Customer Reviews for

And the Mountains Echoed

Average Rating 4
( 719 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(359)

4 Star

(175)

3 Star

(99)

2 Star

(49)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

71 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

Khaled Hosseini's writing is masterfully meticulous, poetic and

Khaled Hosseini's writing is masterfully meticulous, poetic and enchanting.
He gives his characters depth and beauty in a way that few authors are able.
The first half of this particular novel is brilliant, rich in detail and word; It reads like poetry.
In the second...
Khaled Hosseini's writing is masterfully meticulous, poetic and enchanting.
He gives his characters depth and beauty in a way that few authors are able.
The first half of this particular novel is brilliant, rich in detail and word; It reads like poetry.
In the second half of the novel, Hosseini's intentions became too obvious, which was frustrating for me because in his other novels, he was able to subtly weave in what he wanted the reader to take from his novel. That said, and before I continue, I must say that despite this, the book is still powerful and still worthy of acclaim. This book touches upon the diaspora of Afghan citizens; there is no distinct main character - instead, each story is an account which represents the lives, hurdles and world perceptions of people who have fled Afghanistan, remained in Afghanistan, returned to Afghanistan, even touching upon Narco-terrorism and Taliban restrictions and ramifications. I found that several characters were essential only to the story in that they filled a slot where Hosseini intended to teach his reader. This is commendable for a writer and a novel however, the stories grew less heartening as the book went on. While a good writer knows that a happy ending can ruin a book, and I was pleased Hosseini did not travel this route, I was dissatisfied. I understand that that could have been Hosseini's intention as the plight of Afghanistan is heartrendingly dissatisfying. I still feel that Hosseini could have done better justice in the end of the book. His final narrator, Pari, was not as endearing or as instrumental to the story than others in it were. I was disappointed that she was gifted with closing such a massive, generational story. The frequent, interminable shifting of characters (none returned to) grew tiresome. Hosseini is gifted at drawing his readers in, so the changes did not ruin the story, but certainly took from my captivation. Nit-picking aside, I would recommend this novel with high praise for its poetic nature and educational undertones. Hosseini's writing is incomparable and I only give it such a tedious review because I know how capable he is. I will forever be a fan, buying and cherishing anything he publishes.    

posted by Bookwoorm on May 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

This book seems okay

I can see why some people would like this book, but it really wasn't for me. I don't really like emotional books, so this one wasn't so great. It just reminded me of one of the books my fourth grade teacher would like. I also read another book, years ago, that was simil...
I can see why some people would like this book, but it really wasn't for me. I don't really like emotional books, so this one wasn't so great. It just reminded me of one of the books my fourth grade teacher would like. I also read another book, years ago, that was similar to this one. It was also kind of half poem, and had a complicated message that has to do with emotions. It was called The Underneath. Anyway, I would not reread this book, because, like I said, it is too emotional.

posted by 16970216 on May 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 175 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted May 23, 2013

    Khaled Hosseini's writing is masterfully meticulous, poetic and

    Khaled Hosseini's writing is masterfully meticulous, poetic and enchanting.
    He gives his characters depth and beauty in a way that few authors are able.
    The first half of this particular novel is brilliant, rich in detail and word; It reads like poetry.
    In the second half of the novel, Hosseini's intentions became too obvious, which was frustrating for me because in his other novels, he was able to subtly weave in what he wanted the reader to take from his novel. That said, and before I continue, I must say that despite this, the book is still powerful and still worthy of acclaim. This book touches upon the diaspora of Afghan citizens; there is no distinct main character - instead, each story is an account which represents the lives, hurdles and world perceptions of people who have fled Afghanistan, remained in Afghanistan, returned to Afghanistan, even touching upon Narco-terrorism and Taliban restrictions and ramifications. I found that several characters were essential only to the story in that they filled a slot where Hosseini intended to teach his reader. This is commendable for a writer and a novel however, the stories grew less heartening as the book went on. While a good writer knows that a happy ending can ruin a book, and I was pleased Hosseini did not travel this route, I was dissatisfied. I understand that that could have been Hosseini's intention as the plight of Afghanistan is heartrendingly dissatisfying. I still feel that Hosseini could have done better justice in the end of the book. His final narrator, Pari, was not as endearing or as instrumental to the story than others in it were. I was disappointed that she was gifted with closing such a massive, generational story. The frequent, interminable shifting of characters (none returned to) grew tiresome. Hosseini is gifted at drawing his readers in, so the changes did not ruin the story, but certainly took from my captivation. Nit-picking aside, I would recommend this novel with high praise for its poetic nature and educational undertones. Hosseini's writing is incomparable and I only give it such a tedious review because I know how capable he is. I will forever be a fan, buying and cherishing anything he publishes.    

