly reccomend this book to everyone, mystery fans to avid readers, and even if you hate reading, read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Mehdi Elmouchtari<BR/>Mrs.Sullivan<BR/>ELA 8H<BR/>October 29, 2008<BR/><BR/>AND THEN THERE WERE NONE IS AGATHA CHRISTIE AT HER FINEST!!! No other mystery author can come close. I loved every sentence and hung to every word. Nothing could prepare me for this glittering gem of a novel. <BR/>Unlike other Agatha Christie books, in this one, everyone is a detective, as well as a suspect. The story takes place on Indian Island, a nice location off the coast of Devon. 10 people are gathered due to a myriad of reasons, but the victims have one shared characteristic: a dark and tortured past. A sadistic killer is hidden among the 10, and people are picked off, one by one. Because of the killer¿s sick sense of humor, a poem (10 little Indians) is hung in every room, and the deaths all correspond to this poem! Every time someone is killed, one of the ten Indian porcelain figures is smashed.<BR/>Spooky, eh? My blood ran cold when the gramophone record, detailing the victims¿ jagged pasts was played. I gasped when the first little Indian figure was destroyed. I can¿t even explain how bad I felt for the last few survivors, dripping with accusations and hysteria.<BR/>A masterpiece of such magnitude could only be written by Agatha Christie. I love the way red herrings are spread all over the story, hidden in plain sight. No one can take your suspicions, invert them, and revert them like she can. Even though these 10 victims were killed in 1938, their confusion can still be felt.<BR/>If you haven¿t read this book, READ IT NOW!!!!! DON¿T DELAY!!! If you can read, and you have the means to buy it, this book will become your favorite. Everyone should read this book at least once.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    Fantastic!

    I read this book during spring break a few years ago. I read it at three in the morning, and I got so scared, I was too scared to get a glass of water! I had my friend read it for a project we were doing, and she got to the point where the guy says that U.N. Owen is one of us, and there, her mom turned off the lights, and my friend screamed. I told another kid about the plot, and now HE wants to read it! If you don't like this book, you don't know what you've missed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2008

    Chilling!

    This is a fantastic book! I abosuletly HATE mystery, but when I read this, I was instantly captavated! I was quickly sucked into the book, and I coulnd't wait to find out how it ended! I loved it and I think that it is a great read for people who have never liked mystery. 'Ten little indians, going out do dine...'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2008

    Great Read!

    I thought that with so many characters I was going to get so confused with everyone and that they were not going to have any personality, but was I wrong. I truly enjoyed this book from beginning to end. It was beautifully written!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2008

    Good book

    This book so mystery slover and you need to read it because once you start to read you want to keep reading it so read it is so good i love agatha christi!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2008

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!

    This book was amazing! It is my favorite book of all time! And Then There Were None is about 10 visitors that go to an island and one-by-one they are murdered! The book just makes you want to keep reading it and never put it down! I would say this is a book for anyone who loves murder stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2008

    And Then There Were None

    And Then There Were None, by Agatha Christie, was a really great read for me. At the beginning, it was confusing with so many names and it progressed slowly. As I got further in, however, I really got into the story. Ten people were mysteriously called to an island by a man named U.N. Owen (a.k.a unknown). During the dinner of the first night a gramophone goes off accusing each person of murdering someone. This was true but they were found innocent by the law. The people go as follows: ¿ Edward Armstrong: accused for causing the death of a patient on the operating table. ¿ Emily Brent: accused for causing the death of her maid. Her maid got pregnant and Mrs. Brent fired her, causing her maid to throw herself into the river. ¿ William Blore: accused for causing the death of a criminal. He laid out fake evidence and the crook later died in jail. ¿ Vera Claythorne: accused for causing the death of a little boy so that the inheritance may go to her lover. ¿ Philip Lombard: accused of leaving 21 native men to die in the wilderness. ¿ John Macarthur: accused of deliberately sending his wife¿s lover to his death. ¿ Thomas and Ethel Rogers: brought the death of the woman they were serving. ¿ Lawrence Wargrave: accused of sending an innocent man to jail. He later died in prison. One by one these people die accordingly to a nursery rhyme with 10 little Indian boys. During this period they figure out that they are the only people on the island, so unknown must be one of them. The problem is who? I usually don¿t like murder mysteries but this is probably my favorite book so

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2008

    AMAZING!

    I would recomend this book, And Then There Were None, to anyone who enjoys reading suspenseful murder mysteries. I think Agatha Christie did a fantastic job of writing this book and never failed to keep me wanting to read. This book starts out as you meet ten completely different people, all of who have been invited by a Mr. U.N. Owen to mysterious Indian Island. Upon arriving, they meet eachother for the first time. When going to unpack in their seperate rooms they each find a poem about ten little indian boys who die one by one. Then at dinner when they are eating the gramophone goes off. It states that each person has been charged of the murder of a different person. As the book continues each person dies accordingly to the poem and as each person dies a china doll dissapears from the dining room table. The remaining people searched, but found no one else is on teh sisland, so the killer must be one of them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2008

    Awesome Read

    ¿And Then There Were None¿ is a murder mystery novel written by the best selling Agatha Christie. Known for her 80 mystery novels, and for her contribution to the development of the genre of mystery, she is called the `Queen of Crime¿. The book involves a mysterious island in which ten guests were invited to stay by an unknown host. The guests included a butler and his wife, an ex-policeman, an old colonial, an old woman, a doctor, a business woman, an old judge, a young rebel, and a man involved in a war. When they get there, they are each accused by a mysterious voice of being involved, in some way, with the deaths of people in their pasts. In each of their rooms there is a poem about ten little Indian boys. In each verse of the poem one of the Indians is picked off, and on the island the people start dying in correspondence to the way that the Indians disappear in the poem. Who is the mysterious host and what is the true purpose of their stay? Find out in ¿ And Then There Were None¿.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    Amazing Book

    This book is one of Agatha Christie's best novels. (She has been outsold by only Shakespeare and the Bible.) The mystery is nearly impossible, but extremely clever. It is a unique book that I would highly reccomend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    To below

    Read post below you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Should I read it?

    Hello. I'm only a twelve year old girl and i enjoy reading fantasy books. I've read many advanced books. I read The Giver by Lois Lowry in fourth grade and The Tales Of Edgar Allan Poe in sixth grade. I've read all kinds of book, but I dont remember reading a book like this (mystery/horror). My mom told me that she'd read it when she was around my age, but I can sometimes get really scared, although I try not to show it. So do you this I should read this book or not? Please reply ASAP with a reason. Thank you!
    -Kathy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    Great

    Very suspensful. A little creepy, in a good way. Can be confusing/boring first chapter, but just have a bit of patience. The ending is mind-blowing. If you're concerned about age, I would just make sure you know the reader well enough. I'm twelve and I had no problem with it, (I like mystery and crime shows), but it may be a bit mature for some readers. Overall wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 525 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 27