Customer Reviews for

The Andromeda Strain

Average Rating 4
( 184 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Genius

Except for very few moments in the book, you would not realize this book was written in 1969. The idea of a biological pandemic is pretty common nowadays with zombie movies, the movie "Outbreak," etc. but the way this story was presented and how the virus/bacteria comes...
Except for very few moments in the book, you would not realize this book was written in 1969. The idea of a biological pandemic is pretty common nowadays with zombie movies, the movie "Outbreak," etc. but the way this story was presented and how the virus/bacteria comes into existence shows how brilliant and how much Crichton was ahead of his time. This was a very quick read but it is probably better suited for those who have at least a decent understanding of science and appreciate intellectual thrillers. This book makes you think, and if you can put this into perspective given the context of when this was written, you will love it.

posted by Abe_Froman on September 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Andromeda...

Read it, didnt particularly like it. What happened to the townspeople? All these deaths came down to (spoiler ALERT) acid or not enough thereof in the body? And how was the deaths explained? Where were the townsfolk buried or incinerated? What became of them? Lots...
Read it, didnt particularly like it. What happened to the townspeople? All these deaths came down to (spoiler ALERT) acid or not enough thereof in the body? And how was the deaths explained? Where were the townsfolk buried or incinerated? What became of them? Lots o' loose ends imo.

posted by chocolate_thunder_onya on June 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    Genius

    Except for very few moments in the book, you would not realize this book was written in 1969. The idea of a biological pandemic is pretty common nowadays with zombie movies, the movie "Outbreak," etc. but the way this story was presented and how the virus/bacteria comes into existence shows how brilliant and how much Crichton was ahead of his time. This was a very quick read but it is probably better suited for those who have at least a decent understanding of science and appreciate intellectual thrillers. This book makes you think, and if you can put this into perspective given the context of when this was written, you will love it.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Andromeda...

    Read it, didnt particularly like it. What happened to the townspeople? All these deaths came down to (spoiler ALERT) acid or not enough thereof in the body? And how was the deaths explained? Where were the townsfolk buried or incinerated? What became of them? Lots o' loose ends imo.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    Possibly one of the greatest Sci-Fi novels

    On one fateful night,Piedmont receives a gift. Withing minutes, the town is dead, as if they dropped for no reason in the middle of the night. Now, Wildfire is activated, summoning scientists from across the country to help solve the mystery of what happened, and why 2 lonely survivors managed to avoid the catastrophe that claimed so many others. But their time is limited, as soon their quarantine breaks and people start dying. A thrilling Sci-Fi novel that will leave you questioning things you never thought to ask before. You will feel as though you are a member of the wildfire team, discovering possible cures only to find that the virus has evolved into a new, deadlier form. I first discover Micheal Crichton through the wonderful novel of Jurassic park, and thought that he would be a one hit wonder author. I was pleased to find I was wrong, and reading this book shed new light on the world of biology for me. The entire novel is not a simple 'What-if?" technology, all of it based off technology we do indeed have, if not a little more simplified and advanced, but based in reality nonetheless. Mr. Crichton, god rest him, was also a very well educated individual, sporting both his own speculations and those of other scientists who were experts on their respected subjects. I also enjoyed it because not only did I find myself thinking about the subjects I was reading about, but I was also generating my own knowledge and interest, and later found myself studying more about Biology simply so that I could read on a higher intellect level. Sci-Fi lovers would love it as well as scientists, as the book uses ideas that causes questions to be raised and answered, but only if the reader is truly paying attention to the book itself.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    So exciting!

    This book is excellent. Thrilling and very persuasive. I had seen the movie several times and was pleasantly surprised at how well the movie followed the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    page turning thriller

    page turning thriller

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    Suspenseful.

    Crichton's first novel still a winner!
    Here Crichton demonstrates a very expansive and creative imagination.
    Even in this day of high technology one can still appreciate the science behind the story, and how far ahead Crichton's imagination was to the science and technology of its time.

    I love the fact that the publisher left in the author's sense of realism by the use of Top Secret labels to give the work the feel that it is straight out of declassified files released by the U.S. Government.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    A winner

    Still good after all these years!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    I highly recommend this book. It was hard to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2014

    Set in the 1960s in the middle of the great space race, Andromed

    Set in the 1960s in the middle of the great space race, Andromeda Strain combines conspiracy theories, scientific principles, and science fiction. Michael Crichton explains physics, biology, medicine, scientific reasoning, and ethics in a layperson-friendly way, but those who are familiar with science will be pleased with the depth of the information. I enjoyed the premise of a potential infectious organism from space, and the continually building tension made it hard for me to put the book away. I felt that the ending fell a little flat after the atmosphere the author created earlier in the book, but the ending was realistic and consistent with what might have happened if the crisis had actually occurred. I would recommend this book especially for those who enjoy scientific reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Michael Crichton¿s Andromeda Strain is a classic science fiction

    Michael Crichton’s Andromeda Strain is a classic science fiction novel that you won’t regret reading. It’s relatively short and engaging. It utilizes mystery and, at times, a sense of horror to grab your attention.