    71 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    I have read all of Mr.Hosseini's book and loved them all. He is

    I have read all of Mr.Hosseini's book and loved them all. He is a gifted writer who can take you to these far away places as though you were actually there. His characters are so real, so human. I have to say though, that since there are so many of them, it is hard to fully connect the way I did with the characters in previous books.  It's a must read none the less.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    I liked this story because it had all the elements of an engross

    I liked this story because it had all the elements of an engrossing tale - exotic setting, sympathetic characters, frustrating characters, varying plots, maddening circumstances, familial love, lots of reality, a little fantasy, human kindness, harshness - all relatable to the readers' lives - because in the end it is a story of humanity. Who cannot love the first character, little Pari, so innocent and trusting. And poor Abdullah who experiences a heartwrenching loss that little Pari does not even remember later in life. I had to read the whole book just to see how that vignette played out! Yes, the author told many intriguing stories of other Afghans after that, all the while educating us about the circumstances of the country and their effects on its people. Because the stories ended and started up again showing years later, the reader had to make the connections and interesting relationships like the story of Iqbal. The author also makes the connection between Afghans and the Afghan Americans. And how can your heart not go out to Roshi, a child victim of war, and Talia, a child victim of a family split-up? This author demonstrates perception into the human frailties as well as great warmth. Yes, he does weave all the seemingly disconnected tales together toward the end which makes for fantastic writing and editing skills.. I, too, look forward to his next novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    And the Moun­tains Echoed by Khaled Hos­seini is the long awaite

    And the Moun­tains Echoed by Khaled Hos­seini is the long awaited novel by this best­selling author. Mr. Hoseini’s pre­vi­ous nov­els, The Kite Run­ner and A Thou­sand Splen­did Suns, sold more than 38 mil­lion books.

    A poor Afghan laborer hands over his pre­cious 3-year-old daugh­ter to a wealthy cou­ple liv­ing in Kabul. While Pari quickly for­gets where she came from, her brother Abdul­lah who is very attached to her never does.

    The con­se­quences of the sib­lings’ sep­a­ra­tion are told through a series of over­lap­ping sto­ries from dif­fer­ent per­spec­tive which span a lifetime.

    I was glad to receive a copy of And the Moun­tains Echoed by Khaled Hos­seini from the pub­lisher as I enjoyed both his pre­vi­ous books. When I started read­ing the book two things became imme­di­ately clear – this was not going to be another heart wrench­ing novel and that this is going to be an ambi­tious story.

    This is a char­ac­ter dri­ven novel, the story takes place all over the world over decades, but it’s the char­ac­ters that make you want to come back for the next story. One the reader gets through about half the book, the reader can put together the indi­vid­ual pieces which make the work a whole.

    What I enjoyed in the nar­ra­tive were the sub­tleties which Mr. Hos­seini weaves into his work. Read­ing the sto­ries care­fully, one could revisit the events from another point of view of another char­ac­ter, some­time many pages later.

    The book’s pace slows down in the mid­dle and the sto­ry­telling gets a bit con­fus­ing if one doesn’t pay close atten­tion. The sto­ries changes nar­ra­tive mode which I found to be a bit dis­tract­ing, for exam­ple the last two sec­tions are told in first per­son while the rest of the book is told by an omnipo­tent narrator.

