Customer Reviews for

The Andromeda Strain

Average Rating 4
( 192 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(81)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Genius

Except for very few moments in the book, you would not realize this book was written in 1969. The idea of a biological pandemic is pretty common nowadays with zombie movies, the movie "Outbreak," etc. but the way this story was presented and how the virus/bacteria comes...
Except for very few moments in the book, you would not realize this book was written in 1969. The idea of a biological pandemic is pretty common nowadays with zombie movies, the movie "Outbreak," etc. but the way this story was presented and how the virus/bacteria comes into existence shows how brilliant and how much Crichton was ahead of his time. This was a very quick read but it is probably better suited for those who have at least a decent understanding of science and appreciate intellectual thrillers. This book makes you think, and if you can put this into perspective given the context of when this was written, you will love it.

posted by Abe_Froman on September 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Andromeda...

Read it, didnt particularly like it. What happened to the townspeople? All these deaths came down to (spoiler ALERT) acid or not enough thereof in the body? And how was the deaths explained? Where were the townsfolk buried or incinerated? What became of them? Lots...
Read it, didnt particularly like it. What happened to the townspeople? All these deaths came down to (spoiler ALERT) acid or not enough thereof in the body? And how was the deaths explained? Where were the townsfolk buried or incinerated? What became of them? Lots o' loose ends imo.

posted by chocolate_thunder_onya on June 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    Genius

    Except for very few moments in the book, you would not realize this book was written in 1969. The idea of a biological pandemic is pretty common nowadays with zombie movies, the movie "Outbreak," etc. but the way this story was presented and how the virus/bacteria comes into existence shows how brilliant and how much Crichton was ahead of his time. This was a very quick read but it is probably better suited for those who have at least a decent understanding of science and appreciate intellectual thrillers. This book makes you think, and if you can put this into perspective given the context of when this was written, you will love it.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    So exciting!

    This book is excellent. Thrilling and very persuasive. I had seen the movie several times and was pleasantly surprised at how well the movie followed the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    page turning thriller

    page turning thriller

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    Suspenseful.

    Crichton's first novel still a winner!
    Here Crichton demonstrates a very expansive and creative imagination.
    Even in this day of high technology one can still appreciate the science behind the story, and how far ahead Crichton's imagination was to the science and technology of its time.

    I love the fact that the publisher left in the author's sense of realism by the use of Top Secret labels to give the work the feel that it is straight out of declassified files released by the U.S. Government.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2015

    Favourite author

    Great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2015

    Fantastic Read!

    I am a microbiologist and a huge Michael Crichton fan, so this book was right up my alley. It included the right amount of technicality to keep the reader well-informed yet interested. I would highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Great book!

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    A winner

    Still good after all these years!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    I highly recommend this book. It was hard to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Michael Crichton┬┐s Andromeda Strain is a classic science fiction

    Michael Crichton’s Andromeda Strain is a classic science fiction novel that you won’t regret reading. It’s relatively short and engaging. It utilizes mystery and, at times, a sense of horror to grab your attention.

    The book is given as a narrative retelling of a report given after the fiasco of the Andromeda Strain: an alien micro-organism that landed on earth via a fallen manmade satellite. The effects of the organism’s presence are immediately evident when the populace of a nearby town is wasted. A team of scientist must unlock its secrets before the strain can get out of control and decimate the human race.

    The book doesn’t spend much time with suspense. The narrator says on more than one occasion that the people involved did indeed survive and that the threat was properly dealt with. That isn’t the question for the reader. Rather, the intrigue is in the “how.” How did they manage to solve the mystery of the alien micro-organism? Over the course of the storytelling the narrator will frequently point out dire mistakes made by the team. As the reader encounters one error after another, one begins to wonder how the team went from point A (going in the wrong direction) to point B (the solution).

    What makes this book really impressive is the amount of thought that went into the details. Crichton is smart and it reflects in the incredibly in-depth science that goes into explaining the Andromeda strain and the progress made by the team. Maybe you’ll understand it and maybe it’ll go way over your head, but it certainly deepens the reader’s experience of realism.

    Despite being decades old it is definitely worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    One of my favorite books

    I bought this paperback version in 1993 and i have read it so many times. I do find it strange that they are selling it on here for $9.99 and i bought it in '93 for $7.99.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review

    A slowly building tale of suspense, the paranoia of the character reaches the reader and Michael Crichton masterfully makes a complicated story simple to grasp.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great thriller by Micheal Crichton.

    As always, Michael Crichton delivered an almost perfect techno-thriller. I you enjoy a smart and thrilling read, his novels are for you. Perhaps not my favorite of his, but still great considering it was an early novel of his. The characters were good, but the scientific plot was the thing that really gets you interested.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2008

    People who dont like it, dont understand it.

    This is by far one of Crichton's best. I thought that it was one of the best books if have ever read. The biological crisis is highly original. You must have a very good understanding of biology and science to read this book. Highly recommended

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2008

    Astonishing, another masterpiece by Michael Crichton

    Since i was a little boy i had read mvery many horror stories, and science fiction novels (Such as the Andromeda Strain) and since then i have never read a novel so far-out, unique and differnt as the Andromdea Strain. A powerful story that chooses the fate of all man kind, who will win Good or evil, man kind or The Androemda Strain. I call the Andromeda Strain 'The science fiction story of the century'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2006

    Awesome Book!

    This book was great! When my flight to D.C. got delayed for about 45 minutes, I went to the gift shop. I saw the book section and looked around. I saw this book and next to it was really good reviews on it. I bought it with another book for my 10-year-old kid(Harry Potter). I started reading it and it was very good. By the time I got off the plane in D.C. I finished it. IT WAS TRULY ONE OF MY FAVORITE BOOKS! I am buying it for my brother for Christmas(He just finished Timeline). Buy this book and you won't be let down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2005

    A suspenseful story. Scary fun!

    Like every other Crichton novel,The Andromeda Strain makes you keep turning the pages and has you up all night. I really appreciate the way Crichton doesn't make life from another planet green with a huge head. Its fun and even a little creepy at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2004

    A Good Book

    I read this book over the summer and it was better than the 'bestsellers' including the Dan Brown books and the five people you meet in heaven.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2003

    Exciting scientific thriller

    This is a very exciting, well thought out novel with adventure, suspense, and a nerve racking ending.This classic holds up remakably well today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2003

    A great debut

    This book is classic Crichton, and perhaps a classic by any standard. It put Crichton on the map, and, as far as I know, laid the foundation for a 'race against technology/the unknown' formula that he has used many times in subsequent novels. This book is gripping and suspenseful, moves with relentless pace, and demands to be read from start to finish without being put down. It achieves what most thrillers hope to achieve without being overly pushy with the reader. The characters are cool, easy to identify with, and well developed. The science is also technically interesting, though the book was written quite a while ago. Overall, a classic book that anyone with an interest in Crichton or science should read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5