Customer Reviews for

The Andromeda Strain

Average Rating 4
( 186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Genius

Except for very few moments in the book, you would not realize this book was written in 1969. The idea of a biological pandemic is pretty common nowadays with zombie movies, the movie "Outbreak," etc. but the way this story was presented and how the virus/bacteria comes...
Except for very few moments in the book, you would not realize this book was written in 1969. The idea of a biological pandemic is pretty common nowadays with zombie movies, the movie "Outbreak," etc. but the way this story was presented and how the virus/bacteria comes into existence shows how brilliant and how much Crichton was ahead of his time. This was a very quick read but it is probably better suited for those who have at least a decent understanding of science and appreciate intellectual thrillers. This book makes you think, and if you can put this into perspective given the context of when this was written, you will love it.

posted by Abe_Froman on September 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Andromeda...

Read it, didnt particularly like it. What happened to the townspeople? All these deaths came down to (spoiler ALERT) acid or not enough thereof in the body? And how was the deaths explained? Where were the townsfolk buried or incinerated? What became of them? Lots...
Read it, didnt particularly like it. What happened to the townspeople? All these deaths came down to (spoiler ALERT) acid or not enough thereof in the body? And how was the deaths explained? Where were the townsfolk buried or incinerated? What became of them? Lots o' loose ends imo.

posted by chocolate_thunder_onya on June 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 78 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2002

    Great story, quick reading.

    A space probe returns to earth, brining with it a mysterious disease and a new challenge for a team of scientists¿ figure out how to stop The Andromeda Strain. This is a great story with characters you quickly connect with. As with all Crichton novels, the plot twists keep you guessing until the end. At times, the stress level is that of a classic horror film. Definitely recommend it for any Sci-Fi fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2002

    One of chrinton's best.

    This book is one of Crichton's best because of a few things. This book has suspense that will never want you to put the book down. the book has a little bit of biohazardous horror and action. And the atmosphere that crichton is able show you is errie and incredible. This book is a page-turner and it is something you are always looking forward to do after a day of school or work. I had this book on my mind the entire days through school while I was reading this. This book will satisfy you more than any other. It is not a waste of money at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2002

    My Favorite Book!

    I found this book on a summer reading list, and I couldn't put it down. In the book, a an unknown virus is unleashed in a small town, killing all but a baby and an old man. Working in a special laboratory, hand-selected scientists try to figure out more about the virus. Not only did I love the suspense, but i enjoyed trying to form my own conclusions and hypotheses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2001

    One of the Greatest Books Ever!

    I had to chose a book to read for my English Lit. class and since I had seen the the movie I decided to read this book. I have to say I couldn't put it down. There were many differences between the book and the movie, but I thought the novel definitly beat it. The suspense of what Andromeda was just kept me on my feet until the end. This is a great selection!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2001

    As awesome as usual!

    The Andromeda Strain was an excellent story. Michael Crichton did a wonderful job. Being only 10, I needed help with the diseases in the book, but other than that, I completely understood it. I really enjoyed the vast creativity and the uses of mecha throughout the story.It's hard to imagine someone wrote it because Michael Crichton was so descriptive it made me feel as though I was standing right there with the characters. For those of you who haven't read it yet, I suggest strongly that you do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2001

    A great read!

    I am not that big of a fan of science, but the writing style Michael Chrichton uses is so phenonomal that it makes the story even more interesting. You should definately read this book if you are looking for a good one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2001

    Deserves more than 5 Stars

    It was the end of another school year, and everyone was excited about summer, or at least until the teachers passed out summer work!!! We looked through the list of books, and I read this book. It was the best book I've ever read, it wasn't exactly what everyone else though, but they thought that it was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2001

    Very good

    I just finished the book, I couldn't put it down; it was so good. I finished it within two days of when I bought it. The mystery as to what the andromeda strain was and how it functioned kept me reading...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2000

    Great Suspense

    This suspense/sci-fi you can't put down. This book really makes you think. Pick it up now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2000

    GREAT!

    A review cannot justify this captivating and suspenseful book. You must read it for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2000

    A Technological Thriller!

    Michael Crichton has long been known for his ability to weave a story with all the technical knowledge to make it believeable. The Andromeda Strain does justice to his name in all aspects, from its intense story and plot to the setting in a high-tech government facility. The characters each have their own individual personalities, and their own responses to the deadly virus they have been called to study. In the end, this book stands out as an excellent testament to Crichton's technological knowledge, and his ability to tell a fascinating story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2000

    Outstanding use of scientific facts.

    This is one of the very first books to keep me up all night which i never do for any book. It forced me to see science on an all new plane. Micheal Crichton is the best there is in the fiction community.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2000

    Extraordinarily good fiction

    One of Michael Crichton's first novels. Even though is a bit outdated (it was written in 1969), is still a top-notch thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2000

    A classic for Teens and adults alike

    This book has the underlying message of man's fear of the unknown among many others. It seems to be that the whole organization was setup because we were scared of the unknown. If we were not scared by the unknown we would live a pretty boring life. In this stroy Michael Crichton writes to everyone, he tells them it's okay to be scared. If we work together, we can all work out of our fears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2000

    Extraordinary, and Realistic

    I thought Micheal Chrichton's scientific accuracy, was absolutely un-matchable. He writes as though he were at the underground compound, working on the virus himself

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2000

    Great Book For Everyone

    This is the best book I have ever read. After reading this book I became a Micheal Crichton fan very quickly. The book is about 7 satillites that orbit the earth looking for alien organisms, one sattelite fins an alien orgnism, but the sattelite crashes and a small town is killed except three people. One kills himself a few miles away. The other two are studied. Read the book to get the whole story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 1999

    HIS BEST YET!!

    Back in the the 1960's 7 sattelites were sent up to obit the Earth to collect organisms. Most of the sattelites had burned up or had nothing in them. One of them had lost control and landed in Piedmont, Nevada. What this sattelite had was a new organism that was very deadly. It killed the whole town of 48 people except 2 people strangely enough. 4 scientists are notifyed after the sattelite was carefully recovered to study the new organism. Everything had to be isolated or else the scientists would be killed. Te organism was named Andromeda Strain. In order to keep things in Piedmont contained, a 7-12(or an atomic bomb dropped) was issued. The plane incenerated before it got to its site from Andromeda. However though if the bomb was dropped it would have spread the organism to Los Angelas, Las Vegas and other small cities. What will happen? What will the 4 scientists figure out? How far will Andromeda spread? Why don't you read The Andromeda Strain to figure out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 78 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4