Customer Reviews for

Anew

Average Rating 4.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I loved this book. While you can find a lot of books with some s

I loved this book. While you can find a lot of books with some similar aspects to them as this one, I really felt that this has a uniqueness that makes it stand apart from others. You have Scarlet Jacobs, a girl who just woke up in the middle of a forest one day with on...
I loved this book. While you can find a lot of books with some similar aspects to them as this one, I really felt that this has a uniqueness that makes it stand apart from others. You have Scarlet Jacobs, a girl who just woke up in the middle of a forest one day with only the memory of her name and age, nothing more. The story really begins two years later, just before her senior year of high school. She meets Gabriel Archer at a festival. His voice is so familiar to her and she instinctively knows she can trust him, though he's a stranger to her.

Things become even more complicated when Scarlet learns that Gabriel has a twin brother named Tristan, who seems to hate her though she feels an even stronger pull towards him than even to Gabriel and that confuses her all the more.

Now there is a lot of mystery to this story! You slowly, bit by bit, learn about Scarlet's past and that the Archer's are searching for something that they feel will solve all their problems but they don't have a clue how to find it. But then again, Tristan has his own solution to the problem but that's not as easy as he'd like it to be either. He too is in search of something specific. Something other than what Gabriel is hoping they find.

As you might suspect, this story contains a love triangle and while I don't mind love triangles at all, it's sometimes difficult to choose who to root for. Both Gabriel and Tristan are good guys, even if Tristan is mean to Scarlet quite often. It's just that there is a reason for his attitude. However, when he lets his guard down he's amazing. As for Scarlet's best friend Heather, I wish I had a best friend like her. She's spunky, witty, a little crazy ... well maybe a lot crazy, and she's fiercely protective of Scarlet. Plus she's annoyingly fashion conscious. But you gotta love her.

Anew is intriguing, fun, heartbreaking, and mysterious. I have to admit, I was crying by the end because let me tell you ... it ends in the cliffhanger of all cliffhangers. If I hadn't been crying I might have been yelling at the book, telling it it can NOT end that way. LOL There are many unanswered questions that I can not wait to learn the answers to. Awry, book two in the Archers of Avalon series is scheduled for release later this year and I'm dying to read it. :) I definitely recommend Anew!

NOTE: I received a copy of Anew from the author.

posted by Vanilla_Orchids on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Original story

I thought this book was very good and went right into book #2 in the series (and loved it!) and am now awaiting book #3.

posted by lizziefx on July 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    One word to describe Anew, in the words of Scarlet¿s best friend

    One word to describe Anew, in the words of Scarlet’s best friend, Heather: O.M.G.
    Anew had all the elements of any good YA paranormal romance: a love story that goes back centuries in time, a teenage girl that falls for a beautiful, mysterious boy full of secrets and charm, another gorgeous boy that’s full of secrets, and then, of course, the boys just so happen to be brothers! Gasp! Throw in a case of amnesia, and you’ve got yourself one crazy-fun time.

    The characters in Anew were fresh and exciting—there wasn’t one character that I disliked or cared about less than the others. My favorite, hands down, would have to be Heather, Scarlet’s best friend. She was fun, hilarious, daring, and let’s not forget: Boy-crazy! Whenever Heather showed up, you just knew the scene was going to be a good time. She also cared about Scarlet very much, and their relationship warmed my heart. Let’s just say I would very much love a Heather spinoff series somewhere down the line! *wink wink*

    Scarlet, our heroine, was also very enjoyable. She was sweet, smart, and utterly confused. Chelsea Fine did a wonderful job with Scarlet. I can’t imagine it being easy to write a character who suffers from amnesia; but Scarlet develops beautifully over the course of this book.
    She had those moments of “who am I?” and “Why did this happen to me?” but she never let it get the best of her, and I found myself cheering for her every page. She was never clueless in that overplayed kind of way, and she always had something to say, which I really liked about her.

    Now, to get to the part that we’ve all been waiting for… the hot, mysterious boys that seem to be thrown into Scarlet’s as-normal-as-can-be-expected life overnight.

