Customer Reviews for

Angel Burn (Angel Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 397 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(229)

4 Star

(90)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Fast, action-packed and sexy!

A fast-paced, action filled, fantastic whirlwind of a story. I loved this book, it had everything in it I could have asked for and more.

We start off with Willow, who believes she's just a normal girl with psychic powers. When a girl from school asks her for a readin...
A fast-paced, action filled, fantastic whirlwind of a story. I loved this book, it had everything in it I could have asked for and more.

We start off with Willow, who believes she's just a normal girl with psychic powers. When a girl from school asks her for a reading, Willow starts to realize there is something much bigger going on and that Willow may not be who she thought she was. After realizing she is in the wrong place at the wrong time, swoon-worthy, Alex comes to her rescue and takes her away from everything she's ever known. Willow quickly finds out that Alex is an Angel Killer and was sent to kill her. Together they begin to realize that something very wrong is going on between earth and the angels, and Willow may be the key to stopping it.

Let me first start off by saying I absolutely ADORE the switching view points. The chapters constantly flip-flop between Alex's POV and Willow's POV and I LOVED that. Being able to get into both characters mind and see how each one reacts to a situation or feeling was fantastic. It was very well written.

With Angel Burn, there was never a dull moment. There is always someone around the corner hunting them, always some kind of fight, always some intense emotion, and I loved every page. Seeing the growth between Alex and Willow is another thing I loved. He is trained to kill beings like her, and yet he can't. The struggle of what's right, and what they want is constant, and I loved watching both Willow and Alex grow emotionally.

Willow, I loved her character. She is a strong girl, who leaves everything she knows behind, to accompany someone she doesn't even know, to possibly protect her family and herself. She changed everything she knows and believes in for the good of the world, and that takes an extremely strong character. Watching her, watch Alex I loved too. He's a constant battle in her head. Even though she knows she should hate him, she can't. I loved watching the love grow. It was intense and I loved it.

Alex, oh alex. I love him. Muscles, athletic, dark hair, confident, "bluish gray, like a storm at sea" eyes.... how can you not love him?! And his last name is Kylar... Alex Kylar, how gorgeous is that name?! Alex, is a trained AK (Angel Killer, and though he should hate Willow, he can't, he's too attracted to her, to in awe of everything she does and I just love that about him. Alex is definitely one of my top 5 boys.

I loved every aspect of this story, the fighting, the love, the betrayal, and the struggles. Everything just fit together so well, and I am dying to read the next one. I need to know what happens between Alex and Willow and all their up coming adventures! 5 out of 5 stars!

posted by jenababy13 on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

slow

i know everyone else seems to love this book but not me! it was just so slow and repeditive for about 250 pages or more. it seemed like they were driving across the country for ever. nicely written just not for me.

posted by 5308216 on October 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 397 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    AWSOME

    This book was fantastic, switching viewpoints was awsome nd the story plot was cheessy whitch i usally HATE but actaully liked this one the plot was good.and the people in the story was actaully predictable to see what was going to happen with them,and between themLookin for a action-packed story?STOP LOOKING BECAUSE HERE IS YOUR ANSWER!!!!angel burn.....awsome.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Book_aholic_101

    Overall the book was good. I enjoyed it, it has suspense and love and action. I recommend reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Great!!!!

    This book is a fun & imaginative read. I couldn't put it down. The author did a great job & I can't wait to read the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    This book was boring, predictable, a waste of time for me. I hat

    This book was boring, predictable, a waste of time for me. I hated the whole "I cant breath when your around me" love, and the romance was waaaaaaayyyyy to quick. Yeah, Twilight readers will love this .

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Surprising Page Turner

    Never thought I'd be sucked into a book with the title angel burn. But that's exactly what happened. Starts slow but picks up speed a few chapters in. I loved the whole religious cult premise. I've only read the preview so far but I can't wait to read the whole thing! If you like the idea of soul sucking angels then this is the book for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Had me from page 1...

    I could never say enough good things about this book. You will laugh, cry, and at times want to throw it against a wall. You get that involved with the story. Besides the amazing plot line Alex and Willow are two people you won't soon forget. They are well developed and face realistic struggles such as self acceptance and desiding what's right and wrong. The perfect blend of action and adventure is yet one more reason readers will be coming back for future books in the series. I could go on and on but the bottom line is you should BUY THIS BOOK! And when you do make sure you have enough time to read it all the way though because you won't want to put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    This was exactly NOT what I expected and I got the sample. Wow!

    This was exactly NOT what I expected and I got the sample. Wow! It put a whole different spin on Angels. This would make a GREAT movie. Have already read the 2nd book and waiting for the 3rd to come out. Will re-read again without a doubt. Awesome!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    Loved reading this!

    Loved reading this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    It was the best

    Awsome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Angle burn

    This book is so good i gave it a 5 star this is boss:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Skd SWEET TEE

    TURN UP SKI

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2014

    The good news is Angels walk amongst us, The bad new is they are

    The good news is Angels walk amongst us, The bad new is they aren't the benevolent creatures we've come to expect. The Angels world is dying so they've come to this plain looking to start life anew. Unfortunately, the only way they can ensure the survival of their species is by sucking the life force from the humans who revere them. What's even worse is the Angel Burn, the after effects of an Angel coming into contact with you. To those unsuspecting humans fatigue,cancer, memory loss and even death await them. Now it's up to half Angel Willow and Angel Killer Alex to figure out how to stop them before it's too late.

