Customer Reviews for

Angel Burn (Angel Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 400 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(231)

4 Star

(91)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Fast, action-packed and sexy!

A fast-paced, action filled, fantastic whirlwind of a story. I loved this book, it had everything in it I could have asked for and more.

We start off with Willow, who believes she's just a normal girl with psychic powers. When a girl from school asks her for a readin...
A fast-paced, action filled, fantastic whirlwind of a story. I loved this book, it had everything in it I could have asked for and more.

We start off with Willow, who believes she's just a normal girl with psychic powers. When a girl from school asks her for a reading, Willow starts to realize there is something much bigger going on and that Willow may not be who she thought she was. After realizing she is in the wrong place at the wrong time, swoon-worthy, Alex comes to her rescue and takes her away from everything she's ever known. Willow quickly finds out that Alex is an Angel Killer and was sent to kill her. Together they begin to realize that something very wrong is going on between earth and the angels, and Willow may be the key to stopping it.

Let me first start off by saying I absolutely ADORE the switching view points. The chapters constantly flip-flop between Alex's POV and Willow's POV and I LOVED that. Being able to get into both characters mind and see how each one reacts to a situation or feeling was fantastic. It was very well written.

With Angel Burn, there was never a dull moment. There is always someone around the corner hunting them, always some kind of fight, always some intense emotion, and I loved every page. Seeing the growth between Alex and Willow is another thing I loved. He is trained to kill beings like her, and yet he can't. The struggle of what's right, and what they want is constant, and I loved watching both Willow and Alex grow emotionally.

Willow, I loved her character. She is a strong girl, who leaves everything she knows behind, to accompany someone she doesn't even know, to possibly protect her family and herself. She changed everything she knows and believes in for the good of the world, and that takes an extremely strong character. Watching her, watch Alex I loved too. He's a constant battle in her head. Even though she knows she should hate him, she can't. I loved watching the love grow. It was intense and I loved it.

Alex, oh alex. I love him. Muscles, athletic, dark hair, confident, "bluish gray, like a storm at sea" eyes.... how can you not love him?! And his last name is Kylar... Alex Kylar, how gorgeous is that name?! Alex, is a trained AK (Angel Killer, and though he should hate Willow, he can't, he's too attracted to her, to in awe of everything she does and I just love that about him. Alex is definitely one of my top 5 boys.

I loved every aspect of this story, the fighting, the love, the betrayal, and the struggles. Everything just fit together so well, and I am dying to read the next one. I need to know what happens between Alex and Willow and all their up coming adventures! 5 out of 5 stars!

posted by jenababy13 on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

slow

i know everyone else seems to love this book but not me! it was just so slow and repeditive for about 250 pages or more. it seemed like they were driving across the country for ever. nicely written just not for me.

posted by 5308216 on October 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    A different view on Angels!

    When most people think of Angels, they picture beautiful, divine, creatures sent to protect us from the trials of life. However, Weatherly offers a interesting perspective about the spiritual creature.
    While reading Angel Burn I was blown away by the action and struggles of Angel and Alex ( Who wwould think that Angels would be the source of such drama!). Angel Burn is an action packed, page turning adventure from start to finish. I did not want to put this book down!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Book_aholic_101

    Overall the book was good. I enjoyed it, it has suspense and love and action. I recommend reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Surprising Page Turner

    Never thought I'd be sucked into a book with the title angel burn. But that's exactly what happened. Starts slow but picks up speed a few chapters in. I loved the whole religious cult premise. I've only read the preview so far but I can't wait to read the whole thing! If you like the idea of soul sucking angels then this is the book for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    Loved reading this!

    Loved reading this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    I

    Is it a seriers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A very interesting book

    A very interesting book



    Contemporary Paranormal



    Willow has a unique gift that allows her to see the hopes and dreams of others. This has managed to set her apart from other girls and she has no idea why she has this gift just that she has it.

    Alex is an assassin that knows where Willow’s abilities come from. He knows that Willow’s abilities link her to forces that are both dark and dangerous. He is also one of the few humans around that have the ability and knowledge on how to fight those same forces. Then Alex does something he never saw coming and that was falling in love with his sworn enemy. Now nothing is as it seems and what he thought was good and evil isn’t what it seems either.