    Gabriel, Scarlet’s love-interest, was cute, sweet, funny and the perfect hero for our lovely heroine. While their relationship seemed to form very quickly, nothing in terms of feelings or acts were rushed, and I was thankful for this. They were very sweet together, but I just didn’t feel a ‘spark’ with them; no feelings of burning passion, of butterflies in your stomach... but Tristan on the other hand…

    Tristan, Gabriel’s twin brother and fellow admirer of Scarlet, was just perfect. Dark, brooding (but not in the usual depressive way), dangerous, quick-witted and borderline flawless—I guess it’s safe to say I’m team Tristan, if there is any team to be on for this series!

    From the first moment Scarlet and Tristan meet, you’re hit with an undeniable sense of chemistry and need; a hunger and longing these two characters share that only they can supply for the other. It’s very obvious that Tristan and Scarlet care for each other, but the thing that really set Anew a part from any other YA novel out there, is that Chelsea Fine never forces her characters to act on impulse, and make such foolish decisions that people in the real world would never make. I can’t tell you how good it was to finally read a story where there isn’t a 'full out' love triangle between the main characters. Just a lot of really enjoyable tension!

    While Scarlet and Tristan have a connection that is undeniable, Scarlet is very loyal to Gabriel, and would never do anything to hurt him. As the story continues, you learn more about Gabriel and Tristan, and why Scarlet has such a strong connection to both brothers; emotionally, physically, and spiritually. Each chapter leaves you begging for more, and this is not a book that you can easily put down. I don’t recommend picking Anew up late at night—you’ll never get any sleep!

    Chelsea Fine’s writing is fun and exciting—easy to read and always keeping you at the edge of your seat. She spins an exciting tale of love, mystery, adventure and finding out exactly who you are and where you belong in this world. I cannot wait to get my hands on a copy of the next installment in this exciting series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely fresh and original! :D

    ***I would like to thank Chelsea Fine and her publisher Karen Gray for providing a review copy in exchange for a honest review.***

    Ever since I heard about Anew, I couldn’t wait to dig into it. I was drawn to the three things that everyone falls for when reading an engaging and fresh paranormal YA book - the mystery, the exquisitely developed characters and the romance - and they definitely did not disappoint! It had a very unique twist to the paranormal aspect, which is never a bad thing, so I was instantly hooked from the first to the last page. The story was full of gut-wrenching action, adventure, intrigue and thrilling romance. I couldn’t put it down. A well thought-out idea by Ms. Fine and just as brilliantly executed - Anew will definitely keep you at the edge of your seat!

    The one thing that I was blown away by was the storyline for this book. It was very original and completely fascinating. Above all, the way Ms. Fine crafted the idea, especially, had me impressed. This idea of an unknown past, an ancient curse, having a hole in your memory and your only connection to those memories: 2 guys - makes for one very compelling novel. With new twists and turns around every corner, the fast-moving plot will have you pulling your hair out, trying to figure out the mystery of Scarlet’s lost past. The plot was to-the-point, (I loved that!) - making the story an overall engaging read.

    Like previously mentioned, the characters in Anew were amazing. There is just no other way to describe them. The characters had depth and the fact that they were NOT perfect, was the icing on the cake. Scarlet, Tristan and Gabriel all had palpable flaws - making it easier for readers to sympathize for them or with them. This is also clearly seen through the changes in points of view. Getting snippets of Tristan’s or Gabriel’s perspective throughout the story, really helped to understand the “whys” of their decisions. Not a fan of more than one points of view in a story, the change in perspective, surprisingly enough, I found did not overwhelm the story. The transitions from one character to another were smooth and very well done - which I greatly appreciated.

    As far as relationships go, Ms. Fine did a brilliant job in developing a relationship among the brothers and Scarlet, that surpassed the “rules” of a normal love triangle. Each brother has a very distinct relationship witch Scarlet - which not all borders on just being romantic. Scarlet and Tristan have a lot of chemistry between them and they have that instant connection - whereas, Gabriel is more of the best friend type. While all signs do point to Tristan as the final outcome of this relationship, the set up of this love triangle proves (to say the least) to be unpredictable and the happy ever after remains to be seen - which is probably why I wasn’t cringing at the romance.

    Anew was, without a doubt, a highly addictive and enjoyable read. With a mind blowing ending, that leaves you with more questions than answers (not a bad thing), I am anxious to get my hands on the next installment, Awry. A fantastic start to the series, Anew was a definite page turner. To say I am impressed with Ms. Fine’s work, would most certainly be an understatement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Sophomoric. And I'm a sophomore. Don't talk down to us, please.

