Customer Reviews for

And They Called Her Spider

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun little story

Good for steampunk fans. Good characters and atmosphere, nice action. More of a thriller than a mystery though. Look forward to the next story.

posted by TheNonePercent on January 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

And They Called Her Spider by Michael Coorlim is a fun short rea

And They Called Her Spider by Michael Coorlim is a fun short read. I'm not much for mystery or crime novels, but this was pretty enjoyable.
The story goes that there is a skilled asassin doing unbelievable acts of gymnastics and dance then amazing escapes all in the act...
And They Called Her Spider by Michael Coorlim is a fun short read. I'm not much for mystery or crime novels, but this was pretty enjoyable.
The story goes that there is a skilled asassin doing unbelievable acts of gymnastics and dance then amazing escapes all in the act of killing seemingly random targets. The two detectives for hire, Bartelby and James, are brought on the case. Bartelby is something of a fanboy of the Spider as the assassin has come to be calledl and his partner is somewhat anoyed to be one step behind him.
I didn't much care for the transitions. They were somewhat abrupt giving the piece a kind of "Law and Order" kind of feel to it. It worked to move the story along, but I didn't much care for it.
Still overall I was fsirly entertained and interested in what was going to happen next (even though I don't much like crime novels, I love Law and Order).
I'm giving this three stars.

posted by sporkdelis on May 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    James and Bartleby are wonderful characters! I love this style a

    James and Bartleby are wonderful characters! I love this style and time period … very Holmes and Watson, which I adore! The story was great, it had mystery and some darkness to it, but a bit of humor in the way these two men interact with each other and the changing world around them made the whole thing very entertaining! It is a very short story, I would love to know more about them and their lives and what will happen next! I can’t wait to read more!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    Fun little story

    Good for steampunk fans. Good characters and atmosphere, nice action. More of a thriller than a mystery though. Look forward to the next story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Good Start

    "And They Called Her Spider" is an interesting enough start for a mystery series. The characters are distinct and compelling, particularly the interaction between the two main characters - I think that this shows a lot of promise, and I see a lot of cool ways this series can go in future stories.

    I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 just because I thought it could use a little more characterization. I realize that it's a short story but I just want more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Author needs to review this book!

    This book was released with the editorial notes interspersed throughout. I would be happy to recommend to readers this book when that is fixed. It's a disjointed read because of those and hard to get into. With the excellent cover it's sure to be a hit after that's corrected.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Great

    Wow!!!!!! What a fantastic book. It is a fast paced book. It keeps you guessing. A great job. I loved the ending. J... :-@

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2012

    I love steampunk!! And this book deliveries it with guns a blazi

    I love steampunk!! And this book deliveries it with guns a blazing…the book is about two private detectives or I should say consultants for Scotland Yard.  One is a rich playboy type and the other is a scientific engineer. They are hired by Scotland Yard to help them find an assassin that is killing people that shouldn’t have been killed because of their exemplary security yet it is being done without effort.  And with the Queen’s Platinum Jubilee just days away the assassin had to be stopped. The eye witness’ say that the assassin is dressed like a jester in black and red fabric, powdered white face, bells and moves so fast and fluid that she can’t be human, but if not human what? 

    The only problem I had with the book was it was too short…I am going to get everything that Mr. Coorlim has written.  The cover art work is astonishing on all of his books.  

    I am giving this book my highest recommendation and you will be seeing my reviews on all of Mr. Coorlim books that I can devour…I can’t wait for the adventure…   

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    4 STARS A Bartleby and James Adventure 1 It's a nice short detec

    4 STARS
    A Bartleby and James Adventure 1
    It's a nice short detective story. I would love to see it longer.
    detectives James Wainwright and Alton Bartleby are the two central characters.
    Alton is a rich member of the ton and James is a smart, loner that wants no one to come in his lab and distrube him. Even his partner Alton who built it for him in his basement. They are interesting and play off each other well.
    I like the characters and would like to see more of them in action. Easy to follow the story.
    I was given this ebook to read and asked in return to give honest review from Librarything.
    Published by PoMoCo Press Published: Dec. 22, 2011

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    And They Called Her Spider by Michael Coorlim is a fun short rea

    And They Called Her Spider by Michael Coorlim is a fun short read. I'm not much for mystery or crime novels, but this was pretty enjoyable.
    The story goes that there is a skilled asassin doing unbelievable acts of gymnastics and dance then amazing escapes all in the act of killing seemingly random targets. The two detectives for hire, Bartelby and James, are brought on the case. Bartelby is something of a fanboy of the Spider as the assassin has come to be calledl and his partner is somewhat anoyed to be one step behind him.
    I didn't much care for the transitions. They were somewhat abrupt giving the piece a kind of "Law and Order" kind of feel to it. It worked to move the story along, but I didn't much care for it.
    Still overall I was fsirly entertained and interested in what was going to happen next (even though I don't much like crime novels, I love Law and Order).
    I'm giving this three stars.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    ,

    Enjoyed the book. A good ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2014

    Cool short story. The author has a great voice and the text was

    Cool short story. The author has a great voice and the text was well edited. I liked the two main characters, Bartleby and James, so different from one another but great chemistry. :) 

    There is also a fantastic black and white drawing round the middle of the story, showing Spider in action. I didn't expect it and was very pleasantly surprised. 

