Customer Reviews for

The Andromeda Strain

Average Rating 4
( 186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Genius

Except for very few moments in the book, you would not realize this book was written in 1969. The idea of a biological pandemic is pretty common nowadays with zombie movies, the movie "Outbreak," etc. but the way this story was presented and how the virus/bacteria comes...
Except for very few moments in the book, you would not realize this book was written in 1969. The idea of a biological pandemic is pretty common nowadays with zombie movies, the movie "Outbreak," etc. but the way this story was presented and how the virus/bacteria comes into existence shows how brilliant and how much Crichton was ahead of his time. This was a very quick read but it is probably better suited for those who have at least a decent understanding of science and appreciate intellectual thrillers. This book makes you think, and if you can put this into perspective given the context of when this was written, you will love it.

posted by Abe_Froman on September 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Andromeda...

Read it, didnt particularly like it. What happened to the townspeople? All these deaths came down to (spoiler ALERT) acid or not enough thereof in the body? And how was the deaths explained? Where were the townsfolk buried or incinerated? What became of them? Lots...
Read it, didnt particularly like it. What happened to the townspeople? All these deaths came down to (spoiler ALERT) acid or not enough thereof in the body? And how was the deaths explained? Where were the townsfolk buried or incinerated? What became of them? Lots o' loose ends imo.

posted by chocolate_thunder_onya on June 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Captivating, Interesting, Thriller

    In this read, Michael Chricton has intrigued me. The Andromeda Strain is about a space probe that has landed in a small town named Piedmont. Within short time of the probes crash people throughout the town start to experience death. The probe was collecting space particles before its unpleasant return to earth; the materials collected a 'strain' that caused death. Scientists were called to discover what the 'strain' the probe brought back was. The Andromeda Strain was a interesting read that really kept me wanting more. The book got quite confusing, such as its unneeded depth in a type of disease. On the plus side it was juicy and you always wanted to turn the page. If you like the suspense, the thrill, the sci-fi action that is attempted to be created in a real life way, I would suggest you start reading The Andromeda Strain, if none of the following listed things do not intrigue you I suggest finding another book. If I were to suggest that other book, I would suggest Sphere also written my Michael Crichton. All in all The Andromeda Strain was a interesting read that really kept me wanting more while reading but also had me confused, but a great read I would have to say.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Andromeda Strain

    I was looking forward to reading this book, but once I did I wasn't so impressed. This isn't a bad book it's technical and if you don't like that then I wouldn't recommend this book to you. I felt like a scientist reading a paper about a paticularly interesting find that happend to scare and be potentially dangerous to people. I did not find it very thrilling or exciting. I did find it very fascinating though. If you are interested in physics and biology I would give it a good read. It's not a bad book though but compaired to his other books this one is the least exciting that I have read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    Only if you're into this sort of thing

    Okay, first of all, I hate it when people write review about a book they had to read for school or never finished, and sadly both are true about this review, but here I am writting this anyways.

    This book is PAINFULL to read, if you are not a hardcore sifi fan.

    The plot is good. The idea is great.

    The style, in my opinion, is horrible. The charects have no personality. They don't even dispay emotions. I felt like I was reading about thoes aliens in star treck. For example in the begging of the book, men come to one of the charecter's door with guns and tell him that he has to come with them, and will be gone for an extended period of time. The charecter puts up little fight from this, and leaves without even a hug good-bye to his wife. The only real personality trais actually displayed in the book are that two of the scientists don't like eachother, and if you ask me, it is a streach to even say that gives some one personality.

    Also, it is ubelieveably detailed in its descripion of insterments used to gather data. I found this rath unintresting, to say the least.

    Basically this is a book about a virus, and a concept of extratresstrial life. It makes me wonder why the writter is writting si-fi instead of actual scientific papers.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    captivating

    The Andromeda Strain is a terrifying story when you consider how plausible it could be. A probe satellite falls back to earth near the town of Piedmont. Within minutes, almost everybody in the town is dead. That satellite brought back something with it from outerspace. A team of scientists is assembled to figure out what "it" is that was brought back. This is a fun thriller that really kept me hooked. At times the language got quite technical but that just lent more to the non-fiction feel of this novel. Overall....The Andomeda Strain is a captivating read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great thriller by Micheal Crichton.

    As always, Michael Crichton delivered an almost perfect techno-thriller. I you enjoy a smart and thrilling read, his novels are for you. Perhaps not my favorite of his, but still great considering it was an early novel of his. The characters were good, but the scientific plot was the thing that really gets you interested.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting reading for techno-thriller

    I was very captured by this story from the very beginning and it kept me going all the way to the end of the book. I like the attention to detail Crichton gives on the different stages of the book. I was really pulled into the story as if it was happening right in front of me. The end of the book lacks closure, although this could be the point.<BR/><BR/>I believe all Michael Crichton fans would enjoy this thrilling quick-read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2008

    Andromeda Strain or Entertaining Epidemic?

    Michael Crichton¿s impressive first work ¿The Andromeda Strain¿ is about an extraterrestrial disease that lands in a small American town called Piedmont. Even worse is the fact that everyone in Piedmont is dead save for a raging alcoholic and a infant. A team is assembled to combat the disease at a research station (Wild Fire) designed to locate, analyze, and defeat an alien disease.<BR/> While the novel is impressive (especially for a first work), it does suffer from some problems. The characters are a bland to the point you have trouble remembering their names. You may find yourself in a situation where you remember them by their profession. The language used while informative may be a bit too technical for those without some kind of medical training, and even those with sufficient information (i.e. a 9th grade education) will need to re read some. I won¿t spoil the ending, but the action starts 20 pages before the ending. So if you¿re looking for an action packed book keep looking (although those last 20 pages are riveting). Finally I must rant about the ending. While I appreciate the open ending I must protest the extent. It leaves too much to the imagination.<BR/> The book has problems but it also has many excellent qualities. The story is very informational considering it is a work of fiction. While it lacks memorable characters the story and the disease itself are unforgettable. The book is veal for any intellectual, and is an absolute must read, and own. While it lacks the action of other books by this brilliant author (Jurassic Park, Congo, Timeline) it has a certain charm that cannot be replicated.<BR/> In conclusion I must recommend this masterful work. As anything it has draw backs, and I would not recommend to someone who has never read a Crichton, and lacks a knowledge of medicine. It¿s a nice short read that you can probably finish in a plane flight. The question is do you want to come down after reading it?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book! Riveting Storyline!