    Sophomoric. And I'm a sophomore. Don't talk down to us, please. It's so seriously annoying. And bad dialogue too? Such a bargain. Not.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    please. spare us. give me a break. not believable. I don't care.

    please. spare us. give me a break. not believable. I don't care. couldn't finish.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Tori

    Sup

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    So, last night I (finally!!!) finished Anew. I say "finally

    So, last night I (finally!!!) finished Anew. I say "finally" because I kept putting it off and putting it off. NOT because it was boring or I didn't like it. Quite the opposite, actually. I just didn't want it to end! This book was AMAZING! I couldn't stop thinking about this book over the four days or so that it took me to read it.

    First off, the characters were nothing short of wonderful. Scarlet, the main character, is very endearing from the beginning. I love her honesty with herself, over the fact that she's sometimes a bit whiney about her situation. But, overall, she tries to have a positive attitude. And she has the support of her best friend Heather.

    I think I almost love Heather as much as I love Scarlet. She is witty, sassy, and SUCH a good friend to Scarlet. She picks her up when she's down, by not allowing her to wallow.

    Now, this IS a love triangle. And you know how most love triangles are pretty much clear-cut as to who the "winner" will be? Well, in my opinion, so is this one. But, don't let that deter you!!! Because, I STILL find myself loving the underdog, as well. Also, this book has no werewolves, vampires, angels, etc... Well, not yet anyway. But, I find it nice to have a whole different kind of supernatural.

    The two love interests are Gabriel and Tristan and they're twins. Identical twins. And they're HOT identical twins. Ms. Fine tries to keep us guessing as to MANY of the details involving Scarlet and each brother, individually. We're given pieces here and there, scattered throughout the book. And they all bring the reader to a GLORIOUS--however, somewhat nail-biting--finale. This is the first in a series so if you read it, you WILL want to read the second. Unfortunately, that's not out yet, so now I have to wait. I'm not very good at waiting, by the way.

    Please, pick up this book! It's got romance, mystery, and some hot guys with weapons... What more could you ask for? Oh, and the cover! It's kind of beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Great book

    A must read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    This book starts pretty slow but gets good! Stick it out for th

    This book starts pretty slow but gets good! Stick it out for the first few chapters and you'll be glad you did.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    Great book

    Chelsea Fine has made a great impression with her debut book. Characters are intense, there's mystery, it also has its funny moments. The love triangle is special, the curse that binds them makes it specual, am looking forward to see how this triangle develops even more in the next book.

    I can't wait for the 2nd book to come out. I love the cover of the book, it's gorgeous and the fact the story is great is even better. I've seen books that have beautiful covers but aren't worth spending money or time on them. That's not the case with this book. This is a great book.

    At first I really loved Gabriel & thought he was a sweet, caring boyfriend. But once Tristan entered the picture everything changed. Scarlet is great with Gabriel, they are cute together but with Tristan it's different. There's more attraction, emotions, tension, more everything between Tristan and Scarlet than between Scarlet and Gabriel.

    Can't say I was truly shocked by the ending. But was shocked by how it happened. Not everything was resolved in this book but I guess in book 2 we will get more answers. We do get some answers in this book but not all. I am looking forward to finding out what kind of relationship there was between Scarlet and Tristan. Tristan unlike Gabriel is willing to make sacrifices Gabriel isn't willing to. As a male character, Tristan steps up to the plate when needed while Gabriel is busy questioning things and researching.

    Scarlet has amnesia, she only knows her name and she remembers a symbol she scribbles everywhere she can. Scarlet woke up in the middle of a forest with absolutely no memory of her past. She learns to be strong when no one searches for her. She has a funny, caring, best friend who she met after being adopted by her guardian Laura. Who seems shady to me somehow. Maybe it's just me, but her traveling seems suspicious to me. Scarlet's best friend Heather is funny because she's so fashion obsessed. It's a great friendship, Heather keeps Scarlet moving at times when she needs it and doesn't let her get depressed or sulk around.

    I highly recommend this book to anyone, not just young adults.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    Awesome YA paranormal romance!

    Oh...my...gosh... that ending was positively evil! Ok, I suppose I need to back up a bit, lol... I received this ebook for free very recently when Chelsea Fine was giving it away on her blog. Instantly, I was drawn to the cover – it is beautiful! Then I read the synopsis and I read the reviews, and I knew I had to read this book right away. Anew is the first book in The Archers of Avalon series. It's about a teenage girl named Scarlet who wakes up in the woods – with no idea who she is or how she got there. 2 years later, she meets Gabriel and Tristan – only she doesn't know they have ties to her past.