    This is a wonderful story that gives a spin on angels that the reader will never see coming. The story is engaging and gives the characters back stories in a way that makes the story even more interesting and manages to do it in a way that doesn’t bog the story down in too many details. The characters are very well written. Though the story does start out a little slow once it picks up the pace it never stops until the very last page. This book starts the trilogy out with a great deal of action and has enough twists and turns in it that readers will hate to put to down and will be eagerly looking for the rest of the books in the trilogy. If the other two books are anything like the first one this is one series that is sure to not disappoint readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    This one was good

    This first book was ok if a little slow in the beggining but the sequel was terrible

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Really good

    Its a good book. I just cant get over one fact. The author said they were in tennessee and when willow looked out the window, she was looking at the rocky mountains. She meant appalachian mountains.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    my opion

    this book was very interesting and sometime very sweet
    however i wish that something more tempting would come out in this serious so that it could make things more interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Angel burn

    Best book ive read all year!!!!!!! Could use some touchups here and there but its really good thank you for writing this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I had the copy of ANGEL BURN for several months until I got to i

    I had the copy of ANGEL BURN for several months until I got to it. With all the people raving about it, I simply couldn’t ignore it any longer. I definitely had great expectations, which were not entirely fulfilled.

    It’s right that the story starts with a hot guy and hot car. Sounds perfect, doesn’t it? Still I didn’t feel any connection to the story or the characters in the beginning. ANGEL BURN is mainly told by Willow as a 1st person narrator. She is shown in her usual school and domestic environment in interaction with her family and school pals. The hot guy is Alex whose parts of the story are told from a 3rd person point of view. Alex travels around the US to search for suspicious angel activities and fight them.

    These two characters, Willow and Alex are supposed to fight each other. It’s Alex’ job to extinguish every single angel in the country. Willow is half-human half-angel. I think you get the conflict.
    I don’t know what it was about the story, but I somehow didn’t really get into it until the half of the book with a hesitant relationship between Alex and Willow developing.
    When they are together they are both characters that are easy to like, easy-going and convenient to be around. Alex is a very attractive and strong, well-trained, well-skilled and clever boy who does have bunch of fans I’m sure of.

    Great about ANGEL is that L.A. Weatherly created an entirely new concept of heavenly angelic being. The United States are plagued by an invasion of angels and there are even more about to come. Angels in ANGEL BURN are nowhere near friendly and good-willed, they feed off humans and steal their energy to live off it. There’s a big conspiracy hiding behind the angel cult the people are living. That’s definitely an aspect I found interesting about ANGEL BURN.
    There are large parts of the story in which we also see what the enemies are up to.We get to read the story from Raziel's and his subjects' perspective which unfortunately felt dragging and bored me.

    THE VERDICT

    3,5/5 ***/* ANGEL BURN- Willow and Alex, the new pair of supposed enemies falling in love and a totally wicked angel invasion. Anything better for angel fans?

    Wild pursuits, great efforts put into hiding the key to fighting the angel pest that infected the country, making new allies and new enemies, overcoming the past and starting into a bright new future, falling in love with your supposed enemy. That all is ANGEL BURN! A very promising and enjoyable mixture of story elements, that is only realised after half of the story.
    I did enjoy ANGEL BURN in the end, but large parts of the story were simply too uneventful for me. I love me a book with a high page count, in this case I would have preferred a cut version only written out of the perspectives of Willow and Alex.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Lb

    288 pages for this book. Good read but I felt like it just stopped without finishing the story. I wanted more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Really enjoyed this book. To be in a world where angels are actu

    Really enjoyed this book. To be in a world where angels are actually evil and they're sucking your life force away, without knowing it, was undaunting. The book has a couple of great twist to it and was suspenseful. I'd definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Willow considers herself psychic but she is scoffed at for her s

