BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Android's Dream

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic and exciting read

One of my favorite authors does it again. Android's Dream is fast paced and exciting, keeping me guessing with every page. Highly recommended!

posted by 6554441 on April 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good, not Great, Scalzi

This was a good John Scalzi book. If you have read any of his other works, this would be lower on the pile. But much like pizza, even a bad Scalzi book is better than most others.

posted by BrettJamen on September 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Good, not Great, Scalzi

    This was a good John Scalzi book. If you have read any of his other works, this would be lower on the pile. But much like pizza, even a bad Scalzi book is better than most others.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    Fantastic and exciting read

    One of my favorite authors does it again. Android's Dream is fast paced and exciting, keeping me guessing with every page. Highly recommended!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Nightmarishly bad!!!

    I have actually read short stories from 5th graders that had a better grasp of character dialog, development and the English language. During the course of reading this book I had to check and make sure this book was not listed in the young readers category. Dick and Jane books have been better, not only do they make more sense but are also better written! I knew that I was in for a rough experience when I had a headache after the first chapter. I don't like to bash authors so I will wrap this up. In short this author had a very original idea but the lack of a thesaurus and any writing ability destroyed whatever hope this had of being remotely good.
    I recommend this book as "read at your own risk" and if you enjoy it more power to you.
    Thanks for reading this review and remember reading is a privilege so take advantage of it when you can. Just pick a different book.

    3 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Excellent!

    Scalzi is one of my favorite sci-fi authors, and this book is one of my favorites. Funny, fast-paced, and full of intriguing characters, I couldn't put this book down. Anybody who likes John Scalzi's work should definitely reas this!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Good story. Nicely written

    Has all the elements of great science fiction story. Well written characters, good plot, aliens, AIs, space ships, a few twists. Nothing ground-breaking, but I will definitely read it again. I especially liked the way the author portrayed aliens integrated into Earth's society.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Loved it!!

    This was the first book of Scalzu's i've ever read and I fell in love with it from the first sentance. The awkward characters and underground society theme made a fantasy world all the more relatable to. My only complaint is that it needed more character development. But I'm not dissapointed at all otherwise.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Scalzi does it again

    A mid-level Diplomat from Earth Harry Creek must avert an interstellar war by finding a specific breed of sheep. His opponents have destroyed all but one in the Common Confederation. With the added confusion of a made up religion that worships the Evolved Sheep there are plenty of twists to keep the reader anxious to read the next line.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Scalzi Never Disappoints

    I've just recently discovered John Scalzi's works. After reading the Old Man's War series, I was anxious to see his take on a different universe. In Android's Dream, he is just as imaginative and creative. He sets the table for a world in the near future with enough familiarity to be comforting but with enough futuristic sci-fi to be engaging and entertaining. This one is a real thought provoker on several fronts.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    Must Read This Book

    This is a great book. The story line keeps you guessing all the time. Just when you figured out who was behind things or how the story would end, things change and take a different unexpected route. The changes are logical and make sense. The Android's Dream is an easy read. It'll keep your intrest to the point that you won't want to put down the book. You'll finish it quickly and get great enjoyment from reading it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent military science fiction

    After his time as a war hero in some OLD MAN¿S WAR, Harry Creek enjoys the anonymity of being a minor State Department employee who works with alien ambassadors assigned to Earth. However, a monstrous blunder has occurred when an earth diplomat kills a representative of the technologically superior Nidu race. They demand reparations or else they will turn earth into a wasteland for this affront.----------------- Harry is assigned to meet the Nidu demand of finding and delivering the Android's Dream, an electric-blue sheep needed for their coronation ceremony. The military on both sides wants the mission to fail so they can obtain an increase in funding at the cost of a few million or billion lives and be recognized as heroes. Department of Defense snipers and Nidu marines try to assassinate Harry, who has found one clue to the whereabouts of the blue Android¿s Dream. Pet store owner Robin Baker contains sheep DNA in her genes. Now all they have to do is escape earth, avoid space marines and the followers of the Church of the Evolved Lamb, and land on Nidu where he is unwanted and she is the guest of honor.------------------- With THE ANDROID¿S DREAM and the OLD MAN¿S WAR, John Scalzi is carving out a special niche in military science fiction arena as he lampoons those leaders who sit back in air conditioned safety taunting the enemy with bring it while others do their fighting. The military on both sides of the conflict and religious groups want to prevent Harry from succeeding because those in charge seek personal affirmation and glory. Adding to the fun of the tale is the ironic self jab at a twenty-first century sci fi author writing about sacred sheep that in the future has become the foundation for a religious movement. This is a great satire by an author to watch unless you are the Commander in Chief, a VP to busy to have served, or a Defense Department general officer and their civilian equivalent/superior.--------------- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2003

    It was much better than Cats.

    I loved 'Untitled Scalzi Science Fiction Novel'. It was much better than Cats. I want to read it again and again.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Not the "Old Man" trilogy, but if you hang in for the ride......

    Had the first book I read from John Scalzi been "The Android's Dream" I probably would have only made it one third of the way through the book and given up, (assuming I even tried to read it). I'm a hard core, Asimov, Heinlein Science Fiction reader if I drift back to science fiction. I spent my youth in Science Fiction but lost interest with more modern day offerings.

    Having read Scalzi's trilogy "Old Man's War", "Lost Colony" and "Ghost Brigades" and having thoroughly enjoyed those, (enough to try his other offerings), I decided to hang in there. I was confident that there would be more action and surprises that would make up for the pain of the early chapters. Other authors fiddle with some satire, but it's a tough sell without the other elements of good science fiction.

    The Old Man's War trilogy is Heinlein like and I do recommend. For Heinlein and Asimov, I have read every novel they have written and much of their short stories, and they both, especially Heinlein have been known to come in from an unusual method.

    The Android's Dream ended up being worth the read once I got past the genetics and outlandish premises that set the stage. Overall a decent romp, but I hope the author stays more on track in general, in which case he may join the "every book written" class, a very small group indeed, especially as other successful writers seem content to sign their name as co-author to anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Classic Scalzi

    The plot is dense but fast paced, with smarts, humor, and plenty of action to go around. Scalzi has a knack for entertaining while also encouraging you to think. One of my favorite novels, and as a standalone story, it's a great introduction to the author's style. Also, do yourself a favor and check out "Agent to the Stars." (It's free!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Delightfully quirky scifi fun

    Scalzi's flawless pacing and creative fun keep you entertained throughout. Seamlessly transitions from purely light-hearted to more engagingly dramatic. Not actually about androids or dreams, in case anyone cares. Does, however, involve sheep!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2004

    Nonsense!

    Nothing is better than 'Cats'! Well, maybe 'Starlight Express.' But that's IT.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3