    This story has so many great qualities to it. First of all, there is mystery all the way through. Little by little, pieces of the puzzle start fitting together. There are paranormal qualities about this book, but it's uniquely done. It's not your typical vampire or shape-shifter storyline (not that I don't like those type of stories) – but it's still a paranormal romance which keeps it interesting.

    The plot is not only interesting, but quickly paced. I didn't get bored with the story at all – in fact, I couldn't put it down! Another great aspect is Scarlet's relationship with her best friend Heather. Heather is hilarious and because of her, there is a lot of humor involved. The best thing about this book though, is the epic love triangle! One is a handsome and genuinely nice guy. The other is a handsome but moody (and brooding) guy. Both guys are great! I am rooting for Tristan though. The characterization in this book is awesome – I love all the characters and I feel deeply drawn to Scarlet's life.

    I think anyone who loves paranormal romances would love this book – regardless of age. I am so glad I stumbled across this author's blog – otherwise I might not ever have known what a great book I was missing out on. But...the ending is killer. Literally. Or maybe not... I am DYING here! The next book in this series is called Awry, and we have to wait until summertime before it comes out. I just might not survive the wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Good read at a good price :)

    Cant wait for the next book to come out

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    Chelsea Fine's Parnormal Debut was a Success!!!

    Anew is a debuting paranormal romance created by Chelsea Fine. After reading Sophie & Carter, a love story for two troubled teens, I knew this was an author to keep an eye on. When I heard that she was created a paranormal read there was no question I had to read it. Chelsea does not disappoint, to say the least. Anew is a twisted mystery that will prove addictive. Scarlet who is our main character is a special kind of girl, but her amnesia prior to the past two years proves to make her character more of an enigma. She is distant and withdrawal which gives ample opportunity for the author to deliver her deep and honest character. After waking in the forest alone she finds herself in this small town; where is presently living with her guardian. This small quaint little town was an easy fit for the slower paced read. The Kissing Festival, how creative, this was one of my favorites. While I agree that kissing everyone is a little odd, and kissing relays (YUCK!), but still who would have come up with something like this. The woods surrounding this little town played a large part in the story, and I believe it helps give the novel a darker and intriguing feel. Grouping it with the Archer brothers that remain a mystery for the majority of this read was very smart in adding the emotional feel of the story. While progressively the truths are being revealed there is continuous curiosity and feel of something dark and sinister hiding in the background. While the concept of two men after the same girl is common; this story effectively delivers a twist on that tired concept. Gabriel is a common and offers familiarity; while Tristan is heat and chemistry that we only have the pleasure of witnessing a couple of times throughout this book. Although, with the abrupt conclusion that has left me hang on a cliff I am uncertain of what the future will hold. It is a certainty that the story goes on, but it will be exciting to see how Fine pulls these characters through their current predicament. I am anxiously awaiting book two to see where this series will go. BOOKWHISPERER RECOMMENDED SERIES!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    An Amazing Read!

    Fine is a fabulous author weaving together a story so intricate and intriguing that I was unable to put it down. The storyline alone was enough to draw me in, but the characters¿ the characters are what sold me on this novel. Gabriel Archer is to die for, and I¿m absolutely smitten with him. But I¿m also smitten with Tristan, Gabriel¿s equally beautiful twin. Yet, their personalities couldn¿t be more different, making it impossible for me to pick just one to love, putting me in the same boat as Scarlet. From the moment we meet Gabriel, it is impossible not to like him; he¿s charming, kind, caring, and head over heels in love with Scarlet. Tristan is harder to like in the beginning. He¿s the brooding type, a murderer even, set on breaking the curse that binds Scarlet, but it is unclear if he¿s doing it for her, or for himself, that is¿ until the end. This novel is full of mystery, but the truths come to the forefront as Scarlet begins to remember her past, and I found myself really enjoying this aspect of the novel as Fine gives the reader just enough information to tie him/her over until the next mystery is unveiled.

    While not all questions are answered in this novel and I felt like there were some holes in the storyline as I read, it¿s such a great novel that it was easy to overlook these small discrepancies and see the novel, as a whole, as a wonderful story. I am eagerly awaiting the next novel in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3