    I'm going to side track for a second here. Have you ever watched the TV show True Blood? If so, Do you remember The Fellowship of the Sun? Remember how fanatical they were yet seemed so wholesome and sweet? Well, in Angel Burn we have a group very much like that except these parishioners are fanatical about Angels. So fanatical in fact that millions have uprooted themselves from their every day lives to join the church of Angels.These churches have everything from malls to restaurants in them ensuring that once you join you'll have no need to leave. Of course this suits the Angels just fine since the unsuspecting parishioners are simply being used as an all you can eat buffet. Oh and did I mention that more are set to arrive soon and if successful it could push the human race to extinction. I didn't? Well, they will.

    One of my favorite things about Angel Burn is the sweet love story between Alex and Willow. I liked that we get to see some give and take between them both as their relationship develops over time. It's obvious that they'll end up together but it was nice that it wasn't an Instant sort of love. Willow makes Alex work for her trust at least more than most romantic couples in books these days.

    Another thing I liked was the pacing of the story. It was action packed and progressed at a nice rate. I never really found myself becoming bored as the story only really lagged for a few seconds here and there. Plus were given enough character background to keep things moving at nice a clip while still learning new facts along the way to keep us guessing at the Angels true intentions right up until the very end.

    The one downside to Angel Burn I had was the ending. The story felt very rushed near those final few pages. Scenes that should of been action packed and filled with exposition were glossed over to show the points of view from the main characters. Namely them running to or looking for each other while all the good stuff wages on in the background. While I loved the romance between Alex and Willow it was a bit too mushy near the end and it had me rolling my eyes more than once with its sticky sweetness.

    Final Thoughts
    Angel Burn might not be the most original work in existence but it was a highly enjoyable one and sometimes that is all that matters. Would I recommend Angel Burn? Yes, especially if you enjoy seeing a more twisted slant involving Angels. More importantly the writing was great, the characters nicely developed and the story kept me entertained (for the most part) from being to end. With that being said, I'll be rating Angel Burn by L.A. Weatherly ¿¿¿¿¿.

    *Copy reviewed purchased. All opinions are my own and I was not compensated in an which way for providing them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Angel Burn (free preview)

    It took almist this entire previeq to figure out what the hell was going in. Dont waste your time with this preview as the story is dry and confusing. There are too many useles details about random crap that has no relevance to the plot. Waste of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Fantasy at its best!

    If you like fantasy, you'll love this book. I think this book was geared towards teens, but as an 69 year old adult (69 going on 16), I really had trouble putting it down. It's a trilogy, and I'm looking forward to the next episode.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Bo

    I moan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    V

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2013

    Enjoyment & Annoyance  Angel Burn wasn't half bad... it had

    Enjoyment & Annoyance 
    Angel Burn wasn't half bad... it had some very good points and severe down points in the story. The first and BIGGEST issue is that the book is pretty dry and boring for the 1st.... almost 100 pages. To be honest I wanted to quit reading it a lot, but I kept pumping through it cause I spent my money on the book. However, I am grateful I did continue to read it because it proved to be worth it. The action picked up after a scene at the church when Willow goes to visit a girl named Beth and meets the sexy, dark-haired, blue-eyed Alex. A lot of action and attention grabbing events happened for a while and then the book kept going in the same repetitive fashion. Alex and Willow were on a road trip for literally half the book, which was cute in regards to how their relationship was built, but ultimately a little boring and tiring after a while. By the end of the book, I was satisfied with the ending because it was very loving and lighthearted. However, I would NOT read the next book.... Mainly because this book was dragged out for too long.

    Character Development 
     I felt like Alex and Willow had no depth or characteristics that made them rememberable. If I had to describe their personalities, the list wouldn't be very long. Alex was the typical, over-protective, badass assassin. Willow was the typical timid, strong-hearted girl with the whole "don't hurt people" philosophy. Only thing about Willow that was interesting was that she was a mechanic, a good one too. That was decently original for me. Everything else about her and Alex as well was very bland. I will, however, give Alex and Willow kudos for their love. They really do seem to be madly into each other. Whether or not this will continue in the next book... Who knows?

    Plot Development
    This book was very long for a reason... the author truly tried to set the scene for the reader and she did a good job. The idea of Angels killing humanity was great! Although, the beginning was too dragged out and dry, like I said before. The action though was great, when we actually got some. The point of view in the story also changed a lot, which I liked because we could get a sense of what all the characters were feeling, which added to the plot and character development a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Angel haave wings and hate CARS

    Sucks its for chicks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Wow

    I think it was a good book. It had alotof action and romance.Although I thout their love was a pretty chessy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    I just got it give u my final rateing when i finshe Well see how it is lol.!!!!!!!

    Im only 12 2 turn 13in2 months btw not sure yet of book******!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 397 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 20