    I see this is the first of a series, so I'll be following up on the rest of the books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Awesome!

    I loved this. It was well written and the characters were likable but human. I am a sucker for best friend type stories and Bartleby and James are certainly that. Very good read. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Review Tally: Overall: 3 1/2 STARS Story/Plot: 4 - First off,

    Review Tally:

    Overall: 3 1/2 STARS

    Story/Plot: 4 - First off, "And They Called Her Spider," is a novella. It's the first of (to date) 8 novellas featuring Bartleby & James Wainwright, who are consulting detectives in a steampunk world entitled "The Galvanic Century."

    Next, I did enjoy the story and wished instead of being a novella, it was a long involved story. I'd have enjoyed to see more of this "Galvanic Century" and a little more information regarding - SPOILERS.

    I would highly recommend this book though, which is one reason I don't want to spoil some of the information which we learn in the story. If you like steampunk, mysteries, gentlemen detectives or automatons, you should pick up this first novella or if you're interested in reading the first 4 in the series, check out The Collected Bartleby and James Adventures.

    Re-read Value: 3 - Another 50/50.

    I should mention here, I usually remember everything I read, which is why this number is usually a low number and has NOTHING to do with value of the book, plot or author. It's a little annoying, but usually if I pick up a book I have read previously, I remember what happened. This is convenient for me regarding series because when the next book comes out in a series, I don't have to re-read or refresh my memory on what happened previously. That being said, sometimes I think back on a series and wonder did it happen prior to this happening or I might REALLY love the series or a specific character or mystery and choose to re-read a book.

    Since I DO plan to continue this series, as well as purchase The Collected Bartleby and James Adventures, I just might decide to read the whole volume from cover to cover.

    Continue Series: 4 - Yes. As mentioned above I'd like to continue the series. I would like to find out more about . . . again SPOILERS.

    PS, every time I think that word now, I hear River saying it in my head.

    Characters: 4 - Bartleby and James Wainwright are heralded as "Consulting Detectives" similar to Sherlock Holmes. Sadly, I didn't agree with this assessment. Please do not let this turn you off though. Rather, I thought Bartleby was more in the vain of Lord Peter Wimsey and James Wainwright was more akin to a steampunk engineering genius - thinking back on some parts of the story, you might even think he is an "evil genius."

    Before you think the novellas only focus on these two characters, they do not. There are quite a few characters who are interesting in this series- some of whom, are introduced in this first volume and some are merely alluded to.

    As I said, if you read the first installment, you might become hooked and need to pick up the next few in the series. Or that could just be me.

    Cover: 4 - Ok, here is me going on again. I LOVED this cover. If I saw it in a store, I would run over and check what the book is about. This could be because of the Harlequin on the cover. I am just a huge sucker for this type of thing.

    Now, this book is a Steampunk novella, but the actual cover doesn't make you think that. On the other hand, the cover DOES play into the overall theme and storyline of the book. So it's perfect.

    Genre Fulfillment: 4 - I actually considered giving this a 5, because everything I love about the Steampunk genre was THERE in this story. Although, I would have loved more airships, but that is just me. . .

    That being said, why didn't I give it a 5? Mainly, it was due to this being a series about "Gentlemen/Consulting Detectives" who live in a steampunk world. I felt the mystery part of the story was good, but could have been expanded and more involved. I also wished there had been more regarding this steampunk/"Galvanic Century" world, but I did understand the author would explain more as the series continues.

    Personal Involvement: 3 - I know what you are thinking. Right now you're saying so why did you give this a 50/50 rating when so far your review regarding this series is glowing. My only excuse is at the current moment, I don't feel strongly about the series. I do want to find out more of what is going on and I do plan to continue the series, so this number as I continue will probably grow, but presently my mind is more on the world building and the mystery side of the story rather the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Very good short story

    29 pages long, part of a series.
    I really enjoyed this. For a short story, you get a good feel for the characters, and the story is quite interesting.
    JB

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1