BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

And the Band Played On: Politics, People and the AIDS Epidemic

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Hard to read, IMPOSSIBLE to put down.

    While I learned more about a the gay lifestyle than I really wanted to know, this taut, fascinating account of the AIDS crisis kept me rapt from start to finish. The author's journalistic skills serve him very well as he traces the chronology of the epidemic through a group of friends and their personal involvement in the crisis, intertwined with the medical and political entities attempting to identify the problem. As the author clearly shows, political conflicts within the gay and medical communities, as well as the denial and inertia of government, resulted in delaying solutions to stem the spread of the virus. Great read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Make this Book Required Reading

    Absolutley brilliant chronicling of the first decade of the HIV/AIDS crisis. Demonstrates in no uncertain terms how our society missed the boat by letting early opportunities to curb the spread of HIV. Fascinating look at the social and governmental response, both in the U.S. and around the world.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the most amazing and educational books I have ever read .

    This is the first book I read by Randy Shilts, but upon completion I immediately read the rest of his books. Randy Shilts is an incredible artist who used his talents to bring to the world the staggering and horrific truth about the AIDS epidemic. While this book focuses on the devastating effect that aids had on the gay and lesbian community, it is a book that is newsworthy even today and relevant for all readers. For people seeking to learn more about the homosexual community, many leaders of the gay community who were lost, leaving the community for decades without leadership, appear in this book. Those people include Cleve Jones to Bill Krause to Larry Kramer. This book contains the most trustworthy accounts of a historic time than any novel I know, which was sourced using journalistic methods. In writing this book, Randy Shilts not only wrote himself into literary history, he became a hero of the gay community.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Win a free ipad

    Kkiss you hand and type this in 3 different books and look under your pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Haven't read it yet, but looks promising.

    I purchased for a later read, based on a suggestion by B & N. I can't review yet, but it looks to be a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    A must read

    An incredible look back at a frightening and frustrating time. Check out the documentary "How to Survive a Plague" - inspiring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Facinating Read

    Easy to read and very detailed. A must read for anyone who works in the healthcare industry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    Best book ever. I read it years ago and it has stuck with me.

    Best book ever. I read it years ago and it has stuck with me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    Engrossing

    This book is very detailed in its review of the politics and the environment of the
    early 1980's when the first case of AIDS was diagnosed. The politics of that time
    between the CDC, NIH, the state and federal government, and the gay community
    are fascinating and very scary. However, reading this book, one can draw
    comparable scenarios in the health care environment that continue to this day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    Never Wanted to Read It...But WOW!

    Boy was I impressed. This epic chronology of the AIDS epidemic covers it all. How air travel helped spread AIDS from coast to coast among gay men in America. How sexual practices in vogue left U.S. gay males vulnerable. The role of Africa. The politics, homophobia, and institutional inaction. The impact of Rock Hudson. The differences in how New York City and San Francisco responded. The exponential spread of the epidemic. How gays started fighting back. The chilling delays for action in the blood bank industry. The rush to isolate the cause, which started petty turf wars between universities, science institutes, and between the U.S. and France. The battle for funds which were always too little too late. Details we either never knew or completely forgot about how this all unfolded.
    Some of the heroes are the scientists and doctors; some of the villains are the bureaucrats of the Reagan administration and of the state and local governments. As with his other books, there is plenty of blame and bravery to go around.
    Shilts was a journalist with a great technique for writing page-turner history. Even with all of our hindsight, it keeps us curious about who knew what when. Turns out I could barely put it down.
    Highly recommended as a modern history of our time for all adults who witnessed it or who were born later. A fantastic cast of real characters whose lives forever changed as did ours. Covers mostly 1976 to 1986.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2003

    Fantastic!

    The bible!. Randy covers the first six years of the epidemic in extreme detail as it actually happend.My kind of book.He exaustively cronicles each event in every location.I had a very difficult time putting it down.It is a great loss that he is no longer with us.I deffinately recomend this book to anyone who's interested in this hightly controversial time in our history.Clearly the greatest plague in modern history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2003

    an eye-opener

    First off, I must confess that I have not yet read the book but I have seen the HBO movie and understand it is very true to the book. If this is true, I am aprehensive to read it. This story about the epidemic of the AIDS virus has truly opened my eyes. The two things that made me the most fustrated was the Regan administration and the additude of Dr. Robert Gallo, who's goals seemed to lean more towards getting the credit for finding this disease than it should have about the cause of it and how it can be prevented. Also the bloodbank's unwillingness to scan blood for this disease which also contributed largely to the death toll. I cannot wait to read the book and I'm sure it will be amazing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2002

    A wake up call for my generation

    This book was amazing, frightening and liberating. A true wake up call for me and countless others on what actually happened in the beginning of AIDS. For those of us too young to remember the beginning of AIDS, this book shows us the importance of respect, humanity and fighting for the cause. I have read it and then read it again and I keep turning each page like it is my first time. Randy Shilts showed the struggle people went through just to live through this, all the time knowing they wouldnt. He also shows how people were so fearful of anything associated with the word gay, they let innocent people die. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants the truth and wants to be profoundly moved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2002

    Absolutely amazing

    this book is an essential read for anyone interested in any facet of the AIDS epidemic. it covers the disease medically, politically, and gives personal accounts of the bravery of its victims. highly recomended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2000

    Fabulous Histor regarding the AIDS epidemic

    This is a great book for anyone that wants to read about AIDS, how it was found, and what society did and did not do to cure the pandemic. The author chronicles the lives of AIDS patients, doctors, CDC staff members, and government offials and their roles in dealing with this 'Gay disease.' It is very factual and gives accounts of the numbers diagnosed, and dying with the disease as the years progressed from its first diagnoses onward.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2000

    Such an Important Book!!!

    If I could give it more than five I would. It is seriously the most detailed history of any time in place I have ever read. It is not only rich with information, but very touching and eye-opening. Learn about how stupid people can be and how politics killed thousands, no millions, unnessacarily. Also learn how endearing humans are and how a community came together which is no meager glory. ~Scarlett~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2