Customer Reviews for

And the Shofar Blew

Average Rating 4
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

One of Jesus' Disciples

This is the first book of Francine Rivers I have read. The title piqued my curiousity. This is a must-read for today's modern Christian. Paul has ambitions, dreams, yet cannot live up to his father's or his own expectations. The Church community starts growing, and ...
This is the first book of Francine Rivers I have read. The title piqued my curiousity. This is a must-read for today's modern Christian. Paul has ambitions, dreams, yet cannot live up to his father's or his own expectations. The Church community starts growing, and with it many pains, including a stress on Paul's marriage with Eunice. Then, there is Stephen Decker, a day-at-a-time reformed alcoholic who lost his daughter and marriage because of the alcohol. The old couple, Abby and Samuel, married for 50+ years warm the heart and invite us to age with them gracefully and playfully, offering pure friendship so lacking these days. This book devotes time to meditate on actions, inactions, hurt, anger, love, frustration, ambition, greed, forgiveness, death of a loved one, and much more. Francine Rivers gives you one of many passages of Scripture to reflect and meditate, and for me, to look and see myself in the mirror. There are so many characters that I could identify some small part of myself with what they were as people, their character, and most of all, their common love for the One who loves us most, Jesus Christ. I can't wait to start a library of her books! Thank you, Francine. I really needed to see 'forgiveness in action' for what I am going through. You wrote it!

posted by Anonymous on September 16, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Good

I enjoyed this book and loved how it showed how we are all just one decision away from making the right and wrong choices in life. Long but good paced book.

posted by Books_Dogs_Crafts on July 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2004

    Currently in the Middle of such a church.

    Francine Rivers' novel hit the mark of what I've been thinking for sometime. What is most important; changed lives or a bigger building, mature believers or the number in service, effective use of God's money or a larger budget? Her fictional story is threaded with 'truths' that we all recognized, but are afraid to bring up to the senior leadership of our churches. My heart aches for a return to simply telling the story of Jesus. Thanks for the hope that your story brings!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2003

    One of Jesus' Disciples

    This is the first book of Francine Rivers I have read. The title piqued my curiousity. This is a must-read for today's modern Christian. Paul has ambitions, dreams, yet cannot live up to his father's or his own expectations. The Church community starts growing, and with it many pains, including a stress on Paul's marriage with Eunice. Then, there is Stephen Decker, a day-at-a-time reformed alcoholic who lost his daughter and marriage because of the alcohol. The old couple, Abby and Samuel, married for 50+ years warm the heart and invite us to age with them gracefully and playfully, offering pure friendship so lacking these days. This book devotes time to meditate on actions, inactions, hurt, anger, love, frustration, ambition, greed, forgiveness, death of a loved one, and much more. Francine Rivers gives you one of many passages of Scripture to reflect and meditate, and for me, to look and see myself in the mirror. There are so many characters that I could identify some small part of myself with what they were as people, their character, and most of all, their common love for the One who loves us most, Jesus Christ. I can't wait to start a library of her books! Thank you, Francine. I really needed to see 'forgiveness in action' for what I am going through. You wrote it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2007

    Reading this makes you want to be a better person.

    This story is full of characters whom we all meet daily. It could happen in any town. There's something for everyone in this story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2007

    you have to read this book

    This is the first book I've written by Francine Rivers - I can't wait to read more. A close relative I know is living this experience right now, I can't wait to put this book into her hands. It is strongly laced with teaching and truths from scripture that can apply to anyone's life, anytime, anywhere.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Enthralling

    This book really pulls you into the life of a minister and his family. Obviously this situation does not happen to all ministers, but it opens your eyes to the fact that pastors and their families have struggles too. Being a preachers kid, its hard growing up and being held to a higher standard than everyone else. I loved this book I thought it was incredible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    Truth for today!

    Francine does it again! She shows the heart of God, which is love and forgiveness, while also keeping His Word pure. This nation has left her first love, and seeks to "have their ears tickled" rather than hearing the uncompromised Word of God. I'm thankful I attend a church that preaches God's Word wholeheartedly! This is a "must read" for Christians today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    highly recommended

    If you're questioning whether you're in the right church home currently, perhaps reading this story will touch your heart as deep as it did mine; convicting in many ways! You will not be disappointed. It starts slow, but stick with it, read on and you'll be glad you did.

    I believe every family church member and definitely those in leadership roles should read this!

    Hearts are pierced and motives questioned!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2010

    Every Pastor and his/her wife should read this book

    Great story, every Pastor and their spouses should read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    it's all that and more

    Such an good book with dips and twists and turns, and it gets worse before it gets better. Very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    Really liked this book

    I'm a huge Francine Rivers fan, but for some reason never bought this book because it didn't look good to me. But I was pleasantly surprised. I felt like I knew the characters and could not put the book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2006

    Excellent book

    I didn't think Rivers could beat the Echo trilogy, but this book was just as great. Recommend highly. Subject matter about the church is thought provoking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2004

    Good Book

    Really liked this book, it is kind of slow at first, but all I can say is stay with it, it is a fine read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2003

    How much have we compromised!

    I enjoyed the book very much. I think to many churches are like this one Francine portrays. We all need to examine our motives, our hearts, and especially God's word. To many of us have compromised to suit the ways of the world. Which has caused us to follow the wrong direction for our life. We need to hear the trumpet blowing loudly...yet softly is the Spirit of the Lord. We need to take heed to God's call.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2