    Willow considers herself psychic but she is scoffed at for her supposed ability. When a popular girl at school asks her a reading, Willow see a dangerous angel in the girl’s future. Not believing Willow, the girl runs away and joins the Church of Angels, a cult-like group that is spreading nationwide. Into the scene comes Alex, an AK (Angel Killer), backed by the CIA. His latest assignment: take out Willow because she is actually an angel. But Alex discovers that Willow is only half-angel. They go on the run from the Church’s bad guys; romance blossoms (you saw that coming, didn’t you?) and it seems Willow is the only being who can stop the Church from worldwide domination. A great teen paranormal romance. In this first book of a trilogy, there is kissing but nothing else to offend someone concerned about sexual content. There is language which makes this more appropriate for older teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    There's no shortage of angel paranormal books out there, but the

    There's no shortage of angel paranormal books out there, but there are a few reasons why this one stands out and is well-worth the time spent reading it. A fresh take on angel mythology, along with an exciting, action-packed and mysterious plot leaves you flipping the pages faster than you can turn them, and throw in some characters with GREAT chemistry and you have a winner!

    Reasons to Read:

    1.An original take on angels:

    The one thing I found to be really cool about Angel Burn was how it was able to cast angels in a whole new sort of light. I loved reading a book with angels where they weren't your typical angels - they certainly don't really act angelic in any way at all, and they're fairly cult-ish. It was a VERY original take and I loved reading this new twist.

    2.Natural romance:

    I loved the romantic relationship between Willow and Alex because they took their time, and there were real reasons that they fell in love with each other so it made sense to watch them grow closer and gradually fall in love, as a reader. Everything about their relationship felt so natural and true, even from their early stages of wariness towards each other.

    3.Action scenes make a thriller novel:

    I actually thought that Angel Burn made a great paranormal with a thriller feel to it since there is SO much action and excitement going on. There is so much mystery behind the events and changes taking place in Willow's life, and there really are high stakes at risk in this story.

    But I did have one main problem wtih this book and that was that I didn't feel like I had enough background information to truly grasp the situation and in particular, I wanted to know more about the background and motives of the angels. As much as I loved the way they were presented in Angel Burn, I was hoping for more information on them so I'm curious to see if there's more of this in the sequel, Angel Fire. Either way, I didn't even notice this until I had finished the book because I was so completely engrossed by it. :)

    Review copy received from Random House Canada for review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    Highly Recommeded

    I found the book to be very entertaining and capturing. The author kept the plot moving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    This book had gotten mixed reviews on goodreads, but I decided t

    This book had gotten mixed reviews on goodreads, but I decided to get it anyway because my book club was reading all Angel/Demon books for the month of April. I am so glad I didn't let the bad reviews determine whether I read it or not because I loved it! It starts out giving background on both main characters Willow and Alex from each of their perspectives. We see Willow living with her aunt and mom (who has lost mental capacity over the years), and we see how she is different from her classmates. She a little eccentric, works on cars, and gives people psychic readings. Then we see Alex, a 17 year old living on his own and trained to kill angels for the rest of his life. I liked that the action began within the first few chapters. The author didn't wait to start the car chases and electric attraction between Alex and Willow.

    Pretty much the whole book went like this: action, attraction, new information about the angel's plot, and then the cycle repeats. I didn't mind that it was slightly predictable because I was enjoying watching Alex and Willow fall for each other and grow emotionally. I also enjoyed watching Willow as she learned to accept who she was.

    As much as I loved this book I did feel that the ending was really rushed. There was mass chaos in the end and as the reader I got really confused as the POV switched between Alex and Willow and another character. As there were only a few pages left and the conflict had not been resolved I realized this is a trilogy. Although the ending was really bland with no real cliffhanger I'm excited to continue the series, mostly to watch Alex and Willow's love grow. This book was fun and romantic so my suggestion is putting this on your summer to read list and reading it on the beach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    Recommend this book

    Easy to read and follow. Characters well developed. Excellent author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Good

    Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    really different

    Too many times now we read what seems to be the same b
    thing over and over, this book is really different. It drew me in and kept me wanting more. I am so excited to share this with my young cousins. This story is really good for those who are ready for a change of pace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5