    After fin­ish­ing the book I was impressed by Mr. Hos­seini lit­er­ary brav­ery. After writ­ing two suc­cess­ful nov­els, he could have eas­ily rested on his lau­rels writ­ing story after story which his audi­ence, myself included, expected but instead wrote some­thing com­pletely different.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    I love this story's emotional depth and how it forces you to ide

    I love this story's emotional depth and how it forces you to identify with the characters. Hosseini's writing is beautiful in a simple but profound way. The way he jumps in and out of the lives of characters forms a beautiful work. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    And the Mountains Echoed

    A wonderfully written saga of an Afghan family told through many voices over a 50 year span. From the author of The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns this book lacks the atrocities assosiated with his earlier books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2014

    Enjoyed this book very much.... took a bit to get the names and

    Enjoyed this book very much.... took a bit to get the names and stories to criss cross but by the end of the book they all come together. It was a real life portrait of how things criss cross sometimes without always having the happiest of endings. It doesnt tie up neat and tidy with a bow... but gives a real picture of how things can roll out and how lives can have ripple effects on other lives.... A good read..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Hosseini is one of my all time favorite authors. I read his firs

    Hosseini is one of my all time favorite authors. I read his first two books (The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Skies) and LOVED them both. I couldn't wait to get my hands on this book.  Unfortunately, it turned out to be my least favorite of the three.  The first half of the book drew me in and got me hooked but the second half not so much.  He frequently introduced new characters in different time periods.  It became a bit difficult too follow and story lost its intensity.  I kept wanting the story to go back to Abdullah and Pari but Hosseini just continued to lose me as I read further into the story. Each chapter was like a different short story.  To summarize, I sobbed in the first two novels but didn't shed a tear in this book. Disappointed. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Great

    I'm an avid reader, but person of few words. Loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Interesting story

    It took me to another part of the world. Human nature isnt that different. The writing style took the reader to different places and different times but as you kept reading it made sense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Beautiful!

    This is a beautiful story about family, sacrifice, & love, but mostly about love. It illustrates how we must sometimes make difficult choices for those we love, & put our own feelings aside. Sometimes our choices are wise & for the best, & other times not. However, we are all responsible for making the best of our own situations. I like the way this story covers multiple generations, but to me it was a little confusing the way the author went back & forth in time for the back stories. Hence 4 stars instead of 5. I appreciate through the author's stories being able to learn about the history & culture of the Afghan people. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    WORTH READING

    This author is always worth reading. This one not as great or flowing, but if you can get past the jumping around, there is good development and always much to learn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    Beautifully written

    Khaled Hosseini is one of the best writers whose work I have read. He has such a wonderful way of expressing things and bringing one into the story. This story is complicated and told from many perspectives. Normally I lose interest when perspective changes, but in this case I did not. My attention was held throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Well done

    I have enjoyed all his books. A chance to travel to places I've never been, and to know there are other views and ways of life. So different from my own yet so very much the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Beautiful

    Lovely read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Hosseini is a master at creating complex, flawed, believable characters

    The dilemmas that the characters encounter, and their responses are not only strikingly believable, but utterly disturbing. Most of us are never placed in situations where we have to make moral decisions that would endanger or even inconvenience us. Therefore, we have the luxury of believing that we would always do the right thing. Hosseini's characters often fail to do the right thing and even occasionally do the "wrong" thing. The uncomfortable reality that he brings home so well, is how entirely we sympathize with these characters and their struggles, their guilt, and their weakness.
    On top of that, he's just a great storyteller.
    This story does however bounce from character to character quite often, and at one point, (when I was just getting comfortable with another scenario and group of people, only to be jolted away to another place and time and set of characters), I thought it was too much!
    I'm glad I persevered though! It was a beautiful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Excellent writing, engrossing book

    I love Hosseini's writing and this was no exception.The only thing that I found less satisfying than his other books was that instead of one narrative, it was a series of related stories. most of the characters were related in some way, but a few of the plot lines seemed to end without resolution.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    This book contains lengthy chapters and many main characters, to

    This book contains lengthy chapters and many main characters, to the point that it is confusing at times. However, it is somewhat easy to see how every chapter and character is critical to the story. 

    This newest novel by Khaled Hosseini deals with many aspects of Afghanistan and life in general. It is powerfully moving, poetic and all around well-written. I really enjoyed getting to know each of the characters and getting to know what they were dealing with and their stories.

    The ending is more than I ever could have imagined and really makes the book come together very nicely. Very well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Great read

    Loved

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    a must read

    Beautifully written and helps to advance understanding of a culture that we have been so entangled in and NEED to understand better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 175 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9