    The book is given as a narrative retelling of a report given after the fiasco of the Andromeda Strain: an alien micro-organism that landed on earth via a fallen manmade satellite. The effects of the organism’s presence are immediately evident when the populace of a nearby town is wasted. A team of scientist must unlock its secrets before the strain can get out of control and decimate the human race.

    The book doesn’t spend much time with suspense. The narrator says on more than one occasion that the people involved did indeed survive and that the threat was properly dealt with. That isn’t the question for the reader. Rather, the intrigue is in the “how.” How did they manage to solve the mystery of the alien micro-organism? Over the course of the storytelling the narrator will frequently point out dire mistakes made by the team. As the reader encounters one error after another, one begins to wonder how the team went from point A (going in the wrong direction) to point B (the solution).

    What makes this book really impressive is the amount of thought that went into the details. Crichton is smart and it reflects in the incredibly in-depth science that goes into explaining the Andromeda strain and the progress made by the team. Maybe you’ll understand it and maybe it’ll go way over your head, but it certainly deepens the reader’s experience of realism.

    Despite being decades old it is definitely worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    One of my favorite books

    I bought this paperback version in 1993 and i have read it so many times. I do find it strange that they are selling it on here for $9.99 and i bought it in '93 for $7.99.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    It was good untill the middle, then they ran out of ideas

    Jjjjjjjjjjjkk

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Too many scientific terms

    I research astrophysics, not astrobiology, though let me just say that if you want a dramatic sci-fi that doesn't make you pull up the dictionary 99.9% of the time, read Life As We Knew It, by Susan Beth Pfeffer.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Another boring one.

    Nithing much happened in this one, just a bunch of testing and talking.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review

    A slowly building tale of suspense, the paranoia of the character reaches the reader and Michael Crichton masterfully makes a complicated story simple to grasp.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2011

    Good, but not as good as I thought it would be

    The Andromeda Strain is an interesting novel about a group of scientists trying to learn about a new and deadly microorganism that fell to Earth with a satellite. Having read books by Michael Crichton before, so I expected the characters to be well developed, but unfortunately I was sadly mistaken. I think the book was written mostly to entertain, and i kind of was, but at the same time it was very informative. I would definitely recommend this because it constantly kept me entertained, even though the characters weren¿t fully developed. I think anyone could enjoy this book, but the people who will get the most out of it, will be the ones who have at least a little bit of background knowledge on biology.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Great Book

    The Andromeda Strain is a great science fiction thrilller that takes place in the middle of the desert of Arizona. A mysterious disease kills almost everyone in a small town, and scientists in a secret government installation must solve the mystery and develop a cure before it is too late. It is a very suspensful "race against time" type of book with lots of scientific facts and advanced technology. It is hard to believe that such an interesting book was written in 1969

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Well Done

    A pretty good sci-fi book with an alien virus infecting a small town and the race that follows to eradicate it and produce a vaccine. Very X-Files-ish. I liked it a lot. If you did too, I also recommend reading Crichton's Jurassic Park.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty Good

    I thought this was below average for Michael Crichton. I enjoyed it quite a bit, but it is much more fact driven than a lot of his better novels. It is not very character driven at all. It is really interesting and was a fast read, just not super great.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Captivating, Interesting, Thriller

    In this read, Michael Chricton has intrigued me. The Andromeda Strain is about a space probe that has landed in a small town named Piedmont. Within short time of the probes crash people throughout the town start to experience death. The probe was collecting space particles before its unpleasant return to earth; the materials collected a 'strain' that caused death. Scientists were called to discover what the 'strain' the probe brought back was. The Andromeda Strain was a interesting read that really kept me wanting more. The book got quite confusing, such as its unneeded depth in a type of disease. On the plus side it was juicy and you always wanted to turn the page. If you like the suspense, the thrill, the sci-fi action that is attempted to be created in a real life way, I would suggest you start reading The Andromeda Strain, if none of the following listed things do not intrigue you I suggest finding another book. If I were to suggest that other book, I would suggest Sphere also written my Michael Crichton. All in all The Andromeda Strain was a interesting read that really kept me wanting more while reading but also had me confused, but a great read I would have to say.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10