BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Android's Dream

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic and exciting read

One of my favorite authors does it again. Android's Dream is fast paced and exciting, keeping me guessing with every page. Highly recommended!

posted by 6554441 on April 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good, not Great, Scalzi

This was a good John Scalzi book. If you have read any of his other works, this would be lower on the pile. But much like pizza, even a bad Scalzi book is better than most others.

posted by BrettJamen on September 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Good story. Nicely written

    Has all the elements of great science fiction story. Well written characters, good plot, aliens, AIs, space ships, a few twists. Nothing ground-breaking, but I will definitely read it again. I especially liked the way the author portrayed aliens integrated into Earth's society.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Scalzi Never Disappoints

    I've just recently discovered John Scalzi's works. After reading the Old Man's War series, I was anxious to see his take on a different universe. In Android's Dream, he is just as imaginative and creative. He sets the table for a world in the near future with enough familiarity to be comforting but with enough futuristic sci-fi to be engaging and entertaining. This one is a real thought provoker on several fronts.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    Must Read This Book

    This is a great book. The story line keeps you guessing all the time. Just when you figured out who was behind things or how the story would end, things change and take a different unexpected route. The changes are logical and make sense. The Android's Dream is an easy read. It'll keep your intrest to the point that you won't want to put down the book. You'll finish it quickly and get great enjoyment from reading it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Not the "Old Man" trilogy, but if you hang in for the ride......

    Had the first book I read from John Scalzi been "The Android's Dream" I probably would have only made it one third of the way through the book and given up, (assuming I even tried to read it). I'm a hard core, Asimov, Heinlein Science Fiction reader if I drift back to science fiction. I spent my youth in Science Fiction but lost interest with more modern day offerings.

    Having read Scalzi's trilogy "Old Man's War", "Lost Colony" and "Ghost Brigades" and having thoroughly enjoyed those, (enough to try his other offerings), I decided to hang in there. I was confident that there would be more action and surprises that would make up for the pain of the early chapters. Other authors fiddle with some satire, but it's a tough sell without the other elements of good science fiction.

    The Old Man's War trilogy is Heinlein like and I do recommend. For Heinlein and Asimov, I have read every novel they have written and much of their short stories, and they both, especially Heinlein have been known to come in from an unusual method.

    The Android's Dream ended up being worth the read once I got past the genetics and outlandish premises that set the stage. Overall a decent romp, but I hope the author stays more on track in general, in which case he may join the "every book written" class, a very small group indeed, especially as other successful writers seem content to sign their name as co-author to anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Classic Scalzi

    The plot is dense but fast paced, with smarts, humor, and plenty of action to go around. Scalzi has a knack for entertaining while also encouraging you to think. One of my favorite novels, and as a standalone story, it's a great introduction to the author's style. Also, do yourself a favor and check out "Agent to the Stars." (It's free!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Delightfully quirky scifi fun

    Scalzi's flawless pacing and creative fun keep you entertained throughout. Seamlessly transitions from purely light-hearted to more engagingly dramatic. Not actually about androids or dreams, in case anyone cares. Does, however, involve sheep!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2004

    Nonsense!

    Nothing is better than 'Cats'! Well, maybe 'Starlight Express.' But that's IT.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1