Customer Reviews for

And the Mountains Echoed

Average Rating 4
( 730 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(361)

4 Star

(180)

3 Star

(101)

2 Star

(50)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

74 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

Khaled Hosseini's writing is masterfully meticulous, poetic and

Khaled Hosseini's writing is masterfully meticulous, poetic and enchanting.
He gives his characters depth and beauty in a way that few authors are able.
The first half of this particular novel is brilliant, rich in detail and word; It reads like poetry.
In the second...
Khaled Hosseini's writing is masterfully meticulous, poetic and enchanting.
He gives his characters depth and beauty in a way that few authors are able.
The first half of this particular novel is brilliant, rich in detail and word; It reads like poetry.
In the second half of the novel, Hosseini's intentions became too obvious, which was frustrating for me because in his other novels, he was able to subtly weave in what he wanted the reader to take from his novel. That said, and before I continue, I must say that despite this, the book is still powerful and still worthy of acclaim. This book touches upon the diaspora of Afghan citizens; there is no distinct main character - instead, each story is an account which represents the lives, hurdles and world perceptions of people who have fled Afghanistan, remained in Afghanistan, returned to Afghanistan, even touching upon Narco-terrorism and Taliban restrictions and ramifications. I found that several characters were essential only to the story in that they filled a slot where Hosseini intended to teach his reader. This is commendable for a writer and a novel however, the stories grew less heartening as the book went on. While a good writer knows that a happy ending can ruin a book, and I was pleased Hosseini did not travel this route, I was dissatisfied. I understand that that could have been Hosseini's intention as the plight of Afghanistan is heartrendingly dissatisfying. I still feel that Hosseini could have done better justice in the end of the book. His final narrator, Pari, was not as endearing or as instrumental to the story than others in it were. I was disappointed that she was gifted with closing such a massive, generational story. The frequent, interminable shifting of characters (none returned to) grew tiresome. Hosseini is gifted at drawing his readers in, so the changes did not ruin the story, but certainly took from my captivation. Nit-picking aside, I would recommend this novel with high praise for its poetic nature and educational undertones. Hosseini's writing is incomparable and I only give it such a tedious review because I know how capable he is. I will forever be a fan, buying and cherishing anything he publishes.    

posted by Bookwoorm on May 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

This book seems okay

I can see why some people would like this book, but it really wasn't for me. I don't really like emotional books, so this one wasn't so great. It just reminded me of one of the books my fourth grade teacher would like. I also read another book, years ago, that was simil...
I can see why some people would like this book, but it really wasn't for me. I don't really like emotional books, so this one wasn't so great. It just reminded me of one of the books my fourth grade teacher would like. I also read another book, years ago, that was similar to this one. It was also kind of half poem, and had a complicated message that has to do with emotions. It was called The Underneath. Anyway, I would not reread this book, because, like I said, it is too emotional.

posted by 16970216 on May 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 730 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 37
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    I liked this story because it had all the elements of an engross

    I liked this story because it had all the elements of an engrossing tale - exotic setting, sympathetic characters, frustrating characters, varying plots, maddening circumstances, familial love, lots of reality, a little fantasy, human kindness, harshness - all relatable to the readers' lives - because in the end it is a story of humanity. Who cannot love the first character, little Pari, so innocent and trusting. And poor Abdullah who experiences a heartwrenching loss that little Pari does not even remember later in life. I had to read the whole book just to see how that vignette played out! Yes, the author told many intriguing stories of other Afghans after that, all the while educating us about the circumstances of the country and their effects on its people. Because the stories ended and started up again showing years later, the reader had to make the connections and interesting relationships like the story of Iqbal. The author also makes the connection between Afghans and the Afghan Americans. And how can your heart not go out to Roshi, a child victim of war, and Talia, a child victim of a family split-up? This author demonstrates perception into the human frailties as well as great warmth. Yes, he does weave all the seemingly disconnected tales together toward the end which makes for fantastic writing and editing skills.. I, too, look forward to his next novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Book Drags

    I have read a couple of Khaled Hossenini books, but this book is my least favorite, it drag on and on. The characters did not connect with each other, something was missing.....maybe the book was rushed don't know I am not a writer but I am avid reader.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    And the Moun­tains Echoed by Khaled Hos­seini is the long awaite

    And the Moun­tains Echoed by Khaled Hos­seini is the long awaited novel by this best­selling author. Mr. Hoseini’s pre­vi­ous nov­els, The Kite Run­ner and A Thou­sand Splen­did Suns, sold more than 38 mil­lion books.

    A poor Afghan laborer hands over his pre­cious 3-year-old daugh­ter to a wealthy cou­ple liv­ing in Kabul. While Pari quickly for­gets where she came from, her brother Abdul­lah who is very attached to her never does.