    The Andromeda Strain was a great book. I thought that it was very interesting because I like science fiction. I also like Michael Crichton as an author. I have read some of his other books and have found them quite entertaining. Although some parts of the book were a little slow reading, I found the book to be one I would recommend to any reader that likes science fiction.<BR/> I found the details of the experiments performed in this novel very cool. I wanted to read on until the end of the book because I wanted to know why all of these people in Piedmont died. The characters were also very engaging. I liked their personalities throughout the story. I also enjoyed the way that their lives and experiences tied into the final experiments and ending of this novel. Overall, as a story, I found the Andromeda Strain to be very enjoyable but it would be a very frightening situation if it happened in real life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2008

    People who dont like it, dont understand it.

    This is by far one of Crichton's best. I thought that it was one of the best books if have ever read. The biological crisis is highly original. You must have a very good understanding of biology and science to read this book. Highly recommended

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2008

    The Andromeda Strain

    In Andromeda Strain a group of scientists investigate an unknown virus that was brought from space on a satellite. This virus kills intantly and spreads easily. This book was pretty boring and even after I was more than halfway through it I was waiting for the climax. Overall it is not a great book if you're not into viruses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2008

    A reviewer

    The author was able to hold my interests throughout this book.The author was able to do this by moving at a pace were not a whole lot is going on and then mini-climactic ending to a chapter. I kept reading this book for that reason. It pays off in the end. If I had to change this book in any way, I would change the pace of the book. I enjoy books that move fast and don't have many. Like the harry potter books.I would take out the boring parts and add exciting ones.I think this would make this book awesome.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book was not a positive experience for me. I am not a man who likes reading. The only thing I enjoy reading are comic books. The characters in the novel were not believable. I did not have a favoite character because none of the characters were interesting to myself. In my opinon, the author did not put in a any effort creating the characters in this novel. The author did not hold interest through the first page, not even thinking of the entire novel. The author had a pitty attempt of a some what well writen plot. I learned from this book to never waste my time by reading this book ever again. The only thing I gained from reading this book is hours of boardom. I think I would recommend this book to my friend just to mess with them. It would be funny for them to go through the same missury I went through.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2008

    Astonishing, another masterpiece by Michael Crichton

    Since i was a little boy i had read mvery many horror stories, and science fiction novels (Such as the Andromeda Strain) and since then i have never read a novel so far-out, unique and differnt as the Andromdea Strain. A powerful story that chooses the fate of all man kind, who will win Good or evil, man kind or The Androemda Strain. I call the Andromeda Strain 'The science fiction story of the century'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2008

    This book will lose your interest fast!!!

    Reading this book was not a great experience beacause it had a lot of terms and words that i did get and often got confused on. The author was not able to hold my interest throughtout the book. I started to lose my interest towards the middle of the book because it was all about the science of the storyline. Some changes I would make to this book would probably put more action towards the middle and in the middle to end of the book. This is a book I would recommend because I think they will lose interest very quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    A Review

    The Andromeda Strain is a novel by Michel Crichton. It is a story about a mysterious disease that has affected a small town in northern Arizona. A team of four scientists try to learn about the mysterious disease and find out it came on a satellite collecting samples from space. It has many cliff-hangers and is very suspenseful. I didn¿t want to put it down because the book was so intriguing and entertaining. It is a great book if you like mysteries and other books from Michel Crichton.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2007

    Ok but not the best

    I liked it, but the end could have been better. Some parts were well written, but others were really slow. I never really got into it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2007

    Excellent Suspense Tale

    This is a great suspense story with a lot of technical detail added much like Tom Clancy novels. The Andromeda Strain reminds me a lot of Fail Safe because the plot is somewhat similar and a sense of mystery and urgency keeps the pages turning. It is quite dated, however, from a scientific standpoint, and the frequent references to the amazing ability of computers are comical at times. Still well written and entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2007

    Good, but begins to drag

    The beginning was by far and away the best part. The next 150 pages seemed to keep going on about the same thing, again and again. Not as good as some of his others, but still a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2006

    Awesome Book!

    This book was great! When my flight to D.C. got delayed for about 45 minutes, I went to the gift shop. I saw the book section and looked around. I saw this book and next to it was really good reviews on it. I bought it with another book for my 10-year-old kid(Harry Potter). I started reading it and it was very good. By the time I got off the plane in D.C. I finished it. IT WAS TRULY ONE OF MY FAVORITE BOOKS! I am buying it for my brother for Christmas(He just finished Timeline). Buy this book and you won't be let down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2006

    Good, yet slightly confusing...

    This book was pretty good, concidering the fact that all of the scientific terms were hard for me to comprehend. It's ok for people to read, if you're a scientific genius and know every single theory of unknown epidemics, but personally, I didn't like how I couldn't understand half the book. It was also a bit choppy with the chapters and even though it was spread out in the timespan of five days, it seemed a little bit improbable that it would take so long. There was also some 'random' characters that I didn't know what significance they had in the story. So if you plan on reading it, make sure you know at least something about science and be ready to read a strange, confusing, yet actually kind of good, book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10