BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

And on the Eighth Day She Rested: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    A nice read

    This was the first J.D. Mason novel I read. It was some time ago that I read it but I don't remember it was pretty good and amazing how Ruth turned herself around.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2014

    Great Book!

    I really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Awesome

    Started off a little slow and CONFUSING so I was worried but this book was truly the BOMB!!! A Must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    So many emotions

    I went through so many emotions reading this book. I didn't think I would like it with such a heavy topic as spousal abuse,but it was so worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Loved it!!

    Great book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Very moving

    First book I've read by JD. Very moving book that will have in tears crying with empathy, and laughing with craziness. Loved the women chatacters as well as the men. Two thumbs up and a snap.
    Deni :-D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    gr8

    This was a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Loved this book

    Very wise and powerful. It shows that life has its lessons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Recommended

    Great read for that up and coming single woman going through changes as a result of a bad relationship. Very empowering.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Nice

    I just could not put it down, the story was nice, sad, romantic, and so truth

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is a MUST READ!!!!!!!!!!

    This author puts you in this mentally,phyiscally and emotionally.J D Mason is a WIZARD with words.I highly recommend this book.C.Underhill

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    For Finally Overcoming Obstacles

    Wonderful Book with rich characters that distinctively have their own personalities. However, when everyone can get on one page to help a larger cause, that is what Social Services embodies and embraces. The hardships, struggles, fear, and inner turmoil that helps Ruth become the Free butterfly that she is, is a rainbow after the storm. Good read for anyone struggling to "BE!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2007

    WONDERFUL!!!

    I must say this book is outstanding. I, too, could not put it down. There were times that Ruth really frustrated me because she acted more like a little girl rather than a grown woman. But I must admit, she became the strong black woman that I knew she could. I simply loved Bernie. She had that tell you like it is, just keeping it real attitude. I respected her for that. However, there were times that I wished she would stop fighting the truth. All in all, this book is a must have. It will bring tears to your eyes and a smile to your face (an occational bust out laughing as well). Simply loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2006

    wow

    this book was great it just made me want to read on non stop

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2006

    NEVER PUT ALL YOUR TRUST IN MAN.

    WHAT A POWERFUL NOVEL. I COULD NOT PUT THIS BOOK DOWN UNTIL IT WAS COMPLETED. THE CHARACTERS IN THIS BOOK HAS A WAY OF CAPTURING YOU AND HOLDING YOUR ATTENTION. RUTH SHOWS US THAT NO MATTER HOW DARK THE SITUATION MAY BE IN YOUR LIFE, YOU CAN STILL DRAW STRENGTH FROM YOUR FRIENDS AND CONTINUE TO JOURNEY ON. I MUST SAY THAT I WAS SHOCKED WHEN ADRAIN DECIDED TO LEAVE. NOT ONLY WAS RUTH UPSET, BUT I WAS ALSO. I HAVE A FRIEND WITH THE SAME MAKE-UP OF BERNIE, AND SHE IS SO MUCH OF FUN TO BE AROUND. THIS BOOK IS A MUST READ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2006

    A MUST READ!

    I absolutely loved this book!! I keep finding myself referring to this book as though it were part of my life. I've got 3 sisters of my own, so I can really relate to the different personalities. I found myself literally laughing out loud and crying throughout this book. I feel like I now know each of the characters personally. I intended on giving my book to my sister after reading it. I changed my mind and bought her her own instead!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2006

    Not finished but I cant put it down

    Eventhough, I have not completed the book, i was enjoying it so much that I had to look at the reviews to see if other people thought it was JUST AS GOOD! I highly reommend this book, from the begining to the middle, i havent stopped laughing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    Amazing! Inspirational!

    I just finished the book yesterday. It was incredibly sad, strong, and romantic... It gives inpiration to women just coming out of bad marriage as i am. it gives hope to those who have lost all theirs. Congrats to Ms. Mason, for writing such a fantastic book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2005

    damn what a book

    this book was sensational. It took me little over three days to finish it because it had me hooked, i couldn't put it down.I recommend everyone to read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2005

    Loved IT!

    I read the book in about 2 days...give or take eating...It was amazing to me how a woman who had gone through so much was able to get out and help someone else. She didnt wallow in self pity...I think the book is inspirational.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2