    The con­se­quences of the sib­lings’ sep­a­ra­tion are told through a series of over­lap­ping sto­ries from dif­fer­ent per­spec­tive which span a lifetime.

    I was glad to receive a copy of And the Moun­tains Echoed by Khaled Hos­seini from the pub­lisher as I enjoyed both his pre­vi­ous books. When I started read­ing the book two things became imme­di­ately clear – this was not going to be another heart wrench­ing novel and that this is going to be an ambi­tious story.

    This is a char­ac­ter dri­ven novel, the story takes place all over the world over decades, but it’s the char­ac­ters that make you want to come back for the next story. One the reader gets through about half the book, the reader can put together the indi­vid­ual pieces which make the work a whole.

    What I enjoyed in the nar­ra­tive were the sub­tleties which Mr. Hos­seini weaves into his work. Read­ing the sto­ries care­fully, one could revisit the events from another point of view of another char­ac­ter, some­time many pages later.

    The book’s pace slows down in the mid­dle and the sto­ry­telling gets a bit con­fus­ing if one doesn’t pay close atten­tion. The sto­ries changes nar­ra­tive mode which I found to be a bit dis­tract­ing, for exam­ple the last two sec­tions are told in first per­son while the rest of the book is told by an omnipo­tent narrator.

    After fin­ish­ing the book I was impressed by Mr. Hos­seini lit­er­ary brav­ery. After writ­ing two suc­cess­ful nov­els, he could have eas­ily rested on his lau­rels writ­ing story after story which his audi­ence, myself included, expected but instead wrote some­thing com­pletely different.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    His best yet

    Wonderful story, fabulous writing, don't miss this book

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Just a thought here, if you are going to give a free sample to p

    Just a thought here, if you are going to give a free sample to preview a book (which I do appreciate), perhaps the first 10 pages of the 13 page sample may not have to be the tittle page, copyright info, and chapters listing, etc. A three page sample is a bit... lacking.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    author jumps around too much

    This story was a good story but author jumps back and forth too much. Hard to keep track of names and time period.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Horrible, boring, very slow....I almost put down this book about

    Horrible, boring, very slow....I almost put down this book about 5 times...I actually wish that I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Great read, Khaled Hosseini brings us into many lives across the years and miles. An inspiring story to uplift your own life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    I love this story's emotional depth and how it forces you to ide

    I love this story's emotional depth and how it forces you to identify with the characters. Hosseini's writing is beautiful in a simple but profound way. The way he jumps in and out of the lives of characters forms a beautiful work. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    A Wow Book

    It was too sad everyone died. But it is also very cofusing. You do not know who is who. It also talks about coming of age. Lastly, it changes your perspective of Afghanistan. A must read to all who like complicated books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    And the Mountains Echoed

    Did not like this book. It is not at all like The Kite Runner. Very hard to follow ~ way to much detail into the lives of the characters. I really liked The Kite Runner and was so looking forward to reading this book ~ I did finish reading it only to know what happens at the end. But, would not recommend this book to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    And the Mountains Echoed

    A wonderfully written saga of an Afghan family told through many voices over a 50 year span. From the author of The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns this book lacks the atrocities assosiated with his earlier books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Not his best

    This was good reading but not as good as the authors previous two works. The charachters were very interesting but i thought the story line was too disjointed jumping from sub plot to sub plot and decades to decades. As a result it took a while to realize how the characters and plots were connected.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Hard to follow

    If you could read at one seting, it might be a good read. However, if you read in multiple sittings, it is hard to keep track of the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Long, boring with no point

    Previous 2 books were wonderful true work of literature. This one is choppy to the point of confusing. Parts of it go on too long. Most likely being read due to the good reviews of the previous books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    In my view his two other books were superior.

    Couldn't wait to read this book as I enjoyed his prvious so much.It seemed to lack the anticipation the other two had. Maybe I missed the trend,and found it slow in the middle of the story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    on par with the previous books

    with a different twist. Multiple story lines that begin to come together as the book progresses...interesting

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Duskfall

    Snowstar i suggest moving to a new result because there are real reviews coming in.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2013

    I tried to make this book last longer, but I couldn't wait....ha

    I tried to make this book last longer, but I couldn't wait....had to keep reading. What wonderful insight this author has. I have read all of his books so far and this is without question, THE BEST!!!! This is one that I will re-read over and over!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    This was a fantastic book. I admit, aside from professional jour

    This was a fantastic book. I admit, aside from professional journals and religious books, I have only read his three books in the past ten years. It is the bitter sweetness of life, and I did not put the book down. MashAllah, I am impressed by the foundation, mashAllah. I love too see so much of myself and my relatives, many of them now dead, in his characters. Numakhudah, nazaar nashee.. everyone misses their home, and I miss Freemont-a lot!
    Marie, Colorado.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 730 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 37