Customer Reviews for

And the Mountains Echoed

Average Rating 4
( 727 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(361)

4 Star

(178)

3 Star

(101)

2 Star

(49)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

72 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

Khaled Hosseini's writing is masterfully meticulous, poetic and

Khaled Hosseini's writing is masterfully meticulous, poetic and enchanting.
He gives his characters depth and beauty in a way that few authors are able.
The first half of this particular novel is brilliant, rich in detail and word; It reads like poetry.
In the second...
Khaled Hosseini's writing is masterfully meticulous, poetic and enchanting.
He gives his characters depth and beauty in a way that few authors are able.
The first half of this particular novel is brilliant, rich in detail and word; It reads like poetry.
In the second half of the novel, Hosseini's intentions became too obvious, which was frustrating for me because in his other novels, he was able to subtly weave in what he wanted the reader to take from his novel. That said, and before I continue, I must say that despite this, the book is still powerful and still worthy of acclaim. This book touches upon the diaspora of Afghan citizens; there is no distinct main character - instead, each story is an account which represents the lives, hurdles and world perceptions of people who have fled Afghanistan, remained in Afghanistan, returned to Afghanistan, even touching upon Narco-terrorism and Taliban restrictions and ramifications. I found that several characters were essential only to the story in that they filled a slot where Hosseini intended to teach his reader. This is commendable for a writer and a novel however, the stories grew less heartening as the book went on. While a good writer knows that a happy ending can ruin a book, and I was pleased Hosseini did not travel this route, I was dissatisfied. I understand that that could have been Hosseini's intention as the plight of Afghanistan is heartrendingly dissatisfying. I still feel that Hosseini could have done better justice in the end of the book. His final narrator, Pari, was not as endearing or as instrumental to the story than others in it were. I was disappointed that she was gifted with closing such a massive, generational story. The frequent, interminable shifting of characters (none returned to) grew tiresome. Hosseini is gifted at drawing his readers in, so the changes did not ruin the story, but certainly took from my captivation. Nit-picking aside, I would recommend this novel with high praise for its poetic nature and educational undertones. Hosseini's writing is incomparable and I only give it such a tedious review because I know how capable he is. I will forever be a fan, buying and cherishing anything he publishes.    

posted by Bookwoorm on May 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

This book seems okay

I can see why some people would like this book, but it really wasn't for me. I don't really like emotional books, so this one wasn't so great. It just reminded me of one of the books my fourth grade teacher would like. I also read another book, years ago, that was simil...
I can see why some people would like this book, but it really wasn't for me. I don't really like emotional books, so this one wasn't so great. It just reminded me of one of the books my fourth grade teacher would like. I also read another book, years ago, that was similar to this one. It was also kind of half poem, and had a complicated message that has to do with emotions. It was called The Underneath. Anyway, I would not reread this book, because, like I said, it is too emotional.

posted by 16970216 on May 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Disappointing

    I am a huge fan of the author. In fact "A Thousand Splendid Suns" is one of my favorite books. I have also read "Kite Runner" and now this book. The book is really just a series of stories put together in a way I thought didn't fit that well. I thought it ran a little dry from time to time. The descriptions are beautiful as always though. I do still look forward to whatever Mr. Hosseini has to offer us.

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Disappointed

    Not nearly the book as the first two. I was so excited when I saw this book on the shelves. I rushed back home and purchased it for my Nook. What a disappointed. Save you money.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Just a thought here, if you are going to give a free sample to p

    Just a thought here, if you are going to give a free sample to preview a book (which I do appreciate), perhaps the first 10 pages of the 13 page sample may not have to be the tittle page, copyright info, and chapters listing, etc. A three page sample is a bit... lacking.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    author jumps around too much

    This story was a good story but author jumps back and forth too much. Hard to keep track of names and time period.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Horrible, boring, very slow....I almost put down this book about

    Horrible, boring, very slow....I almost put down this book about 5 times...I actually wish that I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    And the Mountains Echoed

    Did not like this book. It is not at all like The Kite Runner. Very hard to follow ~ way to much detail into the lives of the characters. I really liked The Kite Runner and was so looking forward to reading this book ~ I did finish reading it only to know what happens at the end. But, would not recommend this book to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Long, boring with no point

    Previous 2 books were wonderful true work of literature. This one is choppy to the point of confusing. Parts of it go on too long. Most likely being read due to the good reviews of the previous books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Seth to kenny

    Im guessing you think jordans me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Disappointed

    This book does not compare to the previous two books. I had difficulty following so many characters and the jumping around through time made the story confusing. I had so looked forward to this book, but couldnt stay interested enough to even finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    I was so looking forward to reading this book.   Loved his first

    I was so looking forward to reading this book.   Loved his first two books!  This was boring and did not have any resolution to any of what seemed like a series of short stories haphazardly related.
    Save your money, wish I would have. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    I was so excited to get this book, since I was such a big fan of

    I was so excited to get this book, since I was such a big fan of his last two. This book was borderline awful. I disliked all the characters and found myself constantly saying to myself, "I can't read anymore of this book!' In the end I couldn't even finish it, I found it so bad!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Highly recommended. Just as good as "The Kite Runner"

    Author does a fantastic job in the writing of this one. Enjoyed it just as much as The Kite Runner. Hope he continues to write more of these great books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Vi to Flutter

    Go to next res. Vi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Wat

    Omg how much was this book i wake up and open my nook and the next thing i see is and the mountauns echoed im just a kid idk what this stuff is about so help me and tell me how muh is this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    Not one of my favorites

    very disappointed in this book. Was not a easy read because it skipped around a lot with many different characters. Love to just relax and read but with this one you had to really concentrate on all the different stories being told. would not recommend waste of my money

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Don't buy this in an audio book.....

    I only buy audio books and this one was very hard to listen to. It was like pulling teeth!! I finally stopped listening to it by the 7th disc. I think if "And The Mountains Echoed" was read it would be an excellent read. But it seems that K Hosseini tried to save some money by reading it himself and using one of his friends to read too. I would not recommend this book in audio form.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Worst

    This is the worst book written yet! I was really looking forward to this book but it was so bad. It flipped from character to character with out realizing it and from year to year the same way. It was very hard to follow. The story line was good if only he would have stayed to two characters. It was a waste of time plain and simple.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    hajshjasbabaadsuidsddsdgsuasgasvauhs

    hajshjasbabaadsuidsddsdgsuasgasvauhs

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Very disappointing

    I loved Khaled Hossenini first two books, but this one was just bad. It is very disjointed and annoying to follow the story, the character development is good but after a while you lose interest, because the author jumps around so much. You expect a depressing story line from him, but this just got to be so much that you just lost interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Disappointing

    I did not enjoy this book. I had heard a lot of great reviews on previous books written by this author and felt this book did not fit a review of "great" for me. I was very disappointed. Also when I bought this book I did not receive the discount promised. So I'm also disappointed in Barnes